Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:50 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 5:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 48
Status:
Alpha 1, barely usable.
Release: in this post

Updated Sunday May 30th

In the NuTracks thread I've asked about the technical possibilities for replacing the tunnel entrance graphics only for a specific rail type (third rail metro tracks). This is as of yet impossible, but it looks like it may become possible in the nearish future. The reason is a concept I'm working on:

Subway stations cleverly disguised as parks

Presently, if you want to use down-town metro lines without sacrificing too many houses, you might end with something like this:

Attachment:
File comment: Present method of building pseudo-subway lines
subs.png
subs.png [ 60.75 KiB | Viewed 9897 times ]


Thanks to the signals in tunnels patch, it is already possible to skip the signals around the platforms, and with the NuTracks and 2CC trainset, a metro line can easily carry respectable amounts of passengers, even with platforms at a length of 2 tiles. So what if we had a NewGRF for subway stations that could make the 4 by 2 tiles needed for such a down-town station look like parks?

Attachment:
File comment: Mock-up of park/subway stations
subs2.png
subs2.png [ 22.41 KiB | Viewed 9897 times ]


I've never made a NewGRF before, so I have started experimenting a bit:

Attachment:
File comment: A first foray into NewGRF coding
parktest.png
parktest.png [ 18.67 KiB | Viewed 9897 times ]


As you can see, I'm doing something wrong here. The roofs don't obscure the whole train, only a bit of it. Any idea what is going wrong here? This is my pre-NFORenum NFO:

Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 7)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
1 * 10  00 00 00 00
1 * 10  08 07 "FN01" // GRF_ID
        "Subway park stations" 00 // Name
        "Subway stations in the form of parks above ground" 0D // Description
        "by Freak_NL" 00 // Author
1 * 10   01 04 01 04
1 sprites/platforms.pcx   1   7  09 23 42  -9  -3        // ID 42D platform NE
1 sprites/platforms.pcx  113  38 09 39 64 -31  -8        // ID 42E platform + roof SW
1 sprites/platforms.pcx  91   7  09 23 42 -31  -3        // ID 42F platform NW
1 sprites/platforms.pcx  46   38 09 39 64 -31  -8        // ID 430 platform + roof SE
1 * 10  00 04 02 01 01 // Changing 2 properties for 1 station
        08 "PRKP" // Put the station in "Park platforms"
        09 02 // Tile layout, 2 different tiles
        // tiletype   bounding box        sprite id     bounding box        sprite id
        F4 03 00 00   00 00 00 10 05 03   2F 04 00 00   00 00 00 10 10 08   30 04 00 00   80
        F3 03 00 00   00 00 00 05 10 03   2D 04 00 00   00 00 00 10 10 08   2E 04 00 00   80
1 * 10  02 04 00 00 01 00 00
1 * 10  03 04 01 01 00 00 00
1 * 10  04 48 FF 01 01 C5 "Park platform" 00
1 * 10  04 48 FF 01 01 C4 "Subway park platforms" 00


Questions about the NFO:

I've looked at a number of other NewGRFs and the tutorial for inspiration, but some parts I don't quite understand.

  • Action0's tiletype (F4 03 00 00), that seems to work, but what does it refer to?
  • Do I need multiple sprites to make a closed "roof" (park) as outlined above?

NewGRF and graphics attached to the next post.


Last edited by Freak_NL on Sun May 30, 2010 12:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 5:36 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 48
This is the resulting NewGRF and its graphics. Don't mind the colours, this is just a test to see if I could manage writing the NFO file and align the graphics properly.


Attachments:
platforms.pcx [5.41 KiB]
Downloaded 303 times
subwaypark.grf [1.6 KiB]
Downloaded 313 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 5:50 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:01 pm
Posts: 414
That's a very nice idea.

I see one problem though: How are you going to cover the tunnel entrances?
But even so, if you just ignore that for now, a solution might come along some time in the future (when the new railtypes feature is improved with respect to tunnels).

Freak_NL wrote:
As you can see, I'm doing something wrong here. The roofs don't obscure the whole train, only a bit of it. Any idea what is going wrong here?

I guess the problem is with the bounding boxes. You have put the z-size to 3, which is too low.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 5:55 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 48
The tunnel problem may solve itself in the future, and in the mean time, at least the station tiles can be made to look like parks.

Is it possible to visually make it look like the "roof" is level with the surrounding streets (one level higher) like in the mock-up? I think I've got them at 8 and the rear platforms at 3.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 5:59 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:01 pm
Posts: 414
Freak_NL wrote:
Is it possible to visually make it look like the "roof" is level with the surrounding streets (one level higher) like in the mock-up? I think I've got them at 8 and the rear platforms at 3.

Yes, that should be possible if you draw it correctly. Take a look at the "Gare centrale" in the Canadian Stations set.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 6:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:08 am
Posts: 1037
Location: Perth, Western Australia
dandan wrote:
I see one problem though: How are you going to cover the tunnel entrances?


I assume a possible solution has already presented itself in the modular depot thread.

Great ideas here, "cut and cover" construction of underground lines is definitely something to pursue as a temporary solution to true underground construction.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 7:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
what about other buildings as well, for example all TTRS buildings and such? And yes, i've had the idea once, but never got around it.

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 9:40 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 48
dandan wrote:
Yes, that should be possible if you draw it correctly. Take a look at the "Gare centrale" in the Canadian Stations set.


I see that Gare Centrale does what I want, but the Canadian Stations NewGRF is huge! There are way too many entries in that NFO to see how they approached that Action0/09 bit.. :(


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 10:16 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 48
Got it. The yrel is now set to -1 and the boundingbox zofs is set to 07. Now trains appear to pass under the roof tile.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 5:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
Here is what i've been fiddeling with the last couple of hours :) And that isnt stations :)


Attachments:
subways.png [447.49 KiB]
Downloaded 5 times

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 5:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1031
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
Is this a caternary type? could be very attractive if set to use sprites randomly from a set!

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 5:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
bingo. That is the plan :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 5:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 7016
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
That would be very clever.

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 5:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
That is unfortuneatly all i have for today, got a gig at midnight, and got a party with some other DJs i need to attend, but i have quite some ideas in my head, and i think it might turn out quite good :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 6:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7230
theoretically, you can have pseudo-random bits on rail tiles [in openttd], but i'm not sure if you can use that for catenary.

other than that, catenary consists of two sprites, plus patchwork near corners or tunnels

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 2:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
eddi:

i know ... i've done some semi-extensive testing on most of the needed sprites, and i got a fairly good idea for what is needed, and my plan were to do more tomorrow and see how it turns out.
And as there are 3 different streight forward (/ and \) sprites (mainly 2 tho), and with 4 or 8 different sets on thoose two, it should be QUITE random :) My only concern is the crossings,but lets see how it turn out.

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 5:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 48
Looks promising Nekkid!

Thanks to the train shed ideas of supermop I too have some progress:

Attachment:
subs3.png
subs3.png [ 82.39 KiB | Viewed 9433 times ]


Apparantly you can cover the tunnel entrances with station graphics if the station tiles are adjacent to them. This works without glitches (as far as I can see) at least for the NW and NE station ends. The SW and SE ends are next on the agenda.

Tile 5 is drawn with a small brick wall that camouflages the small edge you see on the NE side of that road because it is built on a slope. The brick wall uses the same colours, so it looks natural. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 5:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
What about special station tile for placing on A, B covering A, B, C, D? In the same way as modular train sheds.


Attachments:
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG [ 29.85 KiB | Viewed 9429 times ]

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 5:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:56 pm
Posts: 48
My thoughts exactly. If covering them from tile 5 and 6 won't work, then using those tiles is probably the best option. It would make a subway station for a medium sized city 2×5 tiles (tunnel, platform, platform, tunnel, tunnel-cover). Basically, platform length plus 3 as long as you use a patch or patchpack with the signals in tunnels functionality so you don't need to end your platforms with signals.

Quote:
Przechwytywanie.PNG

What's a przechwytywanie? :?

Edit
Yeah, that didn't work, as expected. I'm going with your suggestion Kogut. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 5:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
Default name for screenshot produced from default screenshot tool for windows 7.
Can be translated (from Polish) as capturing.

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.