Multi-track overhead portals

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Multi-track overhead portals

Post by Hyronymus »

I wondered if it's possible to redraw the single-track overhead portals to multi-track portals when another track is added next to existing electrified track. I personally think it can be done with the same routine that manages the fences on the side of the track. These fences disappear when another track is added to it. Instead of letting it disappear it should replace something this time though.
SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 14275
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII »

yeah ! I like ... no .... I love the idea
what are you looking at? it's a signature!
User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3603
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os »

Hmm, you could add the stuff I explained you in #tycoon,
it should make some stuff clearly (the fence routine can't be used for that as I told you)
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image
User avatar
Oracle
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2138
Joined: 22 May 2003 09:59

Post by Oracle »

I would definitely really like it; something like this:
Image
(Sorry for linked image but it breaks copyright to attach it here.)
It would look much better, although how much work it might require is another matter.
User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus »

eis_os wrote:Hmm, you could add the stuff I explained you in #tycoon,
it should make some stuff clearly (the fence routine can't be used for that as I told you)
I just nodded yes to everything you wrote :wink:

Suggest you have this situation:
###EEENEME###
with ###= fence, E = electrified track, N = normal track, M= Maglev/Monorail track

The left E-tile checks if there is electrified track on the left and right -> there isn't on the left, there is on the right -> so it starts building a left-sided support post;
The 2nd E checks the same -> there is track on both sides so it builds a horizontal portal beam;
The 3rd E checks both and see there is no electrified track on the right but there is on the left -> right-sided support post;
N does nothing;
4th E checks and finds no electrified track on both sides -> builds normal, single-track portal;
M does nothing;
last E checks and finds no electrified track on both sides -> builds normal, single-track portal;
Easy!
BobXP
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2720
Joined: 04 May 2003 11:00
Location: Torquay, England
Contact:

Post by BobXP »

*After days of wierd happenings with my cursor and wrapping round at the corners, it now decides to sidle up the left edge of the screen* :?

I think this is a great idea, as I am getting into elrails now (I used to think they were ugly :!: ) it would be great!

PS. Anyone know how to fix the cursor?
<!-- End Of Post !-->
Image
Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

I actually worked on this while I did some of the elrails features. I came to the following conclusions:

- these cross-spans would be extremely difficult to do
- they won't actually look good

For the second point, one problem is that TTD's rails are really very far apart, and a cross-span would look too much out of proportion. The distance between tracks should be about half what it is now for it to look good. It's just not worth it.

I've also looked into simply making dual pylons with one pylon supporting two wires, but they have the same problem.
User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3603
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os »

Best idea would be that somebody draws them actually (not perfect, but to get an idea),
using two layers, background layer TTD electric rail without supports,
second layer with the supports. (two layers because the second layer can be used as start point for drawing them then)

I would suggest to make only pylons, and then connecting all with wires.

Code: Select all

|-.---.-|
|..  .. |

| pylon
.. track
-.---.- wire
It's the common way in Germany to use wires for the track span, I don't know what the way is in other countries. Oracle's picture shows to big supports for TTD I think...
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image
User avatar
Zimmlock
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2112
Joined: 02 Dec 2003 16:01
Location: Belgium

Post by Zimmlock »

Its a GREAT idea, :D but what to do with an uneven number of tracks, 3,5,7
Here a few examples of Dutch systems 8)
Attachments
lwd25.jpg
lwd25.jpg (45.61 KiB) Viewed 5994 times
bovenleiding1938_hilversum.jpg
bovenleiding1938_hilversum.jpg (8.15 KiB) Viewed 5993 times
Hodie Mihi Cras Tibi
User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus »

Perhaps this for even tracks:

Code: Select all

_______
| ' ' |
| _ _ |
And for uneven tracks:

Code: Select all

_________
| ' ' | '
| _ _ | _
Or perhaps just dont make any difference?
SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 14275
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII »

For uneven tracks:

Code: Select all

_______
| ' ' | '|
| _ _ | _|
what are you looking at? it's a signature!
User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3603
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os »

:?:

You don't have that, there are left part, middle part, right part
middle parts have to fit together...

But my standpoint is that the dutch system is to much metall, and wouldn't look good in TTD...
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image
User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus »

yeah, the once tried concrete portals (monumental these days. But are you saying German portals are less metal? The DB uses rigid metal pylons that are oversized compared to the lean dutch pylons.
User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3603
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os »

But horizontal it's only made by writes:

Code: Select all

||\       /||
||---------||
||         ||
||  _   _  ||
Here you can see a model train picture how they are in Germany mostly:
http://www.modellbahn-bau.de/oberleitung.html
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image
User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3603
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os »

Here is my overpainted Sample how it could look,
it's not very realistic, but it doesn't look to bad...
Attachments
overhead_g_sample.png
overhead_g_sample.png (4.55 KiB) Viewed 5926 times
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image
User avatar
Oracle
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2138
Joined: 22 May 2003 09:59

Post by Oracle »

You're right: it's not too bad, but I'm not sure whether I prefer it to the current implementation ATM. Could you put some vertical or diagonal lines on it to join them up, because it just doesn't look quite right to me. Maybe something like
Image
(off the Loughborough Uni web site, Prof. Frink) or http://westcoastrail.fotopic.net/photo.php?id=2026502 would be better?

[OT]To avoid digging up a very old thread, I decided to post this here. I found the following map which might be of interest to any Brits wondering about where is electrified track in Britain with what system: http://www.trackoff.org/pdf/Electricity%20Dangers.pdf [/OT]
User avatar
Louie Armstrong
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4053
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:02
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England

Post by Louie Armstrong »

i am working on new gantry mounted 2way signals, and i was going to make it so it would look like they are spanning double tracks when placed adjacent on two tracks but also not look stupid/silly when placed on single track.

Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Official TT-Ellen Page FanClub
Official TT-Hayley Williams FanClub
Official TT-generic yet cute emo woman FanClub
jonty-comp wrote:I accidentally wedged my frigate between some rocks. D:
Colonel Sheperd
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1098
Joined: 30 May 2003 15:20
Location: Somewhere

Post by Colonel Sheperd »

eis_os wrote:Here is my overpainted Sample how it could look,
it's not very realistic, but it doesn't look to bad...
*drools*

we also could have this:

Code: Select all

__________________________________
|   \___     \___            |   /
|      O         O           |__/O
|                            |
|                            |
|    [o  o]   [o   o]        | [o o]

Legend:
O:Electric wire
[o o]:ONE track
\___:panto holder
|:Pole
____:Main panto holder
Image
BobXP
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2720
Joined: 04 May 2003 11:00
Location: Torquay, England
Contact:

Post by BobXP »

or these:

1-track

Code: Select all

_____
| ' |
|. .|
2-track

Code: Select all

__________
| '    ' |
|. .  . .|
3-track

Code: Select all

_______________
| '    '    ' |
|. .  . .  . .|
4-track

Code: Select all

___________________
| '    ' | '    ' |
|. .  . .|. .  . .|
5-track

Code: Select all

_______________________
| ' | '    '    ' | ' |
|. .|. .  . .  . .|. .|
6-track

Code: Select all

____________________________
| '    ' | '    ' | '    ' |
|. .  . .|. .  . .|. .  . .|
<!-- End Of Post !-->
Image
User avatar
Arathorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6937
Joined: 30 Nov 2002 17:10

Post by Arathorn »

I've never seen them built that way.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Axlandia, Bing [Bot] and 23 guests