NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by Zuu » 22 Jul 2013 17:30

Kogut wrote:WET type vehicles are sometimes failing assertion "AIVehicle.GetVehicleType(engineId) == AIVehicle.VT_RAIL" (I think that from game mechanic side it is still normal train).
According to the AI API docs for AIVehicle.GetVehicleType(), it wants a vehicle ID, not the engine ID. If you have an engine ID, you should use AIEngine.GetVehicleType(engineId) instead.

Does this help, or did you just wrote it wrong in your post?
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

User avatar
siu238X
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 324
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 18:54
Location: Hong Kong, China

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by siu238X » 19 Mar 2014 14:28

Just curious, is NUTS available for translations? I have access to OpenTTDCoop translator, but doesn't see NUTS in the project list there.
Image Image
Image Image
Image Image

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by V453000 :) » 21 Mar 2014 06:29

Hi, it is not, the strings are made very poorly [are terribly translate-able] as they contain values in them.
Since I change those values very often, it could cause more confusion than good.

And "fixing" the strings is from my point of view not worth doing as there is not really terribly much to translate anyway. Or well, at least people can use it as their opportunity to improve english :P

V
ImageImageImage

User avatar
siu238X
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 324
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 18:54
Location: Hong Kong, China

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by siu238X » 22 Mar 2014 15:24

V453000 :) wrote:Hi, it is not, the strings are made very poorly [are terribly translate-able] as they contain values in them.
Since I change those values very often, it could cause more confusion than good.

And "fixing" the strings is from my point of view not worth doing as there is not really terribly much to translate anyway. Or well, at least people can use it as their opportunity to improve english :P

V
Well, don't know whether you are talking about vehicle names -- which I don't feel like changing them. I just really want to bring some consistency for the following screen.
Attachments
OpenTTD_NUTS_translation_wish.png
OpenTTD_NUTS_translation_wish.png (89.19 KiB) Viewed 2954 times
Image Image
Image Image
Image Image

User avatar
mart3p
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1032
Joined: 31 Oct 2005 21:00
Location: UK

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by mart3p » 31 Mar 2014 18:09

I like NUTS for its great gameplay. :) But for me, an annoying feature is the logic engine. Most AIs don't understand it, so they build the engine but can't attach wagons. This leaves the engine dashing back and forth making a constant loss. :?

It would be nice if logic engines could be disabled. Advanced players who require them, could enable them with a parameter.
Image

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by Kogut » 31 Mar 2014 21:23

mart3p wrote:I like NUTS for its great gameplay. :) But for me, an annoying feature is the logic engine. Most AIs don't understand it, so they build the engine but can't attach wagons. This leaves the engine dashing back and forth making a constant loss. :?
This should be reported rather on relevant AI threads.
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by V453000 :) » 01 Apr 2014 07:04

NUTS probably has vast majority of the AI flags broken and I cant say I am interested in making it compatible with AIs even one bit, AIs are the most useless thing in the game.
ImageImageImage

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by V453000 :) » 03 Dec 2014 08:20

In case anybody was interested in this thread, I can gladly announce that NUTS Unrealistic Train Set has reached a big milestone of getting it's flagship vehicles into 32bpp (not mentioning maglev and chameleon from earlier).

Onwards to more pixels!
Attachments
V453000 Transport, Mar 22nd, 2135.png
(445.63 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
ImageImageImage


User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by V453000 :) » 09 Dec 2014 11:39

Thanks kamnet, I appreciate the reply (: .

Anyway, I just wrote technical documentation / tutorial for 32bpp part of NUTS, so if anybody wants to create something similar, or just want to see how stuff gets done, it is available

Image
http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/nuts/wiki/tech
ImageImageImage

Plord
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 65
Joined: 28 Nov 2014 16:19

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by Plord » 09 Dec 2014 19:00

Wow! just come here to verify what you told me in the other thread!!! downloading right away!!!

you know, first thing i thought when heard about nuts and wet trains was the last back to future train that the doctor used to visit Martin. Just imagine trains all over the map colliding against airplanes like they were trucks.


Thanks!

picablaat
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Dec 2014 14:19

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by picablaat » 02 Mar 2015 09:35

Just wanted to say thanks!

I am having a lot of fun using your trains and now with the 32bpp it works nice but also important: it looks nice as well!

Thanks....

Ozgarb
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 May 2014 13:57

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by Ozgarb » 15 Mar 2015 03:12

i change openttd.cfg settings to blitter = "32bpp-optimized" but i dont play 32bpp mod. how to set 32bpp.

User avatar
Sylf
President
President
Posts: 958
Joined: 23 Nov 2010 21:25
Location: ::1

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by Sylf » 15 Mar 2015 03:38

Not every models have 32 bit sprites yet. One of the earliest train class available in 32 bit is monorail chameleon. Others include maglev and slugs classes.

Ozgarb
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 May 2014 13:57

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by Ozgarb » 15 Mar 2015 11:39

thanks :D it's work.

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3938
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by NekoMaster » 18 May 2015 00:22

So I try this train set for the first time in a while, and while some changes are nice, I'm not very fond of the way engines are coded now, with a permanently coupled wagon to everything aside from fast and intercity engines.

I'd suggest making a parameter/setting for causal players to disable that added wagon, considering that the way I play I'd rather have multi-headed engines rather then have some bigger more expensive engine to haul more.

A set I use to enjoy playing for its new ideas and unique-ness, I'll be removing NTUS and wont be using NUTS until that permanent wagon is toggle-able (or removed).

Then again I'm just talking to a wall here... :(
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
trainman1432
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 278
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 02:34
Location: at home

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by trainman1432 » 31 Aug 2015 20:12

mart3p wrote:...an annoying feature is the logic engine. Most AIs don't understand it, so they build the engine but can't attach wagons...
trAIns and ChooChoo work well for me with this set :) .
|
V
I looked in the debug menu, and it said it disabled use of the logic train.
Jetrain

User avatar
khamseen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 13
Joined: 12 Aug 2016 02:33

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by khamseen » 12 Aug 2016 04:10

Does anybody know if there's a way to refit the universal wagon to different cargo types without having to attach it to a train and refit the entire train? I feel like I must be missing something as I keep having to buy temporary engines to attach the wagons to so I can refit them then transfer them to their intended engines.

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4718
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by Alberth » 12 Aug 2016 09:01

In the refit window, you can select a single wagon, and then select a refit. There are probably also ways to refit a range of wagons, but I never bothered to find out. It should be on the wiki with the refit description though.
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
khamseen
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 13
Joined: 12 Aug 2016 02:33

Re: NUTS!!! Let's go NUTS!!!

Post by khamseen » 12 Aug 2016 16:10

Alberth wrote:In the refit window, you can select a single wagon, and then select a refit. There are probably also ways to refit a range of wagons, but I never bothered to find out. It should be on the wiki with the refit description though.
Wow, you just rocked my world! I've been playing since the original TTD and in all these years I have never realised you can click on each of the cars individually in the refit window! Mind=Blown.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests