[BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

[BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie » 10 Aug 2010 16:00

[BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

I figured it was about time I opened up this thread, partly due to the ever increasing number of people wanting to get their hands on mph's wonderful stations.

This set is based upon the sprites drawn by mph a long while back. They have been split up, rejoined and altered in order to create the sprites from which this set is based. The way in which it (hopefully) improves upon mph's work, is it enables the user to create a vast number more possible station tile combinations, hence the term Modular in the set name.

A New Concept:

The main way in which it offers more combinations is as follows; instead of the default layout of platform either side of track, the user can now distinctly pick where the platforms go relative to the track. You may think, so what? Whats the big deal, other sets already do that! Well yes they do, but none so far as I'm aware give the option of so many track pieces in the three different forms (explained below), rather than plain old bare platform, you get the entire range, from lamps to benches, canopies to overall rooves, etc. The picture below should hopefully explain the three different forms I mentioned above.

Image

On the left you can see the original format, with platform either side of each piece of track. The two 'new' forms on the right should be self-explanatory. The way it will work is that (for example) building a piece of platform two wide and one long, will produce something similar to the bottom middle image if you choose 'Edge' and bottom right if you choose 'Island'. In the case you try to build a piece of platform of size 1*1 (ie a single tile), then choosing 'Edge' will place the platform on the top of the track, and choosing 'Island' will place the platform on the bottom of the track, as shown below:

Image

Of course not every type of platform tile can be built in a size of 1*1 (single tile), but in the case of those that can, the above will hold true.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

'Derelique'

Another cool addition to the set is the possibility of creating a station that looks identical to a working counterpart, but in fact is comprised entirely of non track tiles, meaning you can do things like add a disused bay to a station, or even 'tear up the track' from no longer used stations!

One simple example is shown below, a simple two platform station with overall roof, but guess what? The track has been lifted!

Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Outline of Possible Tiles:

The majority of the below will be buildable in any of the three forms (Both/Edge/Island), but there will be exceptions.

Key:
(B/E/I) means Both/Edge/Island (letters displayed indicates availability)
[T and/or NT] means Track or Non-Track

Buffers (B/E/I) [T]
Buffers with Canopy (B/E/I) [T]
Buffers with Covered Roof (B/E/I) [T]
Buffers with Canopy (B/E/I) [T]
Buffers (B/E/I) [NT]
Buffers with Canopy (B/E/I) [NT]
Buffers with Covered Roof (B/E/I) [NT]
Buffers with Canopy (B/E/I) [NT]

Platform Ends (B/E/I) [T]
Platform Ends w/ Aspect Signal (B/E/I) [T]
Platform Ends (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform Ends w/ Aspect Signal (B/E/I) [NT]
Large Platform Ends [NT]

Plain Platform (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Benches (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Lamps (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Benches & Lamps (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Waiting Room (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Flora (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Station Sign (B/E/I) [T]
Plain Platform (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Benches (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Lamps (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Benches & Lamps (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Waiting Room (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Flora (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Station Sign (B/E/I) [NT]

Platform with Canopy (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Canopy and Benches (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Covered Roof (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Overall Roof (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Canopy (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Canopy and Benches (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Covered Roof (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Overall Roof (B/E/I) [NT]

Platform with Footbridge (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Overpass (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Station Concourse Above (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Underpass (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Underpass and Canopy (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Underpass and Roof (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Lift (B/E/I) [T]
Platform with Footbridge (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Overpass (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Station Concourse Above (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Underpass (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Underpass and Canopy (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Underpass and Roof (B/E/I) [NT]
Platform with Lift (B/E/I) [NT]

There will also be an accompanying number of tiles which have benches/lamps/etc on a full platform tile, [NT] of course.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Current Status:

Drawing: 85% complete
Coding: 0% complete

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Looking For:

- A Coder who would be willing to code the entire set.
- Feedback on current idea
- Expansion ideas

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Website:

British Modular Stations Set Website

Please bare in mind, the website is far from finished, and the images displayed on the website arent all correct, treat them with a pinch of salt please.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Screenshots:

These were taken by Ameecher who has helped a lot with ideas, feedback and keeping me entertained! :P

Image
2 track terminus station with central platform and canopy.

Image
2 track station with enlarged central platform and covered roof (sans glass).

More will appear as they are taken.
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
Doorslammer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1037
Joined: 16 Oct 2007 11:08
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Doorslammer » 10 Aug 2010 16:24

*dies in amazement* :shock:
Image

User avatar
Chris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 05 Oct 2009 16:36
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Chris » 10 Aug 2010 17:03

This looks even more amazing than I had even hoped.
Screenshots

Formerly Class 165

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by FooBar » 10 Aug 2010 17:14

This is somewhat along the lines of a station set I eventually want to create for myself. This is looking very promising!

I also might eventually be willing to code this set, if no other coder has shown interest by the time I have time to commence a new project. Please don't ask when that will be though, as I don't know either. As soon as I have time, I will check if a coder has been found already and if not I will announce myself :D

User avatar
Irwe
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 762
Joined: 25 May 2007 16:31
Location: Sweden

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Irwe » 10 Aug 2010 17:16

This looks very promising :D
Swedish Houses Version 1.1 Released
Swedish Road Vehicles Work in Progress

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9282
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by planetmaker » 10 Aug 2010 17:20

I can only concur with what others say: it looks quite promising and amazing.

User avatar
Badger
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7032
Joined: 10 Sep 2006 19:12
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Badger » 10 Aug 2010 17:26

I'm looking forward to this, it all looks very promising.
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2365
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Lord Aro » 10 Aug 2010 17:34

*Also dies in amazment, then spontaneously combusts*
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

User avatar
SAC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1519
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 16:35
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by SAC » 10 Aug 2010 17:58

Wonderful work... :mrgreen: Another thread to watch closely... :]
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by FooBar » 10 Aug 2010 18:47

Warning: striking resemblence :D

This is what I drew up a couple of years ago for my own set:
station.png
The platform is drawn by Zephyris. The roof is drawn by FooBar.
License for this image: GPL v2.
station.png (1.66 KiB) Viewed 19852 times
This is what I find today drawn for this set:
Image

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie » 10 Aug 2010 19:01

Thank you all for your kind words :)

If you have any suggestion for station tiles to include, please let me know.

Nice one FooBar!!
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by FooBar » 10 Aug 2010 19:12

Thanks!

Perhaps I should dig up the paper sketches I drew, of all different kinds of station roofings.
Can't remember where I put them though :(

But the basic suggestion is to include some different designs of large roofs, both classic and modern.

User avatar
Gremnon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1517
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 12:23
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Gremnon » 10 Aug 2010 21:04

I'm guessing what's in those pics are either mockups, or the signals are a part of the station - if not, how on earth were signals placed on the same tile as the station?

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by SwissFan91 » 10 Aug 2010 22:01

Please, for the love of god, someone code this.
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
SamMacca
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 260
Joined: 10 Jun 2009 13:27
Location: Sheffield, SY.. Ing-er-land.

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by SamMacca » 10 Aug 2010 23:02

Thought I'd reply on here rather than in a PM. The set looks awesome, would love to see some more shots 8)

Also, on that first screenshot.. theres a signal in the platform.. how?!
ImageImageImage

James Hetfield.. God..

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by jvassie » 10 Aug 2010 23:21

No real secret, the signals are eye candy. In OTTD you dont need those signals for the junction to function as it should, as stations have an inbuilt 'signal' that works the same way to the best of my knowledge.
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2656
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by ChillCore » 10 Aug 2010 23:50

jvassie wrote: ... stations have an inbuilt 'signal'stations have an inbuilt 'signal' ...
That was my assumption also until proven wrong: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 5&start=13


This set looks quite promising indeed as some have already mentioned. Looking forward to toying around with these station tiles.
I am still looking for a few more sets to fill up my 64 station grf slots ... :mrgreen:
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.

User avatar
Gord
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 775
Joined: 15 Aug 2007 10:14
Location: Upper Gornal, Dudley

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Gord » 11 Aug 2010 01:10

I also can't wait for this set.

I love the idea of eye-candy signals on the end of platforms....there's so much potential graphics wise. Nothing stopping you having them like a station overpass so that the signals are on gantries....or all kinds of different signal graphics. Maybe a great big cluster of semiphores like at Worcester Shrub Hill!

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11908
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Ameecher » 11 Aug 2010 03:02

Ha, finally he creates the thread.

The idea for the signals on platforms is that they get used for terminus stations where you don't actually need signals for the station to operate effectively as long as you have PBS. You can even use PBS reservations to make the signal go green when the train is running through the signal. However, this clearly wouldn't work for through stations otherwise you'd end up with tracks reserved while the train is waiting which isn't exactly ideal.

Still, glad you posted this James, you've been doing eff all with it for 5 months, time to get it going again boy!
Image

User avatar
Nite Owl
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1889
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 19:32
Location: In The Dark

Re: [BMSS] British Modular Stations Set

Post by Nite Owl » 11 Aug 2010 06:22

Very nice looking stuff with some great concepts. I will be looking forward to seeing the work as it progresses. Will this set contain any station buildings? I did notice one station building I had not seen before in one of your screenshots which is what piqued my curiosity. It seems I never have enough station buildings to put a unique one in each town. Thank you for your efforts.
Humor is the second most subjective thing on the planet
------------------------------------------------------------
Brevity is the soul of wit and obscenity is its downfall
--------------------------------------------------------
Good Night And Good Luck - Read You Soon

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests