[BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Badger
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7041
Joined: 10 Sep 2006 19:12
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Badger »

And you should never hassle anyone for a release. Good things come to those that wait.
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15452
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Chrill »

Eddi wrote:GRF artists often step away from island stations, because the "empty" area between two tracks would be rather large, creating a bad impression (allegedly)
One way to solve that, admittedly increasing the number of sprites, would be for half a track to be placed on the edge of a tile, and the other half a track to be placed on the next tile. It would return something akin to this:

Platform | Track | Track (Graphics only, unusable) | Track | Platform | etc.

I believe it's a case of too much work for too little benefit, but then again I do not know NewGRF coding at all :P
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7327
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by kamnet »

Chrill wrote:
Eddi wrote:GRF artists often step away from island stations, because the "empty" area between two tracks would be rather large, creating a bad impression (allegedly)
One way to solve that, admittedly increasing the number of sprites, would be for half a track to be placed on the edge of a tile, and the other half a track to be placed on the next tile. It would return something akin to this:

Platform | Track | Track (Graphics only, unusable) | Track | Platform | etc.

I believe it's a case of too much work for too little benefit, but then again I do not know NewGRF coding at all :P
You can get away with that on an eyecandy NewGRF like the ISR classification yards, where you have a fake rail tile split over two tiles, but for passenger stations there's an emphasis on putting as many trains in as possible, and always having that one empty track is just going to look bad.

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5880
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by michael blunck »

kamnet wrote:
Chrill wrote:
Eddi wrote:GRF artists often step away from island stations, because the "empty" area between two tracks would be rather large, creating a bad impression (allegedly)
One way to solve that, admittedly increasing the number of sprites, would be for half a track to be placed on the edge of a tile, and the other half a track to be placed on the next tile. It would return something akin to this:

Platform | Track | Track (Graphics only, unusable) | Track | Platform | etc.

I believe it's a case of too much work for too little benefit, but then again I do not know NewGRF coding at all :P
You can get away with that on an eyecandy NewGRF like the ISR classification yards, where you have a fake rail tile split over two tiles, but for passenger stations there's an emphasis on putting as many trains in as possible, and always having that one empty track is just going to look bad.
I´ve already run experiments back in 2006 but you can´t implement it in a proper way with the rail type feature.

regards
Michael
Image

User avatar
Streckenläufer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 57
Joined: 22 Jun 2012 14:45
Location: Berlin-Germany

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Streckenläufer »

Hello,
I have solved my problem once like this:
Attachments
mittelbahnsteig3.jpg
mittelbahnsteig3.jpg (65.39 KiB) Viewed 4269 times
mittelbahnsteig.jpg
mittelbahnsteig.jpg (47.53 KiB) Viewed 4267 times
MfG Streckenläufer
OpenTTD V1.7.1, r27930 - Trafficlight - Bridge/tunnel Signals - Watertunnel - HousePlacing - SeaplaneAirport - Clipboard - Win7 64bit - MinGW/msys
!Sorry for my google English translator!

tiagox2005z
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Aug 2012 22:42
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by tiagox2005z »

good job... but.. the link to download this offline! :(

http://www.jvassie.net/BMSS/downloads.php

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7327
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by kamnet »

tiagox2005z wrote:good job... but.. the link to download this offline! :(
http://www.jvassie.net/BMSS/downloads.php
That would be because you failed to go back a page and see this:
Ameecher wrote:BMSS is still in development, don't worry, just not in a state that is able to be released yet.

Metrication
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 45
Joined: 24 Feb 2012 22:22

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Metrication »

How's this progressing? Any chance of some new screenshots?

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie »

Well, there is a closed beta of sorts that has been distributed to a few people for testing. There are a few bugs in that have been identified however, which we'll try to get fixed up.

What I'd ideally like to do is get it to a state that we can release it publicly as an initial version.

There are a few screenshots in my thread in the appropriate section on TT-Forums if you are interested.

Stay tuned! :)
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

jostor
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 48
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 19:38

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jostor »

Sounds promising, looking forward to an open beta or release version! :)

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie »

Just a small teaser, nothing particularly new here however. The 'corner' style buffers you can see, there will also be a version of these which has a wrap around canopy above, also covering the platform behind the buffer.
BMSS Teaser 1.png
BMSS Teaser 1.png (197.88 KiB) Viewed 3489 times
Another version of the same station, showing off the Glass Roof platform pieces, again with the corner style buffers possible, and the straight style platform and buffers. As you can see the glass roofs fit nicely between the canopies.
BMSS Teaser 2.png
BMSS Teaser 2.png (159.76 KiB) Viewed 3489 times
Last one for now, just a small example of a simple 'Island' style station.
BMSS Teaser 3.png
BMSS Teaser 3.png (207.43 KiB) Viewed 3489 times
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
jonnie47
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1129
Joined: 01 Feb 2006 15:24
Location: Liverpool

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jonnie47 »

very nice, i cant wait for this
Everton F.C The pride of merseyside

Metrication
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 45
Joined: 24 Feb 2012 22:22

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Metrication »

Excellent work, I look forward to the end result!

chuggles
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 26 Sep 2012 23:19

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by chuggles »

Is this set any closer to release? If not, would I be able to test one of the in dev versions?

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7327
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by kamnet »

Dave "accidentally" released an early, early, early development version of this set. http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=64472

As for THIS implementation of the set, when the author posts the info, then you'll know. Until then, no point in asking.

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie »

Sorry guys, not had the time to pick this up for ages now :( it's on my to-do list at some point, particularly now I've moved and I have more free-time, but there are other projects im actively working on right now. This will see the light of day eventually 8)
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
beeurd
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 70
Joined: 03 Dec 2005 02:30
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by beeurd »

I know this isn't happening any time soon, but I was wondering what the possibility of having the footbridge or signs and canopy edges appear in company colours?

I love.the set, even in it's current state but also, is there anything anybody could do to help with this project? I've never worked on a GRF before so don't think I would be much help mysel, lol.
Long time TT addict, long time forum lurker.
Oh, and I run a Star Wars fan site.

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie »

beeurd wrote:I know this isn't happening any time soon, but I was wondering what the possibility of having the footbridge or signs and canopy edges appear in company colours?

I love.the set, even in it's current state but also, is there anything anybody could do to help with this project? I've never worked on a GRF before so don't think I would be much help mysel, lol.
If someone were to take up the mantle of finishing up the graphics for the remaining items, it would be a grand help 8)
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
beeurd
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 70
Joined: 03 Dec 2005 02:30
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by beeurd »

I can't make any promises, but is there an up to date list of what needs doing?
Long time TT addict, long time forum lurker.
Oh, and I run a Star Wars fan site.

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie »

beeurd wrote:I can't make any promises, but is there an up to date list of what needs doing?
In all honesty, I'd probably want to re-do most of the graphics from scratch, some unfortunate mistakes in my earlier haste to work on the set has ended up with a few graphical glitches which aren't too great to look at.

There was a spreadsheet somewhere with my progress back when I last looked at this, but I'd need to try and dig it out.
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Erato, Google [Bot] and 13 guests