[OTTD]DWE SET (Station Tiles/NewObjects)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

[OTTD]DWE SET (Station Tiles/NewObjects)

Post by Dante123 » 01 Nov 2010 19:54

The StationTiles/NewObjects DWE set
----------------------------------------------------

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Part 01 - DWE-Station Tiles - Terrain
Part 02 - DWE-Station Tiles - Fences
Part 03 - DWE-NewObjects

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -




----------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Part 01 - DWE-Station Tiles - Terrain
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


PROMO VIDEO (best to view in HD, click video to open bigger size):

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Image

--> A Alpha Pre-Release version can be downloaded by clicking here <--
or trough bananas.

Current version is 0.7

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Fixes and adds for next version (0.8)

-
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

PLEASE REPORT ANY BUGS/GLITCHES IF YOU SEE THEM!


Older versions
all older version can be found here
current version here

Version history:

..-..-2010
- Version 0.2 released

18-12-2010
- Version 0.3 released
- Lots of new style coding
- did some bugfixed
- added support for ECS and FIRS industrial cargo's
- added many more sprites

27-12-2010
- Version 0.4 released
- Change name of extended industries. it supports ECS and FIRS, so current name is wrong in menu.
- Change names of some tiles. more cargo types are supported on 1 tile now.
- Critical drawing error: big white tankers have strange scaling effect. needs fixing for next version
- Added first platform tiles

29-01-2011
- Version 0.5released
- loads of new graphics introduced/added
- load of station ID's changed.
- updated some station names
- fixing some graphics.

29-01-2011
- Version 0.6 released
- (0.6 is the same as 0.5 but the upgraded min version is 0.5 because of the changed station ID's)

08-04-2011
- Fixed some misspelling errors
- Added more buffers
- Removed the 1920 introduction date, tiles can now also be used earlier
- Added caps to length/width for some station tiles
- Added some more new tiles

----------------------------------------------------
Special Thanks for all parts
Zero.Eight
RL Conroy
..
and all the other people that were so nice to help me out on these forums!
Last edited by Dante123 on 09 Apr 2011 19:21, edited 88 times in total.

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [REQ/IDEA]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 01 Nov 2010 21:35


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Part 02 - Fences
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Image
V1.2

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Current version: V1.3
Download Version 1.2


Older versions:
Download Version 1.1 - Image V1.1
Download Version 1.0 - Image V1.0a - Image V1.0b
Download Version 0.3 - Image V0.3
Download Version 0.2 - Image V0.2
Download Version 0.1 - Image V0.1


NOTE: At this point it is only available as StationTiles, this is because i dont have the knowlage yet to code it as NewObjects. Im still planning to release them as NewObjects too.
**in case you can code it as NewObjects and want to help in this project to do so, please PM me**

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Known Bugs/Errors:
- Don't upgrade NON-track tiles to mono or maglev! It will draw the sprite incorrect. Tiles with tracks work fine with upgrades.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Upcoming changes and bug fixed(V1.2):
- nothing yet

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Version history:
06-11-2010
- Version 0.1 released
- all versions of middle fences included

07-11-2010
- Version 0.2 released
- added corners for side fences
- changed names from "test" to correct names
- more things added ans a lot of small drawing tweaking

10-11-2010
-Version 0.3 released
- added more gates
- added laser fences
- changed modern gates to appear from 1965
- changed laser gates and fences to appear from 2015
- added 1 of the gates to have company colors
- fixed some small placement bugs
- fixed all names (well at least i hope i got them all right now)
- added end caps for normal fences. (still need to make them for laser fences)
- added to bananas as we speak

11-11-2010
- Version 1.0 released
- End caps for laser fences
- Half tile fence normal
- Half tile fence Laser
- some renaming of sprites

21-11-2010
- Version 1.1 released
- some major coding upgrades have been done
- added some track tiles
- fixing some small bugs

21-11-2010
- Version 1.2 released
- quick bugfix

----------------------------------------------------
Last edited by Dante123 on 12 Dec 2010 12:51, edited 1 time in total.

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [REQ/IDEA]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 01 Nov 2010 22:09


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Part 03 - DWE-NewObjects
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


--> A test Release version can be downloaded by clicking here <--
or trough bananas.

Current version is 0.1
This is a first test release.
a newer version will follow soon. check this topic more information.

-----------------------------------
A collection of several objects such as various tiles, buildings, and more.

for requests on more you can also post these in the forums
Last edited by Dante123 on 09 Apr 2011 19:19, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9289
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by planetmaker » 01 Nov 2010 22:34

Dante123 wrote: here is the first small drafting:
I think they're a bit high as they're about as high as one storey of a normal house, if not higher; otherwise it could be a way to go :-)

You won't need those fences combined in one sprite with the ground anyway, as such you could / should keep them in the transparent way as you did in your sprite. You might, though, consider to make them slightly longer - they don't seem to fill the entire length of the tile when looking at your mock-up(?) - and as such you'll get ugly gaps when putting more of them on adjacent tiles. In general you'll probably want all four orientations - | \ and / to fill their respective tile width or length and make it such that the fence posts of left side fits nicely and smoothly next (or onto) the fence post of the right side (or up and down, or whatever you're currently drawing ;-) )

Concerning coding I'd look at the VAST stations.

User avatar
Dwight_K._Schrute
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Sep 2010 11:29

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dwight_K._Schrute » 01 Nov 2010 23:22

great idea! but maybe you could code them as NewObjects? So they would not only be usable as stations...

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 02 Nov 2010 06:26

planetmaker wrote:
Dante123 wrote: here is the first small drafting:
I think they're a bit high as they're about as high as one storey of a normal house, if not higher; otherwise it could be a way to go :-)

You won't need those fences combined in one sprite with the ground anyway, as such you could / should keep them in the transparent way as you did in your sprite. You might, though, consider to make them slightly longer - they don't seem to fill the entire length of the tile when looking at your mock-up(?) - and as such you'll get ugly gaps when putting more of them on adjacent tiles. In general you'll probably want all four orientations - | \ and / to fill their respective tile width or length and make it such that the fence posts of left side fits nicely and smoothly next (or onto) the fence post of the right side (or up and down, or whatever you're currently drawing ;-) )

Concerning coding I'd look at the VAST stations.
hehe bit too high in that case :roll:
i guess i first need to dive into some tutorial.

one of the burning questions will be: can i use any color (photoshop effects) or is ottd limied to certain collors ?

@Dwight_K._Schrute
i dont know anything about coding yet, i get to that part after the drawing =)

User avatar
Lakie
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 1804
Joined: 26 May 2004 16:37
Location: Britain
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Lakie » 02 Nov 2010 16:06

You need to use colours from a specific palettes (256 defined colours), there are two common palettes, DOS and Windows.
A definition of reserved palette entries can be found here.

I'm afraid I don't have either of the palettes to hand, but I'm sure you can find them on this forum somewhere.

~ Lakie
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 02 Nov 2010 16:16

thanx,
just made a screenshot of that pallet and in photoshop i just use the pipit to extract the colors i need.

now i have 1 graphic made but now want to make it into a real grf just as a test to understand how it works.

found this one: http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... oundations
but its more ttdpatch related ? are there other tutorials on how to make the grf ? (all i have is the .pcx now)

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9289
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by planetmaker » 02 Nov 2010 16:20

If you use gimp or photoshop, palette files can be found here: http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/home/documents (among a few other, possibly useful documents)

Writing newgrfs works the same for both TTDPatch and OpenTTD, they share the same newgrf specifications. Neither implements everything, but the bulk of things is shared. You can find a number of open-source newgrfs on the DevZone (same link as above).

You could get a nightly version of grfcodec, then you don't need to deal with pcx anymore and can use png files - might be more convenient.

Maybe you also want to look at NML - it makes NewGRF coding less cryptic than writing NFO; it's a new newgrf language which is currently being developed.

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 02 Nov 2010 16:58

pffff
i get this feeling that only understanding how to make a single newgrf will take months.
i guess with all this coding crap that seems endless i will stop my try.... :x

for my heart sakes, is there not just a simple program like: i click the image i want to have in my newgrf (png/pcx) than i click the purpose (train/station/...) and i click "make"

now its like the drawing itself is like only 2% of the whole thing and 98% is non-understandible coding if you dont have a job that involves daly coding... :evil: (im just a total n00b in coding, and i dont like all that coding crap. the drawing i can learn easy and am willing to put effort in)

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9289
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by planetmaker » 02 Nov 2010 17:02

Dante123 wrote: drawing i can learn easy and am willing to put effort in)
Then do just that. Many good newgrfs are drawn by one person and coded by another.


Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 02 Nov 2010 17:09

planetmaker wrote:
Dante123 wrote: drawing i can learn easy and am willing to put effort in)
Then do just that. Many good newgrfs are drawn by one person and coded by another.
mm guess thats a good idea too.
but in that case, i only have 1 question remaining. how to i test my sprites so i can test that they are nicely fitting to eachother on adjusting tiles ?

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9289
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by planetmaker » 02 Nov 2010 17:13

Grab some ground tiles from e.g. OpenGFX or possibly this forum's background theme. Cut out your sprites and put them onto that background ans see whether you can paste them next to eachother without glicht, gap and much overlap

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 02 Nov 2010 18:02

ok, starting with the spritemaking now =)

still looking for somone that can help me code the sprites later on

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 02 Nov 2010 19:49

slowly but steady the sprites are growing (see first post)

and yet another question:

is it true that sprite 2 and 3 are able to be rotated ingame or do i need to make a seperate sprite for that ? (although i guess later on stuff like shadow should be added ad therefore it need to be separate sprite?)

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9289
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by planetmaker » 02 Nov 2010 19:55

Rotation is not possible ingame. You have to provide every orientation you want to see ingame.

Also, mind that the images as in the first posting make a nice show case. But in order to get them into the game, it's advisable to have the fences separate without the ground tile included (you'll find here many postings with sprites which are on blue background - that's the way they can be used by a newgrf programmer).

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [MY FIRST GRF - DRAFTING]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 02 Nov 2010 20:10

planetmaker wrote:Rotation is not possible ingame. You have to provide every orientation you want to see ingame.

Also, mind that the images as in the first posting make a nice show case. But in order to get them into the game, it's advisable to have the fences separate without the ground tile included (you'll find here many postings with sprites which are on blue background - that's the way they can be used by a newgrf programmer).
yea i have in photoshop separate players i can turn off/on and there is also this blue layer included :)
in the end i make a separate photoshop file for each image so when the time comes to code it it should be a peace of cake to get them all with blue backgrounds and stuff =)


any more tips/hints ? :o

Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 670
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: [CODER NEEDED]Station tiles - Fences

Post by Dante123 » 03 Nov 2010 22:17

updated in first post, click here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=911187#p911187

03-11-2010:
- Improved 01a some bit
- Drawn 01b as a sub version of 01 type.
- Updated Total image is first post.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9289
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [CODER NEEDED]Station tiles - Fences

Post by planetmaker » 03 Nov 2010 22:54

As I said earlier: In order to make your fences compatible with all kind of ground tiles (and you want that! :-) ), you should actually provide your fences on a blue background - and not drawn over existing tiles. I.e. any programmer will need graphics which show your fence alone without anything else - on a transparent blue background. See http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... oordinates - first colour entry in that palette.

But yes, your examples look like it could make for interesting tiles - even though I have to agree with what Dwight_K._Schrute mentioned above: it would IMHO make more sense to code it as NewObjects than as station tiles.

EDIT: e.g. the airport fences look as sprites like this: http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/ope ... fences.png

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: vrn and 7 guests