New Company Colours (NewCC set) Version 0.3

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5199
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by andythenorth »

Simons Mith wrote:I've given it a quick go with FIRS
Worth saying that FIRS limits the company colours used for many industries, to prevent some horrible looking combinations ;)

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Darthrafael »

FooBar wrote:Like any other NewGRF.
Where do i put it? i put it on the same place as my other NewGRFs but it doesnt work
P.S. Does it work for OpenTTD?
Hi~

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3153
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Emperor Jake »

Just download it from Bananas and activate it just like you would any other NewGRF. Note that it won't show up in the main menu, you must start a new game for it to take effect. Once your game is started, you may notice that the GUI is lighter than usual. This means it is working; go to the colour selection menu and take a look :wink:

HTH,
Jake
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Darthrafael »

Emperor Jake wrote:Just download it from Bananas and activate it just like you would any other NewGRF. Note that it won't show up in the main menu, you must start a new game for it to take effect. Once your game is started, you may notice that the GUI is lighter than usual. This means it is working; go to the colour selection menu and take a look :wink:

HTH,
Jake
what about the download on the first page? does that work to? Because i can't find the site named bananas.
Hi~

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Kogut »

Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by lawton27 »

Darthrafael wrote:
Emperor Jake wrote:Just download it from Bananas and activate it just like you would any other NewGRF. Note that it won't show up in the main menu, you must start a new game for it to take effect. Once your game is started, you may notice that the GUI is lighter than usual. This means it is working; go to the colour selection menu and take a look :wink:

HTH,
Jake
what about the download on the first page? does that work to? Because i can't find the site named bananas.
Bannanas is the in-game on-line content system, however it also has a site here

Edit: Beat me to it! :D

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Darthrafael »

Ok, I Got to the site,clicked on the link and i got back to this page. ?(
Hi~

BobDendry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2215
Joined: 06 May 2004 09:10
Location: Sydney

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by BobDendry »

A bit late on to the bandwagon but I've got to say this GRF is brilliant. Thank you for sharing it.
Formerly known as Lachie

User avatar
Level Crossing
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1187
Joined: 07 Feb 2011 22:04
Location: East Coast, United States

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Level Crossing »

Try it from in the game (Online Content).
Like my avatar? See my screenshot thread

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Darthrafael »

Level Crossing wrote:Try it from in the game (Online Content).
Thanks, I found it.
Hi~

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Darthrafael »

Darthrafael wrote:
Level Crossing wrote:Try it from in the game (Online Content).
Thanks, I found it.
It Doesn't work! I downloaded it activated it but no new company colors appear!
Hi~

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by PaulC »

Darthrafael wrote:It Doesn't work! I downloaded it activated it but no new company colors appear!
Are you sure? The grf only replaces the default company colours (it doesn't add more of them), and you will still get the old colour names unless you also apply the supplied patch.

Perhaps it might help if you posted some screenshots of your NewGRF Settings and of the Company Colour Scheme window, then people might have a better idea of what you're actually doing.

ZxBiohazardZx
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1534
Joined: 14 Mar 2006 12:46
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by ZxBiohazardZx »

just a small suggestion from my side, but if this colorscheme proves to be so good, we might want to include it directly in trunk and/or the default OPENGFX ?? specially if everyone agrees that these colors are "better" and/or more usefull, maybe via parameter (use old/new)

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Darthrafael »

PaulC wrote:
Darthrafael wrote:It Doesn't work! I downloaded it activated it but no new company colors appear!
Are you sure? The grf only replaces the default company colours (it doesn't add more of them), and you will still get the old colour names unless you also apply the supplied patch.

Perhaps it might help if you posted some screenshots of your NewGRF Settings and of the Company Colour Scheme window, then people might have a better idea of what you're actually doing.
What Patch do i need for the new names?
Hi~

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by PaulC »

Darthrafael wrote:What Patch do i need for the new names?
It's in the download on the first page.

Are you at least seeing the new colours in your game?

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 96
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Darthrafael »

PaulC wrote:
Darthrafael wrote:What Patch do i need for the new names?
It's in the download on the first page.

Are you at least seeing the new colours in your game?
Yeah like white looks like green :) But Name Changes would be Usefull
Hi~

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4312
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by George »

Emperor Jake wrote:What I did to each colour: (UPDATED)
Dark blue: Used darker versions of the normal blue
Pale green: Made greenish-brown colour
Pink: Made into dark red
Yellow: Made yellower
Red: Same as original
Light Blue: Same as original
Green: Made into same as 2CC green, slightly darker
Dark Green: Same as original
Blue: Made into black (dark grey)
Cream: Made into a much better cream or beige colour
Mauve: Made into reddish-brown colour
Purple: Used different purple
Orange: Made much oranger
Brown: Used much browner brown
Grey: Made light grey
White: Used original pale green
Could you please make a graphical representation in a table form. Similar to this? http://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Fi ... olours.png
Image
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3153
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Emperor Jake »

OK, here you go :)

Not sure if it is 100% correct though, I made a few adjustments here and there, as this is from my testing pallette which I used to find the right numbers. I'm pretty sure I tweaked the purple, orange and beige, I'll make a more accurate one when I have the time.
Attachments
colours.png
colours.png (20.81 KiB) Viewed 2649 times
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4312
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by George »

Emperor Jake wrote:OK, here you go :)
Not sure if it is 100% correct though, I made a few adjustments here and there, as this is from my testing pallette which I used to find the right numbers. I'm pretty sure I tweaked the purple, orange and beige, I'll make a more accurate one when I have the time.
May I request
1) the permission to use it inside ECS Town vector?
2) to reorder them? I want to replace less colours, and I want that the set of replaced colours should be the same. (I mean this set and ECSTV would replace the same colours, making possible to use NewCC after ECSTV, and NewCC would only modify colours that are not modified by ECSTV yet)

This question is rising because currently some ECS industries disable appearance in some colours (excluding the case when a player of this colour builds the industry). For example, ECS Factory is not build in white (unless you are playing as white player and build the industry). This is done to prevent some colours combinations (mostly orange, cream, white) that do not fit well. With new CC this may be avoided by having a better colours. But changing as much colours as NewCC set does is a way too much. So, a partial solution may be better.
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3153
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: New Company Colours (NewCC set)

Post by Emperor Jake »

George wrote:May I request...
Certainly, do whatever you want. It's very simple code, it shouldn't even need a license or anything.

Nice idea witht he ECS, by the way, I'll be interested to see how it looks. :)
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests