Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 1:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2009 4:13 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:05 am
Posts: 331
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
PikkaBird wrote:
Comm Cody wrote:
Okay now Why do i never se the city hall in my game? I'm using Beta 0.2 as my onlt Grf and I'm using the lates nightly.


For reasons of both gameplay and laziness, there are no city halls in the UK TaI beta. :)


I think that's the answer ;).


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:17 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 4:31 pm
Posts: 762
Location: Sweden
Just for curiosity, what kind of buildings are you planning to use in tropic and arctic climate? Obviously the UK style buildings (they rock!) doesn't fit in those climates.

_________________
Swedish Houses Version 1.1 Released
Swedish Road Vehicles Work in Progress


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 3:18 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:29 am
Posts: 209
I really like this set and the idea. I'm using your UK Houses beta (couldn't find a thread for that). But unfortunately I don't know the attribute of each city because town halls are missing. Is there another way to find out?

_________________
DACH Train Set
My Screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:58 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5290
Location: The Moon
I left out the town halls on purpose (also I had no graphics for them) so you can't "know". However... sometimes you can tell. Specifically, if it has any highrise buildings it must be a class 0 or 1 city, and if it has no industrial buildings it's probably a class 4 planned town.

The currently released version of the grf has problems with more recent versions of OTTD (specifically, the 2x2 buildings don't work). Perhaps when I release the updated version I will include town halls.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:29 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:29 am
Posts: 209
OK... good to know... and is there a thread for the UK Houses Set? I couldn't find one...

Keep up your good work :)

How strict are the restrictions for the inhabitants? I have a city with 3.500 inhabitants and whatever I try... there won't be more. I think the borders are 3.000 or 8.000 ?? so it has to be a least a 8.000-city???

_________________
DACH Train Set
My Screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:50 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5290
Location: The Moon
Dwight_K._Schrute wrote:
I think the borders are 3.000 or 8.000 ?? so it has to be a least a 8.000-city???


Nope. There are limits, but those limits increase as the years go by.

The limit for the largest cities is 20,000 in 1900, increasing to 30,000 by 2000.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:17 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:29 am
Posts: 209
I don't have houses bigger than 1x1. In another thread you've written that this is fixed. Is there a new version? I downloaded UK Houses beta a few weeks ago from bananas...

_________________
DACH Train Set
My Screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 2:48 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5290
Location: The Moon
I've fixed the bug in my local version, but no new version released yet, sorry.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:59 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:12 pm
Posts: 28
Location: Bremen, HB, Germany
Hello Pikka an all others,

good set, I like it! It gives the UK its own style with more realistic buildings. And I see that the restriction of 8,000 is cancelled, good.
And it is planned to put more big office buildings into the set and are they depending on a start year?

_________________
experience Northern Germany 2.1!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:08 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5290
Location: The Moon
Okay, I've finally got off my backside and got a new beta to release, this fixes the problems with larger buildings not showing up. I'll upload it to bananananas too.


Attachments:
File comment: beta 0.3
tai_uk.grf [202.06 KiB]
Downloaded 394 times

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:36 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:40 pm
Posts: 609
Location: Lancs, England
Nice to see those multi-tile buildings in the game. :) But is this intentional (as opposed to "stadium") or are the stadium sprites just a placeholder for something else...


Attachments:
tai_stadium.png
tai_stadium.png [ 19.11 KiB | Viewed 4419 times ]

_________________
My projects: New Town Names | Snow Aware Arctic Buildings | Custom Buildings | Mini GRFs | Bits & Bobs
Contributions: BK Enhanced Tunnel Set | Fix TTD GRF Bugs | INFRA Foundations | OpenGFX | OpenGFX+ Airports
Other stuff: The GRFs That Time Forgot! | Buildings in Glasgow

What's that in my avatar? It's the Brighton & Rottingdean Seashore Electric Railway - bonkers Victorian engineering!
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:41 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5290
Location: The Moon
It's supposed to all be "park", I guess I just have the wrong text in there. :) Not a major bug, I hope you'll agree.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 12:28 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Russia. moscow region
i wonder what size will have halfmillion city?? :lol:
Note i have one in my game. it has about 4700 houses.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:25 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 327
Location: UK
I dont seem to be seeing any town halls... none of my towns have them. (date 1905)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 4:17 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 327
Location: UK
Also im not sure whats wrong with middlesborugh here? (see screenshot)

except for the fact that its middlesbrough!

It seems to have loads of roads but very little houses!
http://dasy2k1.co.uk/images/middlesbrough.png


Attachments:
Baker & Co., 1947-12-22.sav [463 KiB]
Downloaded 68 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:51 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5290
Location: The Moon
The town has reached its population limit, so will not build any more buildings (fwiw the population limit of a class 5 "large village" is ([year]-1800)*3 + 500, which = 1235 in 1947).

I don't have towns building large amounts of roads outside the populated area in my games, but then I use the "improved" town road building setting rather than the grid ones.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 3:45 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 327
Location: UK
The roads are set to improved rather than grid...
could this be to do with the fact that openttd sees this as a city dispite it being a large village in TaI?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7030
that is very likely the cause. cities have increased growth, so will build more roads and try to build more houses, but if houses won't be allowed by the GRF, then the roads will stay empty.

i'm not sure if the GRF has a chance to read the city flag, and change its behaviour accordingly.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:30 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 327
Location: UK
Sabret00th wrote:
PikkaBird wrote:
Comm Cody wrote:
Okay now Why do i never se the city hall in my game? I'm using Beta 0.2 as my onlt Grf and I'm using the lates nightly.


For reasons of both gameplay and laziness, there are no city halls in the UK TaI beta. :)


I think that's the answer ;).



I see that, its just that the screenie in post 1 has one in and...

PikkaWiki wrote:
The town type can be determined by using the query tool on the city/town hall.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:34 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:12 pm
Posts: 328
Two questions:
- does TAI overrule other sets of builings? When loading TAI I found that no other buildings are build anymore.
- could the inns and pubs accept alcohol (BEER) if they detect FIRS?
Attachment:
Great North Eastern, 28th Jan 1857.png [179.82 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 127 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.