Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:23 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 5:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: Ontario, Canada
Sweet!

I love it! Can't wait to see these in my game ;)

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 8:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4707
Location: Lost in Music
It's intriguing when a building reconfigures its appearance because a road was constructed next to it :D

(this was the Gothic Revival church).

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 10:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7200
i agree, that annoys me as well. the road configuration should only be read on construction time, and then stored somewhere (animation frame?) for future reference.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:42 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
Pikka: thank you for this great and excellent work.

I have a question: could there be any problem in using this set together with another townGRF like TTRS ? I just tried and so far, seems to work.

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:28 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
keoz wrote:
Pikka: thank you for this great and excellent work.

I have a question: could there be any problem in using this set together with another townGRF like TTRS ? I just tried and so far, seems to work.


TaI attempts to limit the growth of towns by withholding buildings when the town reaches a certain size. If you use another set, the town will just use the other set's buildings once it reaches TaI's limit.

This set could really do with an updated release, eh? :)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:05 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
Quote:
TaI attempts to limit the growth of towns by withholding buildings when the town reaches a certain size. If you use another set, the town will just use the other set's buildings once it reaches TaI's limit.


Ok. Thank you for the answer. That's not an issue for me, I use your set together with TTRS mostly to decrease the density of the cities/introduce more diversity.

PikkaBird wrote:
This set could really do with an updated release, eh? :)


Well, considering the great quality of all your works, I'll obviously not say "no" :D

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:59 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:26 pm
Posts: 326
PikkaBird wrote:
This set could really do with an updated release, eh? :)


Hear, hear!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:02 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
A little progress, but still plenty to do - victorian slums, country estates, modern/futuristic houses...


Attachments:
File comment: 170 years of animated progress (1850-2020), with a single train used to promote growth.
TaI_170.gif
TaI_170.gif [ 1.36 MiB | Viewed 2507 times ]
File comment: A wider view of the city in 2020. Note all the big buildings are in the middle, where they belong. ;)
TaI_170.png [475.93 KiB]
Downloaded 8 times
File comment: The town at the other end of the line. This is not a city and has not grown anywhere near as big, although it has its own little business district with office buildings.
TaI_1702.png [167.72 KiB]
Downloaded 8 times

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:44 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
Interesting.

Let me understand: the only way you can control town "growth" (and size), is not by limiting the amount of houses (tiles with houses), but only by defining the style of house that can be built in a tile ?

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:54 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
keoz wrote:
Interesting.

Let me understand: the only way you can control town "growth" (and size), is not by limiting the amount of houses (tiles with houses), but only by defining the style of house that can be built in a tile ?


You can prevent the town building any houses, but - as discussed previously in this thread - the town will end up building big empty road networks instead. So instead, when the town reaches its limit, I have it build a fake "house" which looks like a rough ground tile, and which removes itself as soon as it is built.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:49 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
Now with Pub-be-gone®, a new calculation to stop the outskirts of large towns being overrun with light commercial buildings (currently, country pubs and petrol stations).


Attachments:
pub-be-gone.png
pub-be-gone.png [ 11.58 KiB | Viewed 2454 times ]

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
i m really glad to see things move on this set ! I m really excited to see the outcome of your work mr Pikka ! The screenies are tasty :D

Can we expect the city hall bulding you were planning initially ?

also would it be anyhow possible to see what kind of towns we are building in the scenario editor ? i remember creating a scenario with your newgrf were i had to label cities name with their max pop possible at a certain date, this was made so i can know what kind of town is coming next(by counting down with the pattern you gave earlier in the thread)... and also to let player know from the begining and plan their network accordingly.

and a small suggestion, what about a parameter to disallow all the tall and urban building to be built to make for example a totally rural looking scenario? or to allow them only after cities reached a certain size (like in the japan set). This should/would not break your feature of limiting city size, but could give more flexibility to players on the kind of scenario they want to play ;)

thanks for all your work, and looking forward your next release ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:47 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
A new version of the set has hit Bananas, along with a beta of TaI Industries (which is little more than PBI renamed, for the moment). :)

romazoon wrote:
also would it be anyhow possible to see what kind of towns we are building in the scenario editor?


TaI now reads and respects the OpenTTD "city" flag; only and all OpenTTD "cities" will also be TaI "cities". :) As for the city/town/village halls... well, eventually (tm).

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:13 pm 
Online
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 10:55 am
Posts: 50
Location: Moscow, Russia
PikkaBird wrote:
A new version of the set has hit Bananas, along with a beta of TaI Industries (which is little more than PBI renamed, for the moment). :)
Thanks for those awesome sets :)
PBI (and brick chain ofcourse) is still one of the most used industry set by me mostly because of stockpile and secondary_industries_built_near_town features :wink:
By the way is there any chance in future to fix the bug mentioned here?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:41 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17146
Location: Harringay, North London
Request: I trust you will be removing the football stadium before 1863... and maybe even some stepped versions through history!? :shock:

In Pikka we trust... I know you'll get this right. UKRS has been screaming for era-specific scenery for years. A combination of that and no reserved tracks and my screens might actually be come half-way respectable dear ;)

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 11:10 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
Dave W wrote:
Request: I trust you will be removing the football stadium before 1863... and maybe even some stepped versions through history!? :shock:


Oh, that's definitely on the to-do list. You may have noticed that the football stadium is a "Park"; it's just that that's the only graphic that exists for the 2x2 park so far.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2013 11:34 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4538
Location: /home/sweden
For those who have mentioned a complementary GS, it might be worth to mention which role a GS can play:
  • increase/reduce growth rate
  • put restrictions on growth based on eg. cargo delivery

However, the GS can only read the city flag. It cannot read the type of which of the 6 TAI town types a town belongs to. Unless some property that is exposed both via NewGRF spec and GS API is abused to communicate this fact.

If GRFs can affect the noise limit, that might be a candidate to have a relation between population and noise limit that is different for each of the 6 town types in a way that the GS can use noise limit + town size + city flag to decode the town type.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:05 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
Here are the Town Index values that are associated with each town class, if they're helpful.

If the city flag is set: Lowest 2 bits of the Town Index (0-3):

0 = Metropolis
1 = Industrial City
2-3 = Small City

If the city flag is not set: Lowest 3 bits of the Town Index (0-7):

0-2 = Industrial Town
3 = Small/Planned Town
4-7 = Village

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2013 5:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:55 pm
Posts: 90
I'm having problems with TaI 0.3 beta (not using other House Sets) and Vaulters Patch Pack. I posted in his thread thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:55 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Midwest, US
Pikka, this is an amazing set, and I was hoping that there might be an update to it, to add the City/*/Hall to mark the kind of town, etc.
Any chance that might happen? :D


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.