UK Towns Set [v3.0 - 'ExtraZoom' in development]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

UK Towns Set [v3.0 - 'ExtraZoom' in development]

Post by Zephyris » 03 Nov 2009 00:34

Find the release thread here...

Hi all!

So I finally scraped together all the sprites I produced a year and a half ago to make a UK town building set, and now I am looking for a coder! There are:
16 houses, each with their own gardens.
8 terraced houses in 4 orientations, with 4 "universal" gardens.
8 terraced shops in 4 orientations with company colour shop fronts.
16 offices in two orientations.
All have three construction stages and above-snow-line graphics for the completed building. The sprites were drawn in 32bpp and converted to 8bpp, so will need palconverting! As these were all produced in 32bpp if there is interest a full set of 32bpp graphics for OpenTTD could also be made...

I am looking for these to be coded in a similar style to the North American city set, simple but effective! I envisage the following zoning:
0: Houses only
1: Houses and terraced houses
2: Terraced houses and terraced shops
3: Terraced shops and offices
4: Offices only

There may (in the future) be some special buildings/skyscrapers for zone 4, but for now keep it simple! I will probably also produce/adapt some other specialised buildings - churches, petrol stations, tourist attractions, etc. in time.

So with no further ado here are the sprites.... (8bpp only for now)
Attachments
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Houses_8bpp.png
(33.69 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Houses_Ground_8bpp.png
(46.6 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Last edited by Zephyris on 03 Jan 2018 11:08, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set

Post by Zephyris » 03 Nov 2009 00:35

Terraced houses:
Attachments
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_TerracedHouses_8bpp.png
(99.19 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_TerracedHouses_Ground_8bpp.png
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_TerracedHouses_Ground_8bpp.png (39.66 KiB) Viewed 31950 times

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set

Post by Zephyris » 03 Nov 2009 00:35

Shops and offices:
Attachments
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Shops_8bpp.png
(174.83 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Shops_Ground_8bpp.png
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Shops_Ground_8bpp.png (1.36 KiB) Viewed 31950 times
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Offices_8bpp.png
(268.12 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

buttercup
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 131
Joined: 22 Jan 2007 20:19

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by buttercup » 03 Nov 2009 19:32

Well, I've made a start with the coding. If you'd prefer someone more competent just let me know :P

I'm not sure how advanced you intend this set to be; presumably you want the buildings to face the road, which shouldn't be too much of a problem.

One thing I noticed with the house sprites though: the positions of the houses in each of their different forms (construction stages and snow version) aren't consistent. This isn't a problem in itself but the black outline on the corresponding ground sprite is also inconsistent between the normal and snow versions (the black outline on the snow version is one pixel higher than it should be). I hope that makes sense.

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by Zephyris » 03 Nov 2009 23:11

If you'd prefer someone more competent ...
I'm sure you'll be fine!
... presumably you want the buildings to face the road ...
Yes please :) This is vital for the terraced houses and shops. I drew the office graphics with both rotations, but tbh I don't think these need road-sensitive orientation.
... the black outline on the snow version is one pixel higher than it should be ...
Oops! I'll have a poke, this should be very easy to fix!
*edit* Hmmm, I think the problem is more complicated than just one px shift on the snow graphics... This may take slightly longer!
Last edited by Zephyris on 03 Nov 2009 23:17, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by XeryusTC » 03 Nov 2009 23:14

Maybe you should do a 32bpp version of this and start a hand drawn 32bpp replacement set. These graphics are quite beautiful although I don't think they'll fit the original graphics that well. Still very beautiful indeed :)
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by Zephyris » 03 Nov 2009 23:46

Attached are the corrected house sprites, hopefully these are right but I confused myself a bit when making them so there might still be problems!
... although I don't think they'll fit the original graphics that well.
That would be because they perfectly match OpenGFX :)
... 32bpp replacement set.
This could be done, to a large extent, already as most of OpenGFX has been drawn in 32bpp and converted. Unfortunately the difference is small, at least for highly textured objects like brick buildings and CC objects... Tbh I don't think it is worth the effort but given, at least for this set, all the 32bpp graphics are perfectly ready it may be worthwhile.
Attachments
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Houses_8bpp.png
(32.11 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_Houses_Ground_8bpp.png
(44.05 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

audigex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1923
Joined: 09 Dec 2007 21:28
Contact:

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by audigex » 04 Nov 2009 00:12

I think that if you've got the 32bpp version available, there's little point in keeping it to yourself. If you post them, others can put them into whatever projects are most apt and the community gets most benefit from them.

The only reason to do 8bpp graphics solely anymore is when they're being drawn natively as 8bpp :-)
Jon

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by Zephyris » 04 Nov 2009 08:33

And 32 bpp...

Planetmaker suggested setting up a repo at the devzone and setting up a modular coding style, I think this is a good idea, so buttercup could you have a think about helping with this?
Attachments
32bpp.zip
(2.14 MiB) Downloaded 620 times

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9311
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by planetmaker » 04 Nov 2009 08:44

I setup a dummy repo at the DevZone which is configured to become this set. The only thing still missing is basically the NFO and the converted PCX sprites. I added Zephyris and myself as managers, I couldn't do so (yet) with buttercup, as he isn't yet registered :-)

http://dev.openttdcoop.org/hg/ukhouses

Playing around with it, I found templating the action1 is difficult due to the layout of the sprites.
But that's not a general problem (and could possibly be fixed in future by moving the sprites to a uniform graphics template (e.g. a graphics file with exactly the same x and y coordinates for all houses, each house within a separate PCX file) - and even if not, we can always re-use the action 23 chain code even already now.

For a start, of course we could start completely without templates - we can always introduce them later on. Maybe it's even sensible as we then have a better overview of which code structures are repetitive.

buttercup
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 131
Joined: 22 Jan 2007 20:19

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by buttercup » 04 Nov 2009 19:29

All done!
ukts.png
ukts.png (173.86 KiB) Viewed 31679 times
ukts.grf
(1.34 MiB) Downloaded 615 times
The population and mail generation stats might need a bit of adjusting, but this doesn't affect playability too much.

User avatar
cmoiromain
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 655
Joined: 15 Jan 2007 21:45
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by cmoiromain » 04 Nov 2009 20:39

Impressive! :bow:
I am little, ugly, and nasty. How do you do?

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set [Coder Needed]

Post by Zephyris » 04 Nov 2009 20:49

Wow! That was fast :)

A few thoughts:
I wish there were more town zones! You hardly see any of the terraced buildings... Maybe the zoning should be:
0: Houses
1: Terraced houses
2: Terraced houses and shops
3: Terraced shops and offices
4: Terraced shops and more offices

I don't think the original buildings generally fit that well... Perhaps disable all but the "special" ones; parks, statues, fountains and things like that...

I think the bounding boxes on the office buildings are taller than they need to be; could this cause problems?

Do you think it would be worth making climate specific grass for the buildings? How easy would it be to code?

The shops have a company colour shop-front (or should do, unless they got palconverted out!), could you code those to use random colours?

buttercup
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 131
Joined: 22 Jan 2007 20:19

Re: UK Towns Set [Coding in Progress!]

Post by buttercup » 05 Nov 2009 14:57

Zephyris wrote:A few thoughts:
I wish there were more town zones! You hardly see any of the terraced buildings... Maybe the zoning should be:
0: Houses
1: Terraced houses
2: Terraced houses and shops
3: Terraced shops and offices
4: Terraced shops and more offices
Yep, that's not a problem. I can also increase the relative probability of the terraced buildings if you want.
Zephyris wrote:I don't think the original buildings generally fit that well... Perhaps disable all but the "special" ones; parks, statues, fountains and things like that...
OK. If you want to select which buildings you want disabled from here, I'll do that. (The ID is all I need.)
Zephyris wrote:I think the bounding boxes on the office buildings are taller than they need to be; could this cause problems?
Don't know if it would cause problems, but I've reduced them anyway.
Zephyris wrote:Do you think it would be worth making climate specific grass for the buildings? How easy would it be to code?
If you don't mind drawing them, I don't mind putting them in.
Zephyris wrote:The shops have a company colour shop-front (or should do, unless they got palconverted out!), could you code those to use random colours?
Whoops! I forgot about that. Fixed. (There are 16 colours to choose from, and each of the 8 shops can use 4, so each colour can appear on 2 different buildings.)

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set [Coding in Progress!]

Post by Zephyris » 05 Nov 2009 16:29

Cool, I'll get working on the alternative grass ground tiles, should be nice and quick when I get home from the lab...

As for original buildings to keep I think remove them all except 09h 0Ah 0Bh and 0Ch (those are the statue, fountain and parks). I will work on some new buildings; I think I'll want churches, stadia, warehouses/light industry and some special buildings - these should add some variety...

User avatar
OzTrans
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1510
Joined: 04 Mar 2005 01:07

Re: UK Towns Set [Coding in Progress!]

Post by OzTrans » 06 Nov 2009 00:30

...
Last edited by OzTrans on 04 Feb 2012 00:59, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
cmoiromain
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 655
Joined: 15 Jan 2007 21:45
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: UK Towns Set [Coding in Progress!]

Post by cmoiromain » 07 Nov 2009 14:56

I have a little suggestion for the set:

How about replacing the HQ with some real UK buildings? For example, it would be fun having the Gherkin as the last HQ (although I don't know how the scale would fit...)
If you are interzested, I have a *very basic* start of the building, but it's only drawn on a single tile. And it's very primitive, but the shap is correct IMO
I am little, ugly, and nasty. How do you do?

Coxx
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 328
Joined: 19 Mar 2007 19:12

Re: UK Towns Set [Coding in Progress!]

Post by Coxx » 10 Nov 2009 07:45

How lovely!

Is it planed to have a some restrictions of growth like Early houses?

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set [Coding in Progress!]

Post by Zephyris » 13 Nov 2009 09:34

Apologies for the slow progress, this last week has been very busy! My plans for the final special buildings are:
Churches (a couple of countryside and a couple of town variants)
Petrol stations (for industry grf compatibility)
Stadia (a big and a small, like the original graphics but more in-keeping with this set)
Landmarks (a school, hospital, museum, univerisy college and town hall, probably victorian gothic revival ala http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alfred_Waterhouse )

I will also do the terrains for the different climates...

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: UK Towns Set [Coding in Progress!]

Post by Zephyris » 17 Nov 2009 18:47

Some ground tiles... Tropic and arctic for the terraced houses.
Attachments
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_TerracedHouses_Ground_Arctic_8bpp.png
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_TerracedHouses_Ground_Arctic_8bpp.png (39.89 KiB) Viewed 30923 times
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_TerracedHouses_Ground_Tropic_8bpp.png
FINAL_UK_Towns_Set_-_TerracedHouses_Ground_Tropic_8bpp.png (39.14 KiB) Viewed 30923 times

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests