TARS Towns development

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

How should Fraenklie's buildings be used? [see Page 7 discussion]

Yes, use them in large towns and use the TARS buildings in the villages
19
58%
Yes, chuck yours and Fraenklie's buildings together for all towns
14
42%
Well, I like his buildings but yours suck. Can I have a set of just his?
0
No votes
Leave them out of this set completely.
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 33

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found. New Poll 27/12/

Post by SwissFan91 » 04 Jan 2013 22:51

Indeed, although progress is slower than it could be due to having to draw 5 snow transitions. (yes, I know I don't HAVE to).

Its a pity Yoshi chose to zoom in so far... the sprites aren't THAT good.
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
boyercam
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 19:51
Location: Secret Location, Just off the A680, England

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found. New Poll 27/12/

Post by boyercam » 05 Jan 2013 11:56

I would love to help you but I don't know how GRF's work.

Maybe I could help with texturing as that would be the easy for me (I think :? )
Image

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6711
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found. New Poll 27/12/

Post by kamnet » 06 Jan 2013 04:04

boyercam wrote:I would love to help you but I don't know how GRF's work.
It's never too early to learn! http://www.tt-wiki.net/wiki/NMLTutorial

User avatar
boyercam
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 04 Jan 2013 19:51
Location: Secret Location, Just off the A680, England

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found. New Poll 27/12/

Post by boyercam » 06 Jan 2013 09:53

kamnet wrote:
boyercam wrote:I would love to help you but I don't know how GRF's work.
It's never too early to learn! http://www.tt-wiki.net/wiki/NMLTutorial
Thanks, I'll have a go :D

In the meantime I drew up some sprites for an early gondola cabin
Image
I know its really terrible
Image

User avatar
FLHerne
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1536
Joined: 12 Jul 2011 12:09
Location: St Ives, Cambs, UK

Re: TARS Town Set [Progressing; coder found. New Poll 27/12/

Post by FLHerne » 06 Jan 2013 13:27

boyercam wrote:In the meantime I drew up some sprites for an early gondola cabin
It's huge and unpaletted, so probably isn't of use. OTTD sprites have to use only colours selected from either the DOS or Windows palette, and are never* more than a few dozen pixels in each direction (a gondola would be perhaps 16x10 pixels?).

You might want to look at the Graphics Tutorial, as well as the NML one. ;-)

*Possibly huge airships or big tower blocks can be, depending on how you interpret 'a few'... :P
Temporary Permanent signature filling text. Content coming soon delayed indefinitely! Oh, and I have a screenshot thread now...
Linux user (XMonad DWM/KDE, Arch), IRC obsessive and rail enthusiast. No longer buiding robots.
Author of an incredibly boring stickied post about NewGRFs.

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by SwissFan91 » 06 May 2013 20:55

This set is not dead - coding has begun and we have a fairly sizeable collection of sprites drawn. Here is something:
Football Pitch Tran 0.png
Football Pitch Tran 0.png (1.63 KiB) Viewed 1942 times
I would love some critique on. I know it lacks some shading but the fact it is meant to be artificial grass I didn't want to add as much noise as grass has. WRT the orange concrete layer - well OTTD lacks in the orange department!

Also - I have just realised they seem to be playing with a beach ball. I should probably sort that!
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
Benny
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2185
Joined: 25 Aug 2007 17:03
Location: ~/

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by Benny » 06 May 2013 23:04

This set is looking magnificent, color me impressed!
Image

User avatar
Hans Kruzer
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 230
Joined: 03 Jul 2013 20:24
Location: Toronto

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by Hans Kruzer » 03 Oct 2013 02:38

What would your opinion be if I were to draw the buildings in downtown Zürich? I understand most of the buildings now are to be for Alpine towns, and skyscrapers as such would be obsolete amongst the current buildings. I'm guessing you'd put'em in very large cities?
Attachments
zurichcentral.PNG
zurichcentral.PNG (788.75 KiB) Viewed 1715 times
Tschüß!

Yoshi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 278
Joined: 21 Dec 2010 17:24

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by Yoshi » 03 Oct 2013 16:56

Hi,

of course you can draw them.

It would be nice if they would not be the biggest skyscrapers ...

But modern city-buildings in alpine-style are welcomed of course :)

Yoshi

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6711
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by kamnet » 03 Oct 2013 17:00

Like that building in the bottom-left corner of the photo?

Yoshi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 278
Joined: 21 Dec 2010 17:24

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by Yoshi » 03 Oct 2013 18:04

Yes, for example :)

Some mid-size buildings are ok as well :) (e.g. a smaller version of the builidn in center foreground)

User avatar
Hans Kruzer
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 230
Joined: 03 Jul 2013 20:24
Location: Toronto

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by Hans Kruzer » 04 Oct 2013 04:29

Okay, A smaller sort of modern glass building and a large glass building that could resemble a shopping plaza, etc
I tried to scale it to the other larger buildings of the set, but I haven't added snow yet or the phases for construction :P
It is 2x1 tiles :D
Attachments
business-plaza.PNG
business-plaza.PNG (4.15 KiB) Viewed 1578 times
Tschüß!

Yoshi
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 278
Joined: 21 Dec 2010 17:24

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by Yoshi » 04 Oct 2013 05:00

Hi,

thanks for drawing :)

Could you split it in two 1x1 sprites and put them in two templates?
blank template.png
(7.78 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Top four lines: Building in 4 construction stages (if you have no construction stages yet , please add the full building, otherwise it won't show ingame.)
Bottom four lines: Ground tiles for the four buildings (concrete or such things)
1. Column: 0/4 snow
2. Column: 1/4 snow
3. Column: 2/4 snow
4. Column: 3/4 snow
5. Column: 4/4 snow

Example:
TARS 1.png
(11.31 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by SwissFan91 » 04 Oct 2013 06:59

I am more than happy to draw the snow stages if you wish. Therefore all we need are 2/3 construction stages and the transparent versions of these.
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9282
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by planetmaker » 04 Oct 2013 07:03

SwissFan91 wrote:I am more than happy to draw the snow stages if you wish. Therefore all we need are 2/3 construction stages and the transparent versions of these.
You don't need a transparent version, if you provide a nice-enough ground tile (see TTRS houses).

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by SwissFan91 » 04 Oct 2013 21:41

I have somewhat rediscovered my love of drawing in the past week:

[EDIT] Added another one.
Attachments
New houses showcase.png
New houses showcase.png (5.75 KiB) Viewed 1388 times
Last edited by SwissFan91 on 05 Oct 2013 13:49, edited 2 times in total.
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
YNM
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3542
Joined: 22 Mar 2012 11:10
Location: West Java

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by YNM » 05 Oct 2013 06:57

Woah, sloped houses !
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?
「ヨーッスノットマイン」も合うでしょう。

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by SwissFan91 » 05 Oct 2013 13:51

I have just edited it to add another one.
YNM wrote:Woah, sloped houses !
Yes indeed. It does mean, however, that the set does seem a little bare if you build a town on completely flat ground. Oh well.

I would love to get to the stage where I have enough sloped houses that I can disable foundations so you don't get the rather ugly look of flat houses jutting out of a hillside. Still, I'm not sure that's even possible..
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
supermop
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1043
Joined: 21 Feb 2010 00:15
Location: Fitzroy North - 96

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by supermop » 05 Oct 2013 15:31

In that case, would it be possible to just have sloped and non-sloped versions of each house? I am actually not sure how this works currently - are there two separate sets of houses, and when the town expands it selects from one set or the other depending on the slope of the tile? Or are these houses normal, but with a custom foundation and ground sprite that looks likes a sloped garden? Can houses have custom foundations like stations?

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5269
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: [UNIV] TARS Town Set development

Post by michael blunck » 05 Oct 2013 15:43

supermop wrote:Can houses have custom foundations like stations?
Yes, they can. But the code would be different. Handling houses w/r to custom foundations is similar to industry and airport tiles.

regards
Michael
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests