[OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6711
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by kamnet » 10 May 2017 21:03

SkullKrixzz wrote:probably a stupid question but do i have to use the NuTracks crossing signals? i dont really like how they look at all and would much rather have the ones that are included in my current road set to show....is that even possible?
Try loading your road set after NuTracks.

SkullKrixzz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 25
Joined: 31 Oct 2014 18:24
Location: London, Ontario

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by SkullKrixzz » 11 May 2017 00:14

Try loading your road set after NuTracks.[/quote]

i have tried, and it doesnt change anything really...

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3942
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by NekoMaster » 11 Jul 2017 07:03

So who do I ask for permission regarding the use of the track graphics and code in my own Track Set?

I sort of re-coded NuTracks to make a North American Track Set that I intend to with time make the North American Track Set look as much like North American Railroads as Possible, with the rail crossings, signals, and depot graphics.

Two changes I made with the North American Track Set is the ability to change the dates of everything, as well as being able to have all the rail speeds available with either two un-electrified narrow gauge railtypes, or low speed NG rail and a combined Maglev/Monorail track.

Though for now as I just figured out how to code this stuff, I'm using the NuTracks graphics as a place holder.

I can't release anything until I have permission.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6711
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by kamnet » 11 Jul 2017 20:11

NekoMaster wrote:So who do I ask for permission regarding the use of the track graphics and code in my own Track Set?
The entire set is covered by GNU Public License. All you need to do is abide by the terms of the license (license.txt).

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3942
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by NekoMaster » 12 Jul 2017 01:32

kamnet wrote:
NekoMaster wrote:So who do I ask for permission regarding the use of the track graphics and code in my own Track Set?
The entire set is covered by GNU Public License. All you need to do is abide by the terms of the license (license.txt).
I just assumed that even if stuff is GNU I still need permission from the coder/artist of stuff to be on peoples good sides around here.

I do my best to have the code and materials available for people to use, as I can just link them to the project folder in my Dropbox.
Plus I make sure to give everyone credit where due.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
supermop
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1043
Joined: 21 Feb 2010 00:15
Location: Fitzroy North - 96

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by supermop » 12 Jul 2017 03:21

NekoMaster wrote:
kamnet wrote:
NekoMaster wrote:So who do I ask for permission regarding the use of the track graphics and code in my own Track Set?
The entire set is covered by GNU Public License. All you need to do is abide by the terms of the license (license.txt).
I just assumed that even if stuff is GNU I still need permission from the coder/artist of stuff to be on peoples good sides around here.

I do my best to have the code and materials available for people to use, as I can just link them to the project folder in my Dropbox.
Plus I make sure to give everyone credit where due.
I find it is easy to just zip your sprites, nml, etc at time of release and post it to the forum (or wherever) along with the .grf whenever you make a 'release'. If you are not going to use some infrastructure like devzone, that is a simple way to be helpful to others and ensure you are legally in the clear.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6711
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by kamnet » 12 Jul 2017 03:35

NekoMaster wrote:I just assumed that even if stuff is GNU I still need permission from the coder/artist of stuff to be on peoples good sides around here.
It's polite, neighborly, and makes for good politics. But the entire point of GPL is to have code released so that others can immediately use it without having to obtain individual permission. And I've never seen anybody get upset when GPL code is adapted without asking permission. Well, I take it back, I think I saw it once, and that was because the original author of the code had no idea how GPL actually worked. :D

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 622
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by SimYouLater » 12 Jul 2017 03:56

kamnet wrote:
NekoMaster wrote:I just assumed that even if stuff is GNU I still need permission from the coder/artist of stuff to be on peoples good sides around here.
It's polite, neighborly, and makes for good politics. But the entire point of GPL is to have code released so that others can immediately use it without having to obtain individual permission. And I've never seen anybody get upset when GPL code is adapted without asking permission. Well, I take it back, I think I saw it once, and that was because the original author of the code had no idea how GPL actually worked. :D
Strange, that doesn't sound quite like the issue around you-know-who and the everyone-knows-which graphics collection... Similar, but wasn't that originally over some petty GRF ID thing?

Out of curiosity, who was it that was stup careless enough to not read up on the license they used? Even I didn't dare publish FicTownNames without knowing how to avoid the disaster that befell finescale nutracks, and tbh I still hate licenses; I just haven't brought my opinion on them up in a while (the discussion from a couple months back on said person above being more specifically about "The Un-GPL-ening").

There's failing to follow your own license and then there's sabotaging the purpose of your license, but honestly I haven't come across any past discussions on someone not even asking what a simple rundown of a license is and expecting GPL to require permission and credit. No need for names, but which NewGRF was it?
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3003
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by GarryG » 27 Oct 2017 23:18

Hi DJ Nekkid and those involved in making NuTracks.

I know your project is GPL 2, but I still like to ask your your permission to use your NuTracks and see if I can make a AuzTrack set from them.

I been experimenting with some ideas and looking at the idea of wide ballast.
Wide Ballast.png
Wide Ballast.png (258.04 KiB) Viewed 1675 times
They work good except for bridges and tunnels .. hence I making 2 sets of each type of track.

One set will have the wide ballast and other set will not have the wide ballast.

Reason 2 sets as I not sure if can turn off the underlay of the tracks for crossing bridges and entering tunnels.

I looking at 3 types of tracks .. Sidings, branch lines and main lines. The one in imagine is Sidings .. hence the rusty look .. speed 40 km/ph. I have done both with and without wide ballast for this set, but I don't think I really need the set for bridges and tunnels.

The branch lines and main lines will have both sets.

If you like to test the Sidings what I done so far here the GRF file.

Cheers all
Attachments
AuzTracks.grf
(518.93 KiB) Downloaded 219 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Shadow86
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Oct 2018 23:07

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by Shadow86 » 07 Oct 2018 16:10

Did NuTracks finally remove metro tracks?

I had been reading around trying to find out why the combination of 2cc TrainsInNML 3.0 alpha-2 and NuTracks 2 r247 (loaded in that order) wasn't producing metro tracks on its own. 2cc has metro trains running on monorail tracks if it can't find suitable metro tracks, and for some reason NuTracks 2 wasn't providing them. Is that intended?

I've had to add Metro Tracks Set 2.1.2 to my NewGRF preset to supplement that functionality, but it's too late for my current ongoing game, isn't it? Not sure if it's possible enable it mid-game without unpredictable consequences.

EDIT: Tangential question: is it possible to have NuTracks with default, company-coloured fences? I'm not sure why it was decided they should be plain (and nigh-invisible).

vrn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 63
Joined: 07 Mar 2018 17:00

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by vrn » 07 Oct 2018 17:23

Shadow86 wrote:Did NuTracks finally remove metro tracks?

I had been reading around trying to find out why the combination of 2cc TrainsInNML 3.0 alpha-2 and NuTracks 2 r247 (loaded in that order) wasn't producing metro tracks on its own. 2cc has metro trains running on monorail tracks if it can't find suitable metro tracks, and for some reason NuTracks 2 wasn't providing them. Is that intended?
NuTracks has 3rd rail tracks, which need to be enabled by going into the parameters of NuTracks and enabling 'force 3rd-rail low speed tracks' and/or 'force 3rd-rail medium speed tracks'. Additionally, NuTracks needs to be loaded before 2ccTrainsInNML, otherwise Metros will still run on monorail. (Atleast thats how I got it to work properly)
I've had to add Metro Tracks Set 2.1.2 to my NewGRF preset to supplement that functionality, but it's too late for my current ongoing game, isn't it? Not sure if it's possible enable it mid-game without unpredictable consequences.
You can go into openttd.cfg and enable 'newgrf_developer_tools' to be able to add NewGRFs to running games, but I guess adding railtypes mid-game might indeed end up badly.

Shadow86
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 06 Oct 2018 23:07

Re: [OpenTTD] NuTracks - Dev Thread

Post by Shadow86 » 08 Oct 2018 02:52

That was it. I didn't equate metro to third rail, so the setting's name slipped by.

Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests