Japan Set Development

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Doorslammer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1037
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 11:08
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Doorslammer » 10 Jul 2017 14:44

ir1n1o57 wrote:
Erato wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:Problem with Shinkansen.

I chose don't change rail traffic at all (means Shinkansen running on the monorail) in the parameters and there is a Odakyu engine available in the monorail depot.
What happened?
This is a quirk on the coding side of things.
The Japan Set Track provides narrow gauge, standard gauge and shinkansen rails. Both the Odakyu engine and the Shinkansen are available on standard gauge. It is common practice for rail sets to override the monorail set, so the standard gauge trains (which include the shinkansen) were set to be available on monorail if nothing else was available, just so narrow gauge and standard gauge trains would be separated. However, if the Japan Set Track is available, you can in fact have monorail trains on monorails.
The side effect of this is that if you only have the Japan Set Trains and the Japan Set Trains addon, you'd get shinkansen and odakyu trains on monorail. This is normal and not a bug.

I hope this helped.
Odakyu is narrow gauge, isn't it?
As it is in the Set with the proper rails in place, yes.
Image

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 12 Jul 2017 06:21

So, in Japan set, shinkansen is using normal track, and local line (in japanese Zairai-sen) is naarrow gauge?

...and Odakyu use the same rail sprite with Shinkansen???
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

User avatar
Doorslammer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1037
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 11:08
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Doorslammer » 12 Jul 2017 16:03

ir1n1o57 wrote:So, in Japan set, shinkansen is using normal track, and local line (in japanese Zairai-sen) is naarrow gauge?

...and Odakyu use the same rail sprite with Shinkansen???
No, the Odakyu runs on narrow.
Image

User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2472
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Pyoro » 12 Jul 2017 16:07

Just curious, but are there any plans to include FIRS cargos in the town set? Like, for petrol stations and such?

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 13 Jul 2017 07:32

Doorslammer wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:So, in Japan set, shinkansen is using normal track, and local line (in japanese Zairai-sen) is naarrow gauge?

...and Odakyu use the same rail sprite with Shinkansen???
No, the Odakyu runs on narrow.

So that, what is the reason that Odakyu and Shinkansen available in the SAME Monorail depot?
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

User avatar
Doorslammer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1037
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 11:08
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Doorslammer » 13 Jul 2017 09:57

ir1n1o57 wrote:
Doorslammer wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:So, in Japan set, shinkansen is using normal track, and local line (in japanese Zairai-sen) is naarrow gauge?

...and Odakyu use the same rail sprite with Shinkansen???
No, the Odakyu runs on narrow.

So that, what is the reason that Odakyu and Shinkansen available in the SAME Monorail depot?
Because you have neglected to use the proper track set? It's rather basic stuff, tbh.
Image

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 13 Jul 2017 10:01

Am I required to always use the Japanese track Grf?
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

User avatar
Erato
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 422
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Erato » 13 Jul 2017 13:08

ir1n1o57 wrote:Am I required to always use the Japanese track Grf?
You don't have to use the Japanese track set. The tracks from the JP tracks set use the standardised naming/coding scheme, so they should be compatible with other track sets.
If you don't supply any track sets (or some required tracks are missing from the track set you're using) the Japanese Trains Newgrf will supply it's own rails.
No pics no clicks. Seriously. Also stop using Modern Maglev Trains. Use RIMS instead.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Manuestaire
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 19
Joined: 22 Mar 2012 22:47

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Manuestaire » 15 Jul 2017 18:29

Hi, I've loaded the Japan Set3:Trains into a new scenario to make some test, and I've noticed that with the default settings there's not a passenger car to add to the trains on the Shinkansen High Speed line Track, am I missing something on my side, or that vehicle doesn't exists?

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 16 Jul 2017 05:14

The parameters in Japan set are hard to understand.

Could anyone make it easier?
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3945
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by NekoMaster » 16 Jul 2017 07:13

ir1n1o57 wrote:The parameters in Japan set are hard to understand.

Could anyone make it easier?
How are they hard to undestand? IN Japan Set 3 the paramters are easily configurable with the Parameter window while setting setting up grf's

Plus each parameter should have a description of what it does
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 17 Jul 2017 04:13

NekoMaster wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:The parameters in Japan set are hard to understand.

Could anyone make it easier?
How are they hard to undestand? IN Japan Set 3 the paramters are easily configurable with the Parameter window while setting setting up grf's

Plus each parameter should have a description of what it does
These days, the newgrf parameters are really easy to understand, because there is marked what thing does that parameter do. But in Japanset, there just a window to set the parameters number, so it is so difficult to understand unless you read the japanset homepage.
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

User avatar
Erato
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 422
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Erato » 17 Jul 2017 04:55

ir1n1o57 wrote:
NekoMaster wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:The parameters in Japan set are hard to understand.

Could anyone make it easier?
How are they hard to undestand? IN Japan Set 3 the paramters are easily configurable with the Parameter window while setting setting up grf's

Plus each parameter should have a description of what it does
These days, the newgrf parameters are really easy to understand, because there is marked what thing does that parameter do. But in Japanset, there just a window to set the parameters number, so it is so difficult to understand unless you read the japanset homepage.
That sound to me like you've got the wrong version. did you download the Japan Set through the ingame content downloader? If not, try that.
No pics no clicks. Seriously. Also stop using Modern Maglev Trains. Use RIMS instead.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3945
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by NekoMaster » 17 Jul 2017 13:37

ir1n1o57 wrote:
NekoMaster wrote:
ir1n1o57 wrote:The parameters in Japan set are hard to understand.

Could anyone make it easier?
How are they hard to undestand? IN Japan Set 3 the paramters are easily configurable with the Parameter window while setting setting up grf's

Plus each parameter should have a description of what it does
These days, the newgrf parameters are really easy to understand, because there is marked what thing does that parameter do. But in Japanset, there just a window to set the parameters number, so it is so difficult to understand unless you read the japanset homepage.
You must be using the old version, Japan Set 3 has easy to use parameters that come with buttons/arrows to confirgure stuff. Japan Set 2 and older mods like it use the old way to configuring parameters.

The old way you would for each parameter add up the numbers that correspond to the settings you want for that parameter

You shouldn't have to worry about doing that kind of stuff these days as most if not all mods with parameters use the new and easy to use parameter window.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 19 Jul 2017 08:23

Set 3 isn't on the BaNaNaS.
So I downloaded Set 2.
Thank you for replying.
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4741
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Alberth » 19 Jul 2017 15:06

bananas hides content that is not compatible with your version, what version did you use for checking bananas?
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 20 Jul 2017 02:50

Alberth wrote:bananas hides content that is not compatible with your version, what version did you use for checking bananas?
The latest one, OpenTTD 1.7.1
What is the title of set 3 ?
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

User avatar
stevenh
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 759
Joined: 24 Jul 2005 05:07
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by stevenh » 20 Jul 2017 03:15

Japanese Train Set v3.3

User avatar
ir1n1o57
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Jun 2017 10:03

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by ir1n1o57 » 20 Jul 2017 03:21

stevenh wrote:Japanese Train Set v3.3
All right!
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

Franzerfaust
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 03 Aug 2017 15:08

Re: Japan Set Development

Post by Franzerfaust » 03 Aug 2017 15:12

Hello all,
I'm facing the same problem, using NewGFR Japanase Train Set v3.3 but for both version of Shinkansen available (in 1982) for both I've no passenger carts.
I've already removed and reinstalled the game for a scratch start but nothing changed.
Attached you can find the pic.
Can anyone help?
Attachments
ottd.png
ottd.png (59.64 KiB) Viewed 1707 times

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests