FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators


Diesel Power
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 167
Joined: 18 Jun 2016 19:05

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Diesel Power » 22 Jul 2019 21:31

Found another one.
Houses are accepting carbon steel.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4973
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth » 23 Jul 2019 05:23

Diesel Power wrote:
22 Jul 2019 21:31
Houses are accepting carbon steel.
Yes. I don't know of any fix for that one. :shock:
  • some base set houses accept cargo 05
  • cargo 05 is Goods, so by current convention, industry sets need to include Goods in cargo slot 05, or an equivalent appropriate cargo
  • the Steeltown economy does't include Goods cargo
  • Steeltown has Carbon Steel in slot 05, so houses accept Carbon Steel
Options so far :)
  • add Goods to Steeltown to fix houses?
  • make a houses grf that resets cargo for all houses in the base set?
  • have FIRS reset cargos for all houses in the base set?
  • ???

User avatar
piratescooby
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 311
Joined: 21 Nov 2014 12:39
Location: The Granite City.

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by piratescooby » 23 Jul 2019 10:07

I would add Goods to town , Iron monger style goods , nails,screws ,household metal goods . I have dabbled here and there testing , Delivered the materials to the furnaces , does not seem to produce Carbon Steel , Alloy Steel .Other industries seem to produce no cargo , Petrol , Cement Farm/Engineering supplies . Is this because of the error , 'Invalid cargo ' . The Farmstead can this Produce Food , seems a bit odd just Producing Passengers , or are the Passengers for the cannibalistic market ? Apart from the wee bugs a great wee Set .

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4740
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Alberth » 23 Jul 2019 10:15

My intuition says that a cargo specification should also state which cargoes are safe for home consumption, to have sane defaults. In the current system that would imply there is no cargo number 5, perhaps.

A house set may have different ideas, and accept other cargoes (no idea what is possible there currently), so you could have a shop that sells unicorns or molten steel if so desired.
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4973
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth » 25 Jul 2019 06:15

Alberth wrote:
23 Jul 2019 10:15
My intuition says that a cargo specification should also state which cargoes are safe for home consumption, to have sane defaults. In the current system that would imply there is no cargo number 5, perhaps.
Industries that use cargo labels simply drop any non-available cargos. Base set houses perhaps don't do that?

User avatar
alluke
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 328
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 16:26
Location: Finland

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by alluke » 18 Aug 2019 14:32

FIRS 3 has broken cargo graphics for some vehicle sets. Metal appears as general box cargo, this doesn't happen with FIRS 2 & 1, ECS nor vanilla.
Image

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4973
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth » 18 Aug 2019 17:40

alluke wrote:
18 Aug 2019 14:32
FIRS 3 has broken cargo graphics for some vehicle sets. Metal appears as general box cargo, this doesn't happen with FIRS 2 & 1, ECS nor vanilla.
Report it to vehicle sets. The label changed from STEL (an abuse of long-established label) to METL. This wasn’t just a whim, there are internal constraints on using the same label for two different cargos (FIRS 3 includes both Steel and Metal cargos in different economies).

The issue will be that the vehicle set doesn’t handle METL with dedicated sprites, so uses box. However be aware that some vehicle set authors will not welcome this. :?

It will get much worse with FIRS 4, I’m adding lots more niche cargos :twisted:

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Aegir » 19 Aug 2019 03:34

andythenorth wrote:
18 Aug 2019 17:40
alluke wrote:
18 Aug 2019 14:32
FIRS 3 has broken cargo graphics for some vehicle sets. Metal appears as general box cargo, this doesn't happen with FIRS 2 & 1, ECS nor vanilla.
Report it to vehicle sets. The label changed from STEL (an abuse of long-established label) to METL. This wasn’t just a whim, there are internal constraints on using the same label for two different cargos (FIRS 3 includes both Steel and Metal cargos in different economies).

The issue will be that the vehicle set doesn’t handle METL with dedicated sprites, so uses box. However be aware that some vehicle set authors will not welcome this. :?

It will get much worse with FIRS 4, I’m adding lots more niche cargos :twisted:
I guess it's a matter of vehicle sets having sane sensible defaults to fall back to. Piece goods falling back to box cargo instead of on open stakes probably isn't too bad. For ores, especially valuable ones, covered loads probably aren't too big a stretch. A nearby copper mine to me springs to mind, their copper for instance is brought down from the mine by road in sealed containers that look pretty much like intermodal containers. I don't know if the top opens up and they dump straight in there or what goes on though.
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3049
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by GarryG » 19 Aug 2019 05:49

I think you just hit the nail on the head Andy .. when look at the different codes used in the past for cargos there are several different codes used for the same cargo types.

Wonder if a list can be started what is used for the main/default cargos so that others like myself with the train sets can use the same codes.

EDIT:

Sent it before I finished and then had a power blackout for a few moments.

Those interested a list for cargos can be found here.
Cargo labels in OpenTTD
https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/C ... rgo_Labels

You will see several cargos with different labels.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

webbhost
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Jun 2019 00:12

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by webbhost » 22 Aug 2019 22:23

excuse me for being thick - im new to newGRF etc....

I loaded this FIRS into game - and I do see different industries, however I do NOT see 70... I see about 19?

Bulk terminal, Cider mill, clay pit etc... no ammonia plant, aluminium plant and so on.

What have I done wrong?

User avatar
Erato
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 421
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Erato » 22 Aug 2019 22:55

webbhost wrote:
22 Aug 2019 22:23
excuse me for being thick - im new to newGRF etc....

I loaded this FIRS into game - and I do see different industries, however I do NOT see 70... I see about 19?

Bulk terminal, Cider mill, clay pit etc... no ammonia plant, aluminium plant and so on.

What have I done wrong?
Hey there!

This is completely normal behaviour. FIRS has 6 different economies to play with, which you can take a look at here. You can choose which industries you want to play with by going into the parameters and selecting a different economy.
Image
This screen can be accessed in the NewGRF settings. By default FIRS will load Temperate Basic, which has 19 industries. If you want to play with the largest amount of industries available, choose Extreme, which has 51 industries.

Hope this helps.
No pics no clicks. Seriously. Also stop using Modern Maglev Trains. Use RIMS instead.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

webbhost
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Jun 2019 00:12

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by webbhost » 23 Aug 2019 22:15

Thank you, that was very useful.

One last question, I loved the 'original' train sets, i.e. starting with slow steam, and finishing with ultra-fast maglev trains.... the train set I have used is just slow trains even starting in year 2050.

What train sets out there would people suggest to keep as close an experience to the original as possible?

Would love to try this industry set, just want to keep fast trains after the years go by.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6809
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by kamnet » 23 Aug 2019 22:49

webbhost wrote:
23 Aug 2019 22:15
Thank you, that was very useful.

One last question, I loved the 'original' train sets, i.e. starting with slow steam, and finishing with ultra-fast maglev trains.... the train set I have used is just slow trains even starting in year 2050.

What train sets out there would people suggest to keep as close an experience to the original as possible?

Would love to try this industry set, just want to keep fast trains after the years go by.
OpenGFX+ Trains is a NewGRF re-implementation of original vehicles, with some improved stats and visual fixes, if you want to keep those original trains.
Erato has released a couple of Maglev train sets, one based on real trains.
Emperor Jake has a nice vacuum-tube train set for super high speeds.

webbhost
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 22 Jun 2019 00:12

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by webbhost » 23 Aug 2019 23:06

Thanks, assuming you can use the original GFX train set with the tube ones simultaneously? Would be nice!

I'll look into the ones you mentioned

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6809
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by kamnet » 24 Aug 2019 04:18

webbhost wrote:
23 Aug 2019 23:06
Thanks, assuming you can use the original GFX train set with the tube ones simultaneously? Would be nice!

I'll look into the ones you mentioned
I believe if you use Vactrains with the original vehicles that it will overwrite either maglev or monorail (I think it's a configurable setting). If you use it with OpenGFX+ Trains then it will be an additional track set. In all honesty, there's no reason not to run OpenGFX+ Trains if you like any of the vehicles from the original.

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4740
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Alberth » 25 Aug 2019 12:48

Firs 3.0.12 steeltown, openttd c7c1d1cb0, port picked a nice spot along the edge:
Screenshot_20190825_144609.png
Screenshot_20190825_144609.png (73.28 KiB) Viewed 605 times
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6809
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by kamnet » 25 Aug 2019 16:18

Ooh, I like that! I'm assuming there was just a small bit of land that happened to crop up right there. I think I'll start borrowing that technique!

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4740
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Alberth » 25 Aug 2019 16:28

Ooh, good point, I assumed it used the invisible tiles as "land"
As a test I cheat-deleted the industry, and you're right:
Attachments
Screenshot_20190825_182639.png
Screenshot_20190825_182639.png (12.78 KiB) Viewed 560 times
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

perverted monkey
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 40
Joined: 02 Mar 2009 02:07

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by perverted monkey » 26 Aug 2019 04:01

Even so it looks weird.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Ragin1_ and 8 guests