FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

AngelRane
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Dec 2014 00:29

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by AngelRane »

I tried with mercurial first, then the git one you posted, but got same errors with both.

Update: After reinstalling python and cleaning up packages, I have made it a step further I think. However now I am facing this weird error:

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'markdown'

Even though I have markdown clearly installed. Didn't find solution online. Tried reinstalling, triplechecking the package, different markdown version. The package is there, but this error drops no matter what.

Code: Select all

:\FIRSgit>pip install markdown
Requirement already satisfied: markdown in c:\python38\lib\site-packages (3.3.3)

C:\FIRSgit>make
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.pynml --ext=.lng src, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.pynml --ext=.pt --ext=.lng src, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which dot, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which gvpr, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which gvpr, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which dot, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.pynml src, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.png src, ...) failed.
[RENDER DOCS] render docs
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\FIRSgit\src\render_docs.py", line 12, in <module>
    import markdown
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'markdown'
make: *** [docs] Error 1
arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by arikover »

Not a Python pro, but could it be a messup between python and python3?
On Linux, I have 2 versions of Python installed: Python 2.7.17 and 3.6.9
Python 2 utilities are called with python and pip, Python 3 utilities are called with python3 and pip3.
Not sure if it is the same on Windows, but maybe markdown should be installed with pip3?
AngelRane
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Dec 2014 00:29

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by AngelRane »

arikover wrote: 09 Feb 2021 17:55 Not a Python pro, but could it be a messup between python and python3?
On Linux, I have 2 versions of Python installed: Python 2.7.17 and 3.6.9
Python 2 utilities are called with python and pip, Python 3 utilities are called with python3 and pip3.
Not sure if it is the same on Windows, but maybe markdown should be installed with pip3?
That's exactly what I thought too. But both return markdown is installed. I even tried uninstalling older python, reinstalling everything. Same error. I really apreciate you guys trying to help though.
arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by arikover »

so I gave it a try:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/andythenorth/firs firs3
cd firs3
pip3 install markdown
pip3 install chameleon
pip3 install nml
make
And it worked.
There is obviously something wrong with the installed packages.
Maybe these can help (if you didn't try already).
Did you try using an older version of Python (3.6 or 3.7)?
Did you try creating a Python virtual environment?
AngelRane
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Dec 2014 00:29

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by AngelRane »

arikover wrote: 09 Feb 2021 22:20 There is obviously something wrong with the installed packages.
Maybe these can help (if you didn't try already).
Did you try using an older version of Python (3.6 or 3.7)?
Did you try creating a Python virtual environment?
Yeah, I did exactly that, several times. I did try different python versions, I did try it in virtual environment. I've also went through the troubleshooting page you mentioned. Everything seems to be in order and in the right place, yet nothing I've tried had any impact on the error. It's weird. I'll try on a different computer tomorow, however stupid that is, I don't have any other idea at the moment.
arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by arikover »

Let us know if it works!

Maybe there is a inconsistency in the versions of the packages you have.
If you want to share your

Code: Select all

python3 -V
pip3 -V
pip3 list
maybe we can find out which package is misbehaving?

On my system, these are working fine:

Code: Select all

$ python3 -V
Python 3.6.9
$ pip3 -V
pip 9.0.1 from /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages (python 3.6)
$ pip3 list
[...]
Chameleon (3.8.1)
Markdown (3.3.3)
nml (0.5.3)
setuptools (39.0.1)
[...]
AngelRane
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 16 Dec 2014 00:29

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by AngelRane »

Ooooh, it WORKS! It WORKS!

So the problem was with python version and PATH. When I was about to write you the versions of my python, I noticed the version of python shown doesn't match the version I have installed. Upon further investigation, another python3.exe was present in

Code: Select all

\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps
and also a direction to there in my PATH. This was likely due to me reinstalling different versions of python over and over when trying to make it work, and messing up my PATHs. Because the PATH entry didn't mention any python keywords, I simply didn't notice the PATH discrepancy in place the whole time.
After removing the wrong PATH, the correct python directory is used, and I was able to compile the source code.

Code: Select all

where python3
is what pointed on the culprit and I feel stupid I didn't try it sooner. I was focused on the markdown related error.

Thank you arikover, for your patience. If not for you I would have given up already. :bow:

New possibilities open. Time to tinker. :)

Sorry for being complete noob. But hey, I am a tiny bit smarter now.
Monty_Montana
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 55
Joined: 15 Oct 2014 21:41
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by Monty_Montana »

Hi all!

I would like to apply for translator. Old translator infrastructure seems to be off (https://translator.openttdcoop.org/project/firs) ...

If we should use Github, what is the best branch for fixing translations?

Thanks in advance. Regards,
Montana
arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by arikover »

The easiest way with GitHub is to submit a pull request:
  1. fork FIRS in your GitHub
  2. create a branch in your fork where you change the translation
  3. from your forked branch, create a pull request on andy's repository
arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by arikover »

AngelRane wrote: 10 Feb 2021 17:09Ooooh, it WORKS! It WORKS!
Congratulations!
Monty_Montana
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 55
Joined: 15 Oct 2014 21:41
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Post by Monty_Montana »

arikover wrote: 18 Feb 2021 10:01 The easiest way with GitHub is to submit a pull request:
  1. fork FIRS in your GitHub
  2. create a branch in your fork where you change the translation
  3. from your forked branch, create a pull request on andy's repository
Hi back!

Thanks!

Done. Waiting for pull request aproval now

Greetings!
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 9 guests