Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:25 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 418 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 521 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
I'm working on a new GRF that changes the dockgraphics and gives extra new objecttiles to merge that dock with graphics from the Industrial Stations Renewal set and the DWE-set. Input and suggestions are very welcome ;-)

EDIT:
The objects can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=58884&p=1065014#p1065014
The dock changing GRF can be found here: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=58884&p=1065013#p1065013


Matching foundations can be found via this link: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=59390


Attachments:
newdock01.png
newdock01.png [ 125.8 KiB | Viewed 19719 times ]
newdock02.png
newdock02.png [ 122.15 KiB | Viewed 19719 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Last edited by Quast65 on Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:49 pm, edited 12 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Hmm, not bad! Makes the dock blend in quite nicely!

Just one minor remark: in the first picture the building seems to be hovering.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
First pic is only to show how the dock looks without the newobjecttiles and how you have to landscape to create the finished product

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
There was a request for junctiontiles, which ones would work best?

Strongcurved:
Attachment:
newdock03.png
newdock03.png [ 26.8 KiB | Viewed 19711 times ]


Softcurved or the cross only?:
Attachment:
newdock04.png
newdock04.png [ 33.92 KiB | Viewed 19711 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:46 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 639
Location: Szeged, Hungary
I think those giant cranes cannot turn, so I think all of them are unreal, but othervise looks good! Can I ask for a dock version with simply two empty (or maybe the water side tile could be with crane rails) tiles? That one with the warehouse on it would look strange in a city, but a simple flat dock wouldn't (I think).

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:18 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:36 am
Posts: 590
Location: Netherlands
I think the switches are not realistic with those cranes, the cross is very nice though. Mayby you could add some kind of buffer.

_________________
View my (train)pictures on Flickr


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5631
Location: Eastern KY
The building needs a foundation under it to look right on the slope (even though I know it's meant to have some other objects next to it to hide it).

The cranes aren't meant to cross-over or curve, so you can nix those. Instead, I'd suggest making a newobject tile that looks like a loading area, or maybe a "warning" area.

I wouldn't mind it if you broke out some of the other ISR graphics as NewObjects either.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
Thnx for all your inputs, I'll work on the suggestions. If it's not too much work I'll also make a version without rails and just the building and a completly empty one. Still too bad that it's not possible to make 2 or more versions (passenger/cargo/universal). Has anybody got an idea that this will be possible in the future or is this a general limitation of the game?

Quote:
I wouldn't mind it if you broke out some of the other ISR graphics as NewObjects either


I don't have the coding knowledge to make animated newobjects, but non-animated objects I can code. Could you give me the spritenumbers of the things you would like coded?

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Currently you can have exactly one set of dock graphics. That may change in the future with newgrf ports, but don't hold your breath. You can do a parameter setting to allow users to pick one version for their game.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5631
Location: Eastern KY
Quast65 wrote:
I don't have the coding knowledge to make animated newobjects, but non-animated objects I can code. Could you give me the spritenumbers of the things you would like coded?
No idea, don't have a sprite sheet handy. Animation doesn't matter.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
How about these newobject tiles? Little sample how it looks with the crane in the middle
Attachment:
newdock05.png
newdock05.png [ 53.04 KiB | Viewed 19509 times ]


And with the docks:
Attachment:
newdock06.png
newdock06.png [ 163.04 KiB | Viewed 19502 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5631
Location: Eastern KY
You don't want the rail bumpers on those rails, because in reality it blocks vehicles from driving underneath the gantry cranes so that stuff can be loaded/unloaded. I *REALLY* like the security gates broken out. In fact, I'd love to see that done so that you can actually put a road through it (essentually, industrial "road furniture").

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
kamnet wrote:
You don't want the rail bumpers on those rails, because in reality it blocks vehicles from driving underneath the gantry cranes so that stuff can be loaded/unloaded. I *REALLY* like the security gates broken out. In fact, I'd love to see that done so that you can actually put a road through it (essentually, industrial "road furniture").


Well it's possible to make newobjecttiles that overlap the road, so it looks like cars drive over that (see pic below)
Attachment:
newdock07.png
newdock07.png [ 12.96 KiB | Viewed 19423 times ]


But it has a couple of disadvantages:

- It takes up at least 2 tiles, one for the actual tile and one for the overlaptile
- It's glitchy, so sometimes the overlapping tile will flicker, but it looks good on stills ;-)
- If you have stuff that is higher than the road (for example the red building), you need another tile placed across the road, because when roadvehicles pass you will lose some part of the graphics (see pic below) So it will take up 3 tiles.
Attachment:
newdock08.png
newdock08.png [ 12 KiB | Viewed 19423 times ]


Furthermore, I've edited the buffers. So there is room for roadvehicles to drive to the gantry cranes. And I've made a couple of options for the guardhouse (nothing at all, only rails, rails with buffer)
Attachment:
newdock09.png
newdock09.png [ 38.26 KiB | Viewed 19421 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:26 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:46 pm
Posts: 1534
Location: Netherlands
first of all: nice work!

as for some critisism:

the bends in the tracks are not realistic. these gantry/unloading cranes are so big, that they will simply not make the turn you have drawn. i pfrefer a different base grf under it with some sort of road? aka contrainer-trucks can drive "under" it, specially regarding the last few shots, how hard would it be to add a road under it, and make the trucks pass under the cranes (if possible at all)

_________________
Screenshots topic
Scenarios&Heightmaps


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13156
Location: The Netherlands
This is really taking off in a fantastic direction. I agree with all the recommendations made above and I really like the "road furniture" you are adding to it. Keep it up :).

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
the bends in the tracks are not realistic


True, If you want to make a bend realistic (like pic below), you would need something like 10 tiles to make that curve. But I wanted something to link the rails of the cranes with the rails of the dock. The way I build up my harbours, I would like my docks to have rails. I will make different options of the docks, including ones without rails, so you dont have to use the bend rails. Only problem is that you can have just 1 type of dock in the game, it doesn't allow different styles of docks at the same time. So you have to be inventive in how you build up your harbours.
Attachment:
cranecurve.jpg
cranecurve.jpg [ 44.49 KiB | Viewed 19345 times ]


Quote:
i pfrefer a different base grf under it with some sort of road? aka contrainer-trucks can drive "under" it, specially regarding the last few shots, how hard would it be to add a road under it, and make the trucks pass under the cranes (if possible at all)


I dont really know what you mean. Regarding the shots of the trucks driving over the ISR road, there is a "normal" road under it. So it is possible to replace the ISR road with, for example a crane, Trucks would drive under that. Couple of problems:

- I don't know how to animate objects, so the crane would be static. That's not too big of a problem, because if you animate objects, they would be moving all the time. They don't get triggered by a ship/car/train loading or unloading (correct me if I'm wrong). And that would look strange, if it moved around with nothing there.

- Because it's an overlapping object, you would need a second objecttile to add the graphics that the passing vehicle cuts off (see below) and that means adding a second tile below to make up for the lost graphics. So a drivethru crane would take up 3 tiles. But hey, harbours are big aren't they :D
Attachment:
newdock10.png
newdock10.png [ 35.58 KiB | Viewed 19345 times ]


Well I would like some more suggestions of what kind of overlapping tiles we need where vehicles can drive over, So we have the ISR road, the Crane and cranerail, The guardhouse, what more?

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:01 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:36 am
Posts: 590
Location: Netherlands
Place some containers along the road. I think it will look even better.

_________________
View my (train)pictures on Flickr


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:06 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:24 pm
Posts: 276
Those containers normaly appear, when there is cargo at this station...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:12 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:36 am
Posts: 590
Location: Netherlands
This isn't a station set but NewObjects, would be cool if those drive under cranes can be added to ISR.

_________________
View my (train)pictures on Flickr


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: The Netherlands
jor[D]1 wrote:
Place some containers along the road. I think it will look even better.


I want to keep that empty, for example people who have built gasolineharbours wouldn't want containers there.

jor[D]1 wrote:
This isn't a station set but NewObjects, would be cool if those drive under cranes can be added to ISR.


Be aware that the driveundercranes are only camouflage for the road under it. These kind of tiles can be glitchy and flicker in game. I don't think they would really like that in that set. You have to be aware that that can happen, or they will be swamped by messages that the set is buggy ;-) But if they want to use it, they are more than welcome to.

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 418 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 521 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.