File Repository

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2367
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Lord Aro »

i was at school, i had no choice ;)

also, i also cannot upload the detached house file (with added .blend file that is already on the repo), it just results in this url: http://jupix.info/openttd/gfxdev-repo/i ... revisefile which is blank. you go back to the homepage, and nothing has happened (FF4)

and a question (mostly for maquinista) : should i 'overwrite' the existing file for the mall? or just make a new entry?
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: File repository

Post by maquinista »

Jupix wrote:Why can't you upload?
It could be the IE problem. I will upload it with Firefox in other computer.

EDIT: I have tried it in Firefox, and it doesn't work with the mall, but I can upload the silo of food processing plant.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2367
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Lord Aro »

maquinista: answer the above question please! :)

also, i will be changing the values of the silo food processing plant as i am presuming that you did not mean to put it as a NewGRF, or GPLv3 (afore mentioned bug)
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: File repository

Post by maquinista »

I can't upload the mall, I get this page:
http://jupix.info/openttd/gfxdev-repo/i ... ct=addfile
Only a blank screen.
Lord Aro wrote:and a question (mostly for maquinista) : should i 'overwrite' the existing file for the mall? or just make a new entry?
A new entry, because the current file is a new GRF file. Thanks!
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2367
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Lord Aro »

Jupix: i have also just noticed that the nightly builds don't seem to be ... building the last build was on 15/06/11 and the time before that was 04/05/11
Unless of course you've set it so it now only updates when there is a change :)

Either way, please try to get the other bugs fixed, as it's rather hard to upload anything at the moment... :(
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: File repository

Post by maquinista »

maquinista wrote:I can't upload the file with the mall.

It's finished. Please, upload it to the repository.

The file with three construction stages, will be added to "better houses" GRF file. :D
I have tried to upload this building again, and It doesn't work. Now, I have used Firefox 3.6, and I get a blank screen.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

Jupix
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 683
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 09:08
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Jupix »

The upload problem should now be gone. It was a server configuration error introduced when the host changed.

For some mysterious reason I had to upload size limit set at 2 MBytes in php.ini. This was, let's just say challenging to fix since the size of my test file is measured in bits, and PHP doesn't seem to throw an error if an upload file exceeds the size limit. So my test file worked for me and you had no idea what the problem could be either.

Let's just hope this fixes the problem once and for all.
#################

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2367
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Lord Aro »

Thank you oh 32bpp overlord :mrgreen:
now, about those dropdown lists... ;)
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: File repository

Post by maquinista »

Thanks. I will try to update the files this night.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: File repository

Post by maquinista »

I have a problem with the status selector. I must use the option "sources missing" if I want set this option as released.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2367
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Lord Aro »

AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

Jupix
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 683
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 09:08
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Jupix »

I have now rewritten the listbox logic. Hopefully they now work correctly and I didn't break anything in the process. This change affects all listboxes such as entry status, license, etc. on all pages, such as the edit entry page, create fork page, etc. Please let me know if anything looks broken. 8)
#################

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9412
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: File repository

Post by planetmaker »

May I suggest one simplification: Declare to use one license only (e.g. GPL v2+), delete the rest which is not in accordance with it and require any new submissions to be in accordance with the project's license...

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1812
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: File repository

Post by maquinista »

planetmaker wrote:May I suggest one simplification: Declare to use one license only (e.g. GPL v2+), delete the rest which is not in accordance with it and require any new submissions to be in accordance with the project's license...
Most of my works are in Creative Commons By license, which is compatible with GPL.
I like CC BY because It doesn't have copyleft, and I want release some of my models without it.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9412
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: File repository

Post by planetmaker »

maquinista wrote:
planetmaker wrote:May I suggest one simplification: Declare to use one license only (e.g. GPL v2+), delete the rest which is not in accordance with it and require any new submissions to be in accordance with the project's license...
Most of my works are in Creative Commons By license, which is compatible with GPL.
I like CC BY because It doesn't have copyleft, and I want release some of my models without it.
Sure, that's nice and I very much appreciated that and for graphics it makes possibly more sense than for source code. But you as author granting a more permissive license is unharmed by a uniform license. I was rather thinking of the 32bpp set as a whole - where it is advantageous when one knows "ok, this set has this license" - and that's it. Without the need to look up the license of each single sprite which can be quite tedious; it's already quite a bit work, to look up who drew what when looking for graphics. If the overall license for the 32bpp set is CC-BY - also very fine.

Jupix
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 683
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 09:08
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Jupix »

You need to remember that the repo hosts all 32bit content, and the base conversion set is a subset of that. We don't have an opinion on which license should be assigned to 32bit newgrfs. For the base set conversion effort, we require GPLv2+ or compatible, like you said. This is documented in my 32bit project organisation whitepaper but I haven't pushed for it to become policy yet.
#################

User avatar
Lord Aro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2367
Joined: 25 Jun 2009 16:42
Location: Location, Location
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Lord Aro »

of course the trouble with being GPL, is that many graphics are without sources, usually due to the file size of the sources.
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra

Jupix
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 683
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 09:08
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Jupix »

True, but that is an issue inherent to the base set conversion project, and will have to be enforced on a case-by-case basis.
#################

pawz
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Oct 2011 03:04

Re: File repository

Post by pawz »

So, this game looks incredible in 32bpp, (and extra zoom levels look even better) and I'm trying to figure out where the heck I can find all the sprites for that 32bpp goodness!


So I have a few questions:

1. What's the difference between the Jupix file repository and the stuff on the openTTDCoop site? Eg: This funky script
2. Who organises things for the base conversion set? Where are the files from the above link stored?
3. Is this project active? http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/32bpp
4. Is this meant to be broken? http://jupix.info/openttd/gfxdev-nightlies/ - nightlies aren't nightly anymore
5. Where do I find these files?
5. How can I help? I'd love to help make OpenGFX+32bpp :)

Jupix
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 683
Joined: 19 Feb 2005 09:08
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: File repository

Post by Jupix »

pawz wrote: 1. What's the difference between the Jupix file repository and the stuff on the openTTDCoop site? Eg: This funky script

Where are the files from the above link stored?
The repo is the official source for 32bit gfx. I don't know what's hosted on ottdcoop.
2. Who organises things for the base conversion set?
No one at this time. Base set conversion as a standalone project has not been kicked off yet. Ultimately, in a way it's my responsibility. I've laid out a proposal for base set conversion project organization but have not run it by the community. You can read about it here
3. Is this project active? http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/32bpp
Don't know, what's happening at openttdcoop does not really fall under my jurisdiction
4. Is this meant to be broken? http://jupix.info/openttd/gfxdev-nightlies/ - nightlies aren't nightly anymore
Well obviously it's not meant to be broken, but I'm aware the cronjob is silently failing. I've kept an eye on incoming content over the summer and you're not missing much. The few releases that have surfaced you can get at the repo manually.
I'd suggest searching the repo for trees.
5. How can I help? I'd love to help make OpenGFX+32bpp :)
Depends on your skillset. Graphics, "coding" and content management / development documentation are the 3 distinct tasks that drive the effort. We need graphics most, for that you need skills in Blender and GIMP, or compatible suites.

(Please continue the latter conversation by PM as it has nothing to do with the repository)

Thanks for your interest
#################

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests