Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:54 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 435 posts ]  Go to page Previous 118 19 20 21 22
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:09 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9026
Location: Sol d
Zephyris wrote:
Wow, that is more sprites than I was expecting. I remember now that I only converted some of the GUI sprites to 32bpp as it ended upgiving a very inconsistent appearence having the GUI elements (windows, text, etc) in old 8bpp style and the icons as 32bpp. I think I would actually err towards removing all the 32bpp GUI elements for now!

Well, yes... not all need a 32bpp equivalent (especially the window decorations you mentioned), but it actually shows at the higher zoom levels for the GUI. And it makes a difference for the main toolbar. I could make a more detailed break-down as to which would be really nice-to-have.
If you like, I could remove all GUI elements from zBase for now, though and have it fall back to OpenGFX-style. But even there, the 2x and 4x zoom would be nice to have for the sprites.

Zephyris wrote:
In terms of the canal sprite alignment that is just a matter of hard work and tweaking to get it all sorted. It should definitely done by altering the alignnments rather than the graphics though, to ensure that any updates to the blend file renders in the future can be easily transferred to in-game.

Definitely messing with the alignment would be first thing to do

Prepping OpenGFX and zBase for the OpenTTD 1.5 era is definitely on my list.

Zephyris wrote:
I am still waiting for internet access at home in my new place (so much for German efficiency) but once I do I think I will take a look at some updates.

He, you moved over to the continent? Welcome :) Efficiency goes this way here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=403aQFfSUpo And especially phone companies are notorious for their basically non-existing customer support.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:47 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:42 am
Posts: 702
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 10 years and counting!
Zephyris wrote:
Wow, that is more sprites than I was expecting. I remember now that I only converted some of the GUI sprites to 32bpp as it ended upgiving a very inconsistent appearence having the GUI elements (windows, text, etc) in old 8bpp style and the icons as 32bpp. I think I would actually err towards removing all the 32bpp GUI elements for now!


Personally on 24' 1080p screen I'm using Zbase with a GUI at 1.5X, 2X seems too big.

Zephyris wrote:
In terms of the canal sprite alignment that is just a matter of hard work and tweaking to get it all sorted. It should definitely done by altering the alignnments rather than the graphics though, to ensure that any updates to the blend file renders in the future can be easily transferred to in-game.


Ok!

Zephyris wrote:
I am not sure there is a better way to align the foundations, trying to make them look more 3D will always cause some alignment wierdness because it forces an optical illusion. The office block being completely misaligned is definitely my fault though :)


IMO I would drop the 3D effect, I looks weird, like in the road foundations screenshot.

Zephyris wrote:
I am still waiting for internet access at home in my new place (so much for German efficiency) but once I do I think I will take a look at some updates.


Thanks for responding :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
planetmaker wrote:
Prepping OpenGFX and zBase for the OpenTTD 1.5 era is definitely on my list.
What is the 1.5 era bringing?

planetmaker wrote:
Zephyris wrote:
I am still waiting for internet access at home in my new place (so much for German efficiency) but once I do I think I will take a look at some updates.

He, you moved over to the continent? Welcome :) Efficiency goes this way here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=403aQFfSUpo And especially phone companies are notorious for their basically non-existing customer support.
Yeah, been in Germany for about 1 month so far, and learning some basic german veeeery slowly! I am now regretting doing a full OS reinstall just before coming out though, I can't even do local commits because I didn't reinstall tortoise SVN :s At least I can play OpenTTD offline :)

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:09 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9026
Location: Sol d
Zephyris wrote:
planetmaker wrote:
Prepping OpenGFX and zBase for the OpenTTD 1.5 era is definitely on my list.
What is the 1.5 era bringing?


Well, GUI zoom as a client-side setting (thus ogfx+biggui is now obsolete). Thus base sets preferentially provide the GUI sprites in 1x, 2x and 4x zoom level. And I want to give OpenGFX the same river sprites with horizontal and vertically flowing rivers which are already in OpenGFX+Landscape.

Zephyris wrote:
planetmaker wrote:
Zephyris wrote:
I am still waiting for internet access at home in my new place (so much for German efficiency) but once I do I think I will take a look at some updates.

He, you moved over to the continent? Welcome :) Efficiency goes this way here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=403aQFfSUpo And especially phone companies are notorious for their basically non-existing customer support.
Yeah, been in Germany for about 1 month so far, and learning some basic german veeeery slowly! I am now regretting doing a full OS reinstall just before coming out though, I can't even do local commits because I didn't reinstall tortoise SVN :s At least I can play OpenTTD offline :)

tortoiseHG is quickly installed. But yeah... without internet access it's difficult to obtain :) But playing is a good thing, too. Gives more ideas to spend time on later :P


Attachments:
Unnamed, 26th Jan 1987.png
Unnamed, 26th Jan 1987.png [ 139.05 KiB | Viewed 5915 times ]

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7030
i hear you can get prepaid mobile internet sticks at certain supermarkets. it probably won't be fast, but better than no internet at all...

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2633
Eddi wrote:
i hear you can get prepaid mobile internet sticks at certain supermarkets. it probably won't be fast, but better than no internet at all...

It will probably will be very expensive also. Don't you have a nice neighbour you can ask to share the connection until you have your own connection?

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:01 pm
Posts: 12
Location: UK
Nice to see it is not forgotton :)
Everyone i play with is using Zbase now, It just makes it feel smoother and compliments OpenTTD's new features.

Almost like a TT- 2 :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:03 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:01 pm
Posts: 12
Location: UK
Just noticed an update.
Any big changes?
Thanks!

Edit: Thanks for reply (below)


Last edited by Glynbd on Tue Apr 21, 2015 7:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:21 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9026
Location: Sol d
No big changes really, but a number of bug fixes and some additions as required by OpenTTD 1.5.

* Fix: Various recolour maps were incorrectly using the W palette. Symlink them to OpenGFX, where they have already been fixed.
* Fix [FS#6258]: Do not crop the default-window-size icon.
* Add: Recolour sprite in extra grf as needed by OpenTTD since r26869

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:44 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:35 am
Posts: 1
Transparent arctic house sprite:
http://devs.openttd.org/~planetmaker/ti ... 0x1200.png
You can see them in top left corner on title screen (version 1.5.1)
In regular game, such transparent houses are spawned too (in snow areas).


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 2:17 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:30 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Luxembourg
looks more like a 32bpp bug in that graphic set


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 3:18 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9026
Location: Sol d
Phreeze wrote:
looks more like a 32bpp bug in that graphic set

Yes... and he reports it here right in that thread where it belongs.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:52 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:30 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Luxembourg
lol i thought i was in the general forum....must get more sleep ^^


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 6:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:08 pm
Posts: 1
Is this project still alive?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 6:35 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4632
Location: home
All sources are available, it builds out of the box.

If you want to fix things, yes please, submit fixes.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 435 posts ]  Go to page Previous 118 19 20 21 22

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.