Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:03 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [OTTD] Early Rail
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 3:52 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 4:59 am
Posts: 6
hi all

Some thing i have been working on for abit now.

what's currently in the set
Attachment:
screenshot.png
screenshot.png [ 5.55 KiB | Viewed 11447 times ]


In the NewGRF window 'Early Rail set' is track and should go 1st then 'Early Rail set 2'
they will be merged at some point its just easier to work with the 2

Things todo
add Horse sounds
add some more locos to early 1900s
tidy up the sprites and code

but for now iam going to do some work on the track set

Izel


Attachments:
File comment: railtypes set
earlyrail.grf [48.89 KiB]
Downloaded 1065 times
File comment: Early Rail Set
ERSw.GRF [108.84 KiB]
Downloaded 1136 times

_________________
If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants. Isaac Newton


It's better to ask forgiveness than it is to get permission. Grace Murray Hopper


Last edited by Izel on Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:27 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 4:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3902
Location: Ontario, Canada
Interesting! Good start, but honestly, I'd lower the speed of the Trevithick, other than that, great looking start. Just need to find some time to play with it now :D

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 4:39 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 8:25 pm
Posts: 325
why not a screenshot for such nice project.


Attachments:
File comment: Javahorse, trevithick, stephensonrocket
great.png
great.png [ 14.39 KiB | Viewed 18334 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2759
Very neat, and very fun :)

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Question. How can one horse provide 4 hp? :wink:

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:14 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:08 pm
Posts: 776
Location: Germany
FooBar wrote:
Question. How can one horse provide 4 hp? :wink:

I recently heard somewhere that the horse power used to be the average power of one horse (during a day IIRC). So, the peak power of a horse actually is much higher than 1 hp :P

Edit: Wikipedia says (citing a Nature article) that a peak power of 14.9 hp has been measured for a horse (though only for a few seconds). The average power of a horse is said to be less than 1 hp.

_________________
"The bigger the island of our knowledge, the longer the shore of our ignorance" - John A. Wheeler, Physicist, 1911-2008


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Question is, is the power listed in the purchase window a peak or an average value? I think it's more of a constant maximum or something.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 11470
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
I guess it's an average value since a peak value wouldn't be statistically correct in this one. And a horse for that matter always operating on peak power would 'break down' in no time. Furthermore would the value for 'life' not be 20 as a result of it. :P

However this is a promising set! Now I can start my company in 1700! :D W00t!

_________________
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote

Closet troll that got locked inside and accidentally left the keys outside.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:45 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:28 pm
Posts: 26
Location: my own mind
why 1700? set it back to, oh i dont know, 1000? 0? probably would need some sort of recoding to get it BC, but anyway, lets play transport tycoon through the dark ages. once one has the capacity to go back that far then others will.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:20 am 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:09 am
Posts: 882
Location: Northeastern USA
A three horse team puts out (on average) 500 pounds of tractive effort, so one horse would have a TE of 167 or so pounds, or 0.74285274 kn.

It's not an exact comparison, since most machines don't run at maximum horsepower all the time either. A team of horses will do the work of a 35 horsepower tractor, but require 1.2 times the labor to do it.

_________________
Who is John Galt?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 6910
the power a horse can deliver over long times varies widely between breeds. a racing horse would usually have less power, but higher speed than a working horse.

the original horsepower definition by james watt (i think) involved a working horse that goes around a mill, and counting the average amount of times it could go around per hour.

locomotives often have two figures given as power, the long time power, that the engine can give on continuous load, and a short time power, that the engine can deliver over shorter periods (e.g. one hour) before risk of overheating. so the power of a horse might be given a higher number than 1hp, if you assume that the horse will not deliver that power over the entire journey

the maximum tractive effort figure of horses should be significantly higher than many locomotives, because the static friction of hooves on dirt is higher than steel on steel by and order of magnitude, or when was the last time you saw a horse slip? the force that a horse can deliver to accelerate is almost at any time limited by its power, not by the friction.

you could of course also include other working animals like mules or donkeys, balancing speed, power, running costs and reliability between them

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:01 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1505
Pom te pom ;-)

http://iis.fuzzle.org/?mass=1000&power= ... v=&ttdpad=

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Laughs ass off (see screenshot below).

Anyways, nice tool Peter!


Attachments:
Image.png
Image.png [ 623 Bytes | Viewed 17159 times ]

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 1:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 11470
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
thegreatpl wrote:
why 1700? set it back to, oh i dont know, 1000? 0? probably would need some sort of recoding to get it BC, but anyway, lets play transport tycoon through the dark ages. once one has the capacity to go back that far then others will.


You go play trough the dark ages (and wait a lot). I'll start at 1700 since this set earliest vehicle is introduced in 1700.

_________________
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote

Closet troll that got locked inside and accidentally left the keys outside.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3902
Location: Ontario, Canada
I'd like to know how you got the NARS to be compatible w/this set. I can't get the early equipment to show up with it.

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Early Rail
PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 4:59 am
Posts: 6
Sorry this set is for UKrs so i just test with that,
but Horse may have multiple NewGRF engine sets on to get NARS to work with it,
in testing thou this cores problems at the dates i change stock introduction from UKrs.
this will be fixed in next up date.

_________________
If I have seen a little further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants. Isaac Newton


It's better to ask forgiveness than it is to get permission. Grace Murray Hopper


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:47 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:50 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Wiltshire, England
Izel, thank you for introducing Early Rail (up-date Beta 3) which I played with Tr15084 - great work so far!! - though I think that the 1500 start is a bit early - I'd prefer having the horses every 25 years during the 1700s

I don't know if you have more engines planned to complement those already available. If not, these locos might fit in nicely:

1812 The Salamanca http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Salamanca
1852 0-6-0 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GWR_Ariadne_Class
1887 0-4-2T http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GWR_3521_Class
1891 0-6-0 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GWR_2301_Class
1896 4-2-2 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midland_Railway_115_Class


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:32 pm
Posts: 9
This is such a great idea! I think it would be great to play a game starting at 1700 (at the beginning of the Industrial Revolution), and thanks to the UK pack and eGVRTS, we can transport passengers and goods and stuff early on. Just make sure to use a road texture that shows the cobblestones (Total Town Replacement).

I think we may need an early canal-boat & barge GRF to go with it, however. And wouldnt it be cool if some of the industries acted like oil platforms, with a certain date they became available? Like printing press, 1580 CE. Factories would be like 1750 or 1800... etc. Some of the industries obviously wouldn't be around until later... I havent used the ECS or Pikka's Industries, but maybe they already have that functionality in it?

I dunno. Would be a bit of a project... but I think horse-drawn canal boats and later steamers would be helpful to transport larger quantities of goods. :)


This website has some good period information on Britain's infrastructure in the 18th-19th century:

http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/tr ... o_1900.htm

http://www.tonawanda.ny.us/history/erie_barge_canal.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of ... nal_system

Image
(wikipedia)

Riverboats and steamships:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Riverboat

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steamboat

Image
(wikipedia)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:26 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:57 am
Posts: 289
Location: Belgium
2CC ships, has some early ships. How early i forgot.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 5:23 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:32 pm
Posts: 9
Yeah, I just found them. Pretty cool stuff! I hope you guys can make some earlier locos.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.