Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations Set [WIP]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 18 Mar 2012 22:38

andythenorth wrote:The views for Lisalmi have the wrong shading for the roof ;) The front face should be light, the rear face darker (light source in game is at about 5 o'clock, high).

Nice stations :)
First of all, that is Iisalmi, not Lisalmi. Second, i think that shading on those is not so much important in those sprites, that it would need to be corrected :P User is already hypnotized by quality of those stations, that it doesn't matter..

... Just joking about last :D

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 20 Mar 2012 18:57

Double post. I've now linked very much source material of my own to the tracking tables. http://users.tt-forums.net/finnish/friss.html

Later i'll link platform types also. EDIT: Linked some of them.

For example, Kajaani, Siilinjärvi and Runni station buildings and Suontee halt platform, Iisalmi freight terminal building and freight platforms, also loading/unloading facilities, Peltosalmi rail crane and overhead substations and overhead intermediate switch stations do need someone to draw them. I'm currently very busy with other things, so i can't do pretty much else than providing sources and other info, and do management to FRISS and Finnish Trainset (and little drawing and templating).

EDIT2: Still... Here's templated platformskjul type III:

EDIT3: Here's two types of equipment containers, all base-tiled:
Attachments
Platformskjul_III_1.PNG
Platformskjul_III_1.PNG (413.15 KiB) Viewed 3706 times
Eq_containers-1970.png
(39.15 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Eq_containers-1990.png
(37.9 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Last edited by kyosuke1989 on 25 Mar 2012 15:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 24 Mar 2012 21:29

Triple post (sorry again..), but now Pieksämäki CTC tower has bases too:

I think that as in Iisalmi and Kokkola stations, asphalt and gravel base tiles are enough for this tower's base. IMHO these are better than it's original base. :)

EDIT: Equipment cabins (3 types) done, every base type (5 bases) with each five (one exception has six) options of placement.. Total 80 tiles :D Have a graphic candy for your railyard and signals, and level crossings. I think that when equipment containers and these are coded, railset and roadset-integrated level crossing containers can be removed, since then, player can choose any type from available ones if (s)he wants.

EDIT2: I'm currently working on base tiles extended to templates (1x1 to 3x3), and sand base needs to be redone from it's borders, because it gives irritating grid. All others are working quite nicely. Grass has little borders too, but they aren't not so irritating, so it's not so bad. Also, some grass tiles had 1 px cut off by accident of their right side-> Done. I'll work all these issues out.

EDIT3: Is this piece of sand ok, does it fit to TTD-Windows palettes? I'm not entirely sure about that, because i edited this with Gimp and had TTD Win palette selected, but cannot be sure about it. I used healing tool to fix those borders. If it is, i'll replace current sand with this one. After that, i'll replace all already "sanded" stuff with this. Quite a work, but if i left those unchanged, it wouldn't look so pretty. Luckily, there's templates available for everything, so it's not so difficult.
Attachments
Pm_CTC_tower.png
Pm_CTC_tower.png (663.92 KiB) Viewed 3704 times
Eq_cabins.png
(103.02 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Sand.png
Sand.png (15.94 KiB) Viewed 3645 times

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 02 Apr 2012 18:16

Quadruble post, been working on Railtypes implementation scheme. Here it is. 15 id's used (though some can be left out), one left to possible narrow gauge in future.

EDIT: Newer one. Here's also level crossing overlays based on that Railtypes scheme. Note that positions are not final.
Attachments
Level crossing overlays.png
(1.39 MiB) Downloaded 3 times
Railtypesv4.ods
(20.67 KiB) Downloaded 162 times

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 01 Jul 2012 12:05

Nth-post in row, but! I have now got coder, Foobar, and thanks to him, we now are quite close to first public release with buildings. This upcoming release contains nearly all the buildings drawn so far. Now, just few sound effects are fine-tuned, and after that, i'll make release available.

User avatar
Katve
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 380
Joined: 02 May 2011 12:49
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by Katve » 01 Jul 2012 12:14

:bow: Finaly some of finnish set approaching release. Do you know anything about Finnish train set status?

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 01 Jul 2012 12:40

Nope, there's been silence on that. I don't know what is the status regarding that, but i'll hope it will release something in next half years.

User avatar
SwissFan91
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2384
Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by SwissFan91 » 01 Jul 2012 12:45

Really good work btw, kyosuke. Don't think that because people aren't commenting, it isn't really high quality work!
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.

User avatar
alluke
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 328
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 16:26
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [WIP]

Post by alluke » 02 Jul 2012 13:10

Katve wrote::bow: Finaly some of finnish set approaching release. Do you know anything about Finnish train set status?
as disappeared shortly after he told that the finset is nearly ready for release. :?
Image

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 07 Jul 2012 18:08

Ok, now we have this first FRISS 0.1.0 release on your favorite fruit store, on Bananas. Grab it there. Any comments, bugs and questions to this thread.

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7410
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by Eddi » 07 Jul 2012 18:14

kyosuke1989 wrote:FRISS 0.1.0
you considered what that means in German? :p
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 07 Jul 2012 18:27

Eddi wrote:
kyosuke1989 wrote:FRISS 0.1.0
you considered what that means in German? :p
Not really? :D Is it the same type of case as Mitsubishi Pajero on Spain? :)

EDIT: "Eeat!"?

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6697
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by kamnet » 07 Jul 2012 22:11

*sighs* Doesn't work with older versions of OpenTTD. Disappointed, was anxiously awaiting to put the stations to use.

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 07 Jul 2012 23:06

kamnet wrote:*sighs* Doesn't work with older versions of OpenTTD. Disappointed, was anxiously awaiting to put the stations to use.
Yep, because of NFO-coding (codec?) update which breaks backwards compability, sadly. Unless there's a patchpack to play with, i recommend updating OpenTTD to most recent version. :)


User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 08 Jul 2012 08:05

kamnet wrote:Does your station set depend on NFO v8?
It does.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by FooBar » 08 Jul 2012 08:50

I tried to retrace the absolute technical minimal version, and that appears to be OpenTTD r22723. Below that it will certainly not work, don't even bother to try. If that is sufficient for the version you're using, feel free to grab the source code, remove the version check in header.pnml and grab a version 0.2.x of NML to produce a GRFv7 NewGRF.

If it can be proven that it works in older versions, I'll happily lower the minimal version requirement. But even then the devzone will always compile GRFv8, so a manual compile by whoever wants a GRFv7 will always be needed. For now I can only guarantee that it works in OpenTTD 1.2.0, older is simply disallowed.

User avatar
alluke
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 328
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 16:26
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by alluke » 10 Sep 2012 15:47

Is the Pieksämäki CTC tower scaled down? Those old sprites seem to be 4x4, while its 1x1 in-game.

Also the current station buildings need matching asphalt platforms (half, of course :wink: ).
Image

User avatar
kyosuke1989
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 268
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 13:04
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by kyosuke1989 » 10 Sep 2012 21:46

alluke wrote:Is the Pieksämäki CTC tower scaled down? Those old sprites seem to be 4x4, while its 1x1 in-game.
Also the current station buildings need matching asphalt platforms (half, of course :wink: ).
It's 2x2 in-game.

Yes, they certainly need. Someone just needs to draw them.

User avatar
alluke
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 328
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 16:26
Location: Finland

Re: Finnish Rail Infrastructure & Stations set [0.1.0, WIP]

Post by alluke » 11 Sep 2012 09:35

kyosuke1989 wrote: It's 2x2 in-game.
Indeed it is. :oops: I guess I should test things properly before writing stupid comments.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests