Seaplane Airport working in trunk, GRF v1.2 released

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Seaplane Airport working in trunk, GRF v1.2 released

Post by Quast65 » 23 Oct 2011 19:13

I have found a way to make a seaplane airport available in trunk and buildable in seas or lakes!
It took some work editing some existing GRF's (mainly the small airport tiles in the Total Town Replacement set) and using some NewObject watertiles to keep the sea out of the airport and I'll admit it's not very pretty yet, but it works. I don't know what settings I have to change in the NFO so that it will only accept seaplanes, so for the time being all planes can land there. See picture below for screenshot. I'll post pictures of how I built it in the next post.

Airplane artists start drawing seaplanes!!!!

I am not sure about copyrights and so on, so I wont put the GRF up yet, can someone advise on what path I should follow to make sure I dont break any copyright rules?

UPDATE: Made a GRF, with a totally stripped airport, ideas for graphics are very welcome! Read grf description on how to build, or read this thread.

UPDATE: V1.1 released, without windsock (parameter will put it back)

UPDATE: The grf can be found here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 8#p1037438
Attachments
Testversion
Testversion
Seaplaneport01.png (19.87 KiB) Viewed 15332 times
seaplaneairport_v1_1.grf
(8.46 KiB) Downloaded 801 times
Version 1.1
Version 1.1
Seaplaneport03.png (19.34 KiB) Viewed 14116 times
Last edited by Quast65 on 01 Aug 2012 12:26, edited 6 times in total.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by Quast65 » 23 Oct 2011 19:14

In this post I will explain what I have done.

I have edited all the small airporttiles from the Total Town Replacement set so that they look like watertiles (all animated), also the inside of the hangar is water now. I've drawn some simple docks for the airplanes to load on and off.
I have also used a parameter in the Combined Airport Set GRF to make the fences disappear.

I have used SAC's newobjects GRF to make the keyside look more modern.

And finally I have found a GRF somewhere in the Forum that let's you place watertiles as New-Objects. This is the key to success, these tiles keep the water out. So, if you want you could build this airport in the middle of the ocean.

And that's all! :D
Attachments
First pause the game and clear the sea
First pause the game and clear the sea
seaportstep01.png (44.33 KiB) Viewed 15307 times
Secondly place NewObject watertiles around the airport, build a road or whatever you want on the slope to seal it off
Secondly place NewObject watertiles around the airport, build a road or whatever you want on the slope to seal it off
seaportstep02.png (50.64 KiB) Viewed 15307 times
Finally, place the airport and let the game run again. The water wont flood the airport
Finally, place the airport and let the game run again. The water wont flood the airport
seaportstep03.png (58.07 KiB) Viewed 15307 times
Last edited by Quast65 on 23 Oct 2011 19:38, edited 1 time in total.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by DanMacK » 23 Oct 2011 19:21

Looking for the *like* button... Very cool

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by Quast65 » 23 Oct 2011 20:09

Thank you!

The key element here is the watertile NewObjec that keeps the airport from flooding, it can be found here:

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... m&start=20

I dont really have the knowledge to code and draw a GRF that only replaces the small airport (as I stated before, I've edited the Total Town replacement GRF, so all the other changes are there too), I hope someone can pick this idea up and make it into a pretty (even though it is very wet) airport :D
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by FooBar » 23 Oct 2011 20:51

I guess on could code an additional small-water-airport.

Nice approach though. I like these out of the box solutions that make things posibble that aren't really possible :)

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6888
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by kamnet » 24 Oct 2011 01:28

Huh. That's really interesting. Good job!

"Like" is so 2008. +1 :mrgreen:

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by V453000 :) » 24 Oct 2011 06:12

I consider it ugly and weird looking, but I have to say that the idea and realization is awesome :D
ImageImageImage

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9331
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by planetmaker » 24 Oct 2011 11:53

Quast65 wrote: I have edited all the small airporttiles from the Total Town Replacement set so that they look like watertiles (all animated), also the inside of the hangar is water now. I've drawn some simple docks for the airplanes to load on and off.
I have also used a parameter in the Combined Airport Set GRF to make the fences disappear.

I have used SAC's newobjects GRF to make the keyside look more modern.

And finally I have found a GRF somewhere in the Forum that let's you place watertiles as New-Objects. This is the key to success, these tiles keep the water out.
Nice. The hangar looks like there's a palette mis-match though.

There currently are no means via NewGRF to forbid other planes than sea planes to land on those airports. That part of the specs simply does not yet exist.

Concerning licenses:
- (Re-)using parts of the TTRS is mostly no issue. You have to credit the artists whose sprites you use. Checkout the credits and possibly its discussion thread for more detailed information.
- Combined airport set: No idea. Check out its license and / or ask the author(s) and artist(s) for permission to re-use the sprites
- SAC's NewObjects: same as above: ask her

You can totally skip and remove the NewObject part. Building rivers or canals at sea level has the very same effect. No NewGRF part or addition is needed for that.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5400
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by PikkaBird » 24 Oct 2011 12:13

planetmaker wrote:You can totally skip and remove the NewObject part. Building rivers or canals at sea level has the very same effect. No NewGRF part or addition is needed for that.
Won't canals, at least, put a brick wall around the airport? :)


User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3099
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by Emperor Jake » 24 Oct 2011 12:34

But you would get a wall around your seaplane airport, which doesn't look as good. :wink:
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9331
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by planetmaker » 24 Oct 2011 12:41

PikkaBird wrote:
planetmaker wrote:You can totally skip and remove the NewObject part. Building rivers or canals at sea level has the very same effect. No NewGRF part or addition is needed for that.
Won't canals, at least, put a brick wall around the airport? :)
Hm, yes, you're right, they would. I only thought of them not showing in the middle of water - which in this case would not be the place, though it should be visibly. Thus I redact that quoted statement :-)

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by Quast65 » 24 Oct 2011 13:04

V453000 :) wrote:I consider it ugly and weird looking, but I have to say that the idea and realization is awesome :D
I know it's not pretty :D But I couldn't resist posting this solution.

If anyone has some prettier sprites lying around I'll be happy to try and use them.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by Quast65 » 24 Oct 2011 13:30

Nice. The hangar looks like there's a palette mis-match though.
If you mean the blue color, that is because my company colors were blue. It can change color.
There currently are no means via NewGRF to forbid other planes than sea planes to land on those airports. That part of the specs simply does not yet exist.
Well thats not too bad, just be careful what planes get to land there then.
Concerning licenses:
- (Re-)using parts of the TTRS is mostly no issue. You have to credit the artists whose sprites you use. Checkout the credits and possibly its discussion thread for more detailed information.
Thanks for the tip, I'll look into that. I'll try to filter out the code for changing the looks of airfields first from the original TTRS code, so it can be separate from that GRF. These are my first babysteps into coding and I'm still figuring out how NFO coding works, but I'm getting there :D
- Combined airport set: No idea. Check out its license and / or ask the author(s) and artist(s) for permission to re-use the sprites
I didn't use any graphics from that. I only use the parameter that they have, so you can turn the fences off around airfields. I'll look into finding only that piece of code.
- SAC's NewObjects: same as above: ask her
Also, didn't use any graphics from that, only parameter setting for prettier edges. Is not really needed for this to work, but I think it looks better than the stone edges.
You can totally skip and remove the NewObject part. Building rivers or canals at sea level has the very same effect. No NewGRF part or addition is needed for that
Well as I saw in some later posts from you that you found out that you do need them to get a correct look. Rivers and canals do place an ugly stone border. I'll try and filter out the code for just that one tile from the newobjectGRF.

I'll try to contact all of the authors and artists of code and graphics I altered and try to make a nice little GRF out of that.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by FooBar » 24 Oct 2011 14:31

Quast65 wrote:I'm still figuring out how NFO coding works, but I'm getting there :D
Maybe a bit late, but you could consider skipping NFO altogether and dive into NML instead. OpenGFX+Airports may give you inspiration on how to add an additional airport (based on one of the existing airports) instead of replacing them.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by Quast65 » 24 Oct 2011 18:09

Hmmm, might be interesting. Will take some time though to figure that out too, but it looks a bit more human friendly :D
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk

Post by FooBar » 24 Oct 2011 18:22

Quast65 wrote:but it looks a bit more human friendly :D
Exactly why I'm suggesting to use it instead :)

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk, GRF v1.0 released

Post by Quast65 » 25 Oct 2011 00:11

I have done some work :D Totally stripped the airport, fences are gone via parameter (sadly this applies to all airportfences) and a watertile is placed as NewObject. So time to launch V1.0!!!!

Suggestions for graphics (and how to get rid of the windflag) are very welcome!
Attachments
Seaplaneairport_v1_0.png
Seaplaneairport_v1_0.png (64.06 KiB) Viewed 14793 times
seaplaneairport_v1_0.grf
(8.36 KiB) Downloaded 267 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7424
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk, GRF v1.0 released

Post by Eddi » 25 Oct 2011 00:18

in theory there should be flags you can set so airporttiles don't get flooded. maybe refer to industrytiles, they should be similar. or maybe i dreamt this :p
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

Yoshi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 278
Joined: 21 Dec 2010 17:24

Re: Seaplane Airport working in trunk, GRF v1.0 released

Post by Yoshi » 25 Oct 2011 16:49

Suggestions for graphics (and how to get rid of the windflag) are very welcome!
What about replacing the sprites of this windflag with empty blue (transparent) boxes?

AFAIK their numbers are 2676-2679.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests