Custom traintunnel entrances, exits and extra's. V0.3

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1654
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Custom traintunnel entrances, exits and extra's. V0.3

Post by Quast65 » 28 Jun 2012 12:45

Major edit! Some recent developments and idea's have changed the way custom traintunnels can be implimented, the discussion about that starts roughly here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 0#p1032403
The GRF can be found here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 3#p1037463






With the kind permission to use the graphics of Red*Star (the platform inside the tunnel), Born Acorn (the UK road) and the developers of the Japan Set (the tunnel itself), I have made a new traintunnel with UK-roads on top to make tunnels blend in more in city environments. I don't like grass inside my cities ;-)

Please note that the road is pure eyecandy, vehicles will not drive over that!

This GRF will change all traintunnels to this tunnel, but it also looks good in rural environments when roads are placed next to it.
I chose the UK road to be on top, because I only use that roadset in my games, if anyone wants to make tunnels with different roadset graphics on top, they are very welcome to alter these graphics and post new GRF's or graphics here (please do check if those roadset graphics are GPL-licensed or ask permission of the original artist).

A special request however to railtrack-developers. As this GRF will change all traintunnels, it would be better if these graphics are used in a seperate railtrack-GRF with no speed limitations, that can be used alongside other railtrack-GRF's. So a player can build this tunnel in places where it would fit in best and it won't be built everywhere. I sadly don't have the knowledge to create that myself, so any help will be very welcome.

EDIT: Beul has been so nice to code these graphics into a railtype! :bow: So this tunnel won't replace all other railtunnels anymore and can be placed where the player seems fit. That GRF is here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 7#p1031574

The sprites:
Traintunnel with UK-road.pcx
(21.41 KiB) Downloaded 240 times
Looks like this:
Traintunnel with UK-road01.png
Traintunnel with UK-road01.png (35.34 KiB) Viewed 10073 times
The GRF:
Traintunnel_with_UK-road.grf
(5.32 KiB) Downloaded 324 times
Last edited by Quast65 on 01 Aug 2012 14:42, edited 8 times in total.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1654
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with road as eyecandy on top

Post by Quast65 » 28 Jun 2012 12:48

And this is how it looks ingame with Modern Train Stationset station graphics:
Traintunnel with UK-road02.png
Traintunnel with UK-road02.png (63.87 KiB) Viewed 10068 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: Traintunnel with road as eyecandy on top

Post by V453000 :) » 28 Jun 2012 12:53

Great idea! Too bad it automatically applies to all tunnels, but I guess you could make some extra railtype for that?

I like it, especially because when I do city networks, I do not use RVs anyway so the roads are not to be driven on either :)

Nice idea, I like it. The only unfortunate thing is that it only works with UK roads, but at least something :)
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Beul
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 91
Joined: 26 Jun 2012 22:02
Location: Enschede, Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with road as eyecandy on top

Post by Beul » 28 Jun 2012 12:55

Realy like the look of that city station. It has a feel I have been trying to reach by building bridges over the tunnel entrances but this look a lot better! Don't think I will be using it though as I use tunnels a lot for railway junctions and it would look a bit strange in those situations.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1654
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Quast65 » 28 Jun 2012 13:01

Glad you like it!
Too bad it automatically applies to all tunnels, but I guess you could make some extra railtype for that?
Well I don't have the knowledge to do that, that is why I asked railtype developers to hopefully pick this up and make an extra railtype.

@Beul, see above ;-)
The only unfortunate thing is that it only works with UK roads
Feel free to change the UK roads for the roadtype you like and post the GRF here ;-)
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
jor[D]1
Director
Director
Posts: 607
Joined: 17 Aug 2010 10:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by jor[D]1 » 28 Jun 2012 16:00

Cant you let this GRF detect the right road set and use the right graphics? Chips does something like that for station transitions pieces.
View my (train)pictures on Flickr

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1654
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Quast65 » 28 Jun 2012 18:24

I have no idea how to do that and don't have the need to do that (as I only use UK-roads), but be my guest to make that GRF ;-)
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by FooBar » 28 Jun 2012 22:01

Quast65 wrote:I have no idea how to do that

Code: Select all

if ((grf_current_status("somegrfid") == 1) || (grf_future_status("somegrfid") == 1)) {
        //use this code in case of this grf
}
else if ((grf_current_status("someothergrfid") == 1) || (grf_future_status("someothergrfid") == 1)) {
        //use this code in case of other grf
}
else {
        //use this in all other cases
}
Or something along those lines. It's basically the same as the climate detection in the (recently expanded) NML tutorial, but instead of testing for the current climate, you test for active newgrfs.

Transportman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2692
Joined: 22 Feb 2011 18:34

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Transportman » 29 Jun 2012 05:40

Quast65 wrote:Glad you like it!
Too bad it automatically applies to all tunnels, but I guess you could make some extra railtype for that?
Well I don't have the knowledge to do that, that is why I asked railtype developers to hopefully pick this up and make an extra railtype.

@Beul, see above ;-)
The only unfortunate thing is that it only works with UK roads
Feel free to change the UK roads for the roadtype you like and post the GRF here ;-)
I have some deadlines coming week, but after that I can make an extra railtype (if nobody does it before me).

Small graphical bug: There are some green pixels showing on the road (SE and SW exits).
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML

davis
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 42
Joined: 19 Sep 2010 17:53

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by davis » 29 Jun 2012 11:10

great newgrf , makes tunnels look out of place unless you build them in cities though :/

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1654
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Quast65 » 29 Jun 2012 11:29

@Foobar, Thnx for the tip for the code. This GRF however is coded in NFO ;-) Maybe someone who is more experienced in NML could pick this up.

@Transportman, That would be great if you could code it into a railtype! And thnx for the graphic comment, I'll fix the green later this weekend (probably sunday).

@Davis, thnx that you like it, indeed it looks best only placed into cities. For that it needs to be coded into a railtype as stated in previous posts, so you can have multiple types of tunnels in a game. Fingers crossed, it looks like that is going to be picked up. ;-)
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by FooBar » 29 Jun 2012 11:51

Quast65 wrote:Maybe someone who is more experienced in NML could pick this up.
Contact me in a month or so, if nobody else has offered any services before that time. I don't have time for additional projects right now, but I may have some later.

Transportman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2692
Joined: 22 Feb 2011 18:34

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Transportman » 29 Jun 2012 12:55

Quast65 wrote:@Foobar, Thnx for the tip for the code. This GRF however is coded in NFO ;-) Maybe someone who is more experienced in NML could pick this up.

@Transportman, That would be great if you could code it into a railtype! And thnx for the graphic comment, I'll fix the green later this weekend (probably sunday).

@Davis, thnx that you like it, indeed it looks best only placed into cities. For that it needs to be coded into a railtype as stated in previous posts, so you can have multiple types of tunnels in a game. Fingers crossed, it looks like that is going to be picked up. ;-)
When I code it, it will be in NML, so Foobar's code should be relatively easy to implement.

Please send me a PM next week Thursday to remind me, otherwise I might forget this :p
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1654
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Quast65 » 29 Jun 2012 15:21

Cheers! Will do, gives me some time to fix some of the graphic errors (someone pointed out another small thing over at Simuscape)
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
Beul
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 91
Joined: 26 Jun 2012 22:02
Location: Enschede, Netherlands

Urban Rail Tunnel Portal Released!

Post by Beul » 30 Jun 2012 13:04

So here goes: my first ever GRF: Urban Rail Tunnel Portal (URTP) Renamed it because I want to add support for other road types as well.

Thanks to Quas65 for compiling the graphics and of course all the graphics providers mentioned in the first post.
URTP2.PNG
URTP2.PNG (251.23 KiB) Viewed 9482 times
Features:
-Adds a rail tunnel with eyecandy road on top. (Not driveable by rv's)
-currently replaces maglev
-Adds two rail tunnels (one electric with catenary, one normal without catenary) with eyecandy roads on top to fit in better in urban enivroments.


As it turned out it is not (yet) possible to assign tunnel sprites only to a new railtype. It would therefore need *a lot* more sprites before it can be introduced as a truly seperate rail type.
Tricked the game by providing blank sprites in stead of the tracks, overlays and so on. The rail type should therefore only be used for the tunnels.

Comming features: (in order of priority, allthough that may change according to my mood or comments here :wink:
-Automatically detect other road sets
-Add compatibility for other railtypes:
In no particular order:
-Dutch track set
-NU tracks
-Swedish rail set

-Add parameter settings for cost factor
-Add parameter for different platforms (dutch, suburban, japan, canadian, dwe, ISRS

If you have any remarks/bugs/glitches/request please post or send me a pm.

Update 01.07.2012
-Tunnel will now only become available once corresponding rail becomes available.
-Added version check. Grf will now produce a fatal error if Openttd version is lower than 1.2.0
-Added improved sprites (railings at road side removed, glitch with green pixels fixed) result: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 0#p1031865

Update 2.07.2012
-Replaced construction buttons and pointers (no more guessing where the mous is if you click the worn button)
-Some small name changes (apparently the definition "normal" is quite personal)
-Added a metro tunnel (waiting for the grfs from Quast tough)

And last but not least:
-used that tracks (that you do not need for a tunnel grf) to add some old rusty tracks
Attachments
URTP.grf
(21.11 KiB) Downloaded 357 times
Last edited by Beul on 03 Jul 2012 00:30, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6812
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by kamnet » 30 Jun 2012 20:03

Shouldn't that inside fence closest to the land be further out on the tile, like it is on the edge over the rail track?
(EDIT: that goes for both graphics sets here)
Last edited by kamnet on 30 Jun 2012 22:13, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Beul
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 91
Joined: 26 Jun 2012 22:02
Location: Enschede, Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Beul » 30 Jun 2012 20:36

kamnet wrote:Shouldn't that inside fence closest to the land be further out on the tile, like it is on the edge over the rail track?
Well quite frankly, the graphics are not in any way optimal yet. I will probably redo it (or Quast65 will improve it) but first I will draw sprites to match other road sets. I would personally remove the fences altogether (except for the one at the "cliff" edge ofc.) Are there any thoughts on keeping/getting rid of them?

User avatar
Andrew350
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 488
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Andrew350 » 30 Jun 2012 22:12

The rails on the inside edges do look out of place. IMO, the only fence should be the one directly over the tunnel.

User avatar
Beul
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 91
Joined: 26 Jun 2012 22:02
Location: Enschede, Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Beul » 01 Jul 2012 04:35

Update: Now adds tunnel without replacing maglev. More info and download here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 4#p1031574

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1654
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Traintunnel with eyecandy road on top

Post by Quast65 » 01 Jul 2012 06:54

Absolutely lovely work Beul!!
Thnx for picking this up. I just came home from work, so sleeptime first ;-) But I will improve the graphics maybe later today, or tomorrow. Fence only at the "cliff" edge is in my opinion the best and there are some other graphical issues that need some tweaking. Will PM them to you and also will make a link in the first post to your GRF.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests