NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Phreeze
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 506
Joined: 12 Feb 2010 14:30
Location: Luxembourg

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by Phreeze » 17 Jul 2015 12:58

just to respond: NFO is the (older) programming language. you need the sourcecode, make your changes,and compileit. NFO is rather complciated, NML is the new language used,but many older grfs were programmed in NFO.
drop him a private message

Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.5 - Nov 4th 20

Post by Baldy's Boss » 20 Jul 2015 02:27

Baldy's Boss wrote:I mix original and NARS vehicles at will.

You're correct that when I upgraded 2 BR87 trains between Wardwood and Trefingway to Acelas the Acelas emerged from the depot with shiny new cars.

However,over on the Slefingpool-Sledingstone-Kentfield service,I had two Eurostars (165mph locomotives) and wanted to lengthen the trains.One has Amfleet cars that slow it to 150 mph.
The other had three NARS passenger cars of a pre-Amfleet generation that slowed it to 110 mph,so I sold them and bought four new Talgos (which replaced Amfleets) and the train speed went from 110 to 165 between sale and purchase and then dropped to 125 with the Talgos.
Just confirming this as noted on another thread.If I clone a train with 150mph Amfleet cars,I get a slower train with 125mph Talgo cars.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.5 - Nov 4th 20

Post by PikkaBird » 20 Jul 2015 02:39

Baldy's Boss wrote:Just confirming this as noted on another thread.If I clone a train with 150mph Amfleet cars,I get a slower train with 125mph Talgo cars.
That's a problem with the older version of the NewGRF. In 2.51, the Amfleet and high-speed cars are separate vehicle models, so this will no longer occur (and the Talgo cars are now faster than the Amfleets anyway).

Baldy's Boss
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 23 Feb 2014 22:02

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by Baldy's Boss » 20 Jul 2015 04:39

If only 2.51 hadn't ditched a whole lot of other features...
(At least if you buy your passenger cars with an Acela,they are still 150mph)

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4988
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by andythenorth » 13 Sep 2015 14:34

Eh, I'm playing 2.5.1. Could you dibble the interurban running costs down a bit? It's spanked easily by the 4-4-0 Express, for a typical short train the 4-4-0 will be faster, more powerful and cheaper to run.

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by PikkaBird » 19 Sep 2015 07:37

andythenorth wrote:Eh, I'm playing 2.5.1. Could you dibble the interurban running costs down a bit? It's spanked easily by the 4-4-0 Express, for a typical short train the 4-4-0 will be faster, more powerful and cheaper to run.
But then the interurban presumably becomes too useful as an engine for all other purposes. :D

The factors that made interurbans successful IRL (and there weren't that many, because on the whole they weren't) don't really apply in OpenTTD. And trying to balance a full roster of "realistic" vehicles is practically impossible anyway, as you know. ;)


User avatar
bigyihsuan
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jul 2013 07:41

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by bigyihsuan » 11 Oct 2015 00:44

The fist page has a list of Arctic engines, and some of them have an engine unit with no cab.

Does the GRF turn the engines into the cab-less form automatically, or do you need to do something to turn them i9nto that?

And is it compatible to the auto-flip GRF?

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by PikkaBird » 11 Oct 2015 01:47

bigyihsuan wrote:Does the GRF turn the engines into the cab-less form automatically, or do you need to do something to turn them i9nto that?
There are a few diesels with B units and those units will show the appropriate graphics automatically. For example, if you put two F7s together, both facing forward, the rear one will be cabless.
And is it compatible to the auto-flip GRF?
That NewGRF should be obsolete now. The locomotives in 2.51 are flippable.

User avatar
bigyihsuan
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jul 2013 07:41

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by bigyihsuan » 11 Oct 2015 16:59

PikkaBird wrote:
bigyihsuan wrote:Does the GRF turn the engines into the cab-less form automatically, or do you need to do something to turn them i9nto that?
There are a few diesels with B units and those units will show the appropriate graphics automatically. For example, if you put two F7s together, both facing forward, the rear one will be cabless.
And is it compatible to the auto-flip GRF?
That NewGRF should be obsolete now. The locomotives in 2.51 are flippable.
Okay, thank you!

BW89
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 80
Joined: 10 May 2015 11:42

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by BW89 » 22 Oct 2015 19:07

Why did you remove the vehicle types feature :cry:
I mean the feature that there the 1849 Version of 4-4-0 and a lot more (one with coal one without etc.)

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by PikkaBird » 22 Oct 2015 21:14

BW89 wrote:Why did you remove the vehicle types feature :cry:
Well, I'm going to assume you don't actually miss the generational vehicles "feature", but rather specific generational vehicles. Let's have a look at which early steamers are left out of 2.51.

4-4-0:
NARS2: 4 generations (1850, 1870, 1885, 1897).
NARS2.5: 2 generations (1850, 1885).

2-6-0:
NARS2: 2 generations (1869, 1897).
NARS2.5: 1 generation (1869).

4-6-0:
NARS2: 3 generations (1870, 1885, 1899).
NARS2.5: 1 generation (1885).

2-8-0:
NARS2: 3 generations (1875, 1887, 1902).
NARS2.5: 2 generation (1875, 1902).

In NARS2, there was only 10mph and 50hp difference between the 1870 4-4-0, 2-6-0 and 4-6-0; trivial differences at OpenTTD scales. So, for that generation, I dropped all but one (the 2-6-0). The turn-of-the-century models for all three have been dropped as they get thoroughly spanked by the 1902 Consolidation and 1905 Atlantic, and the 1887 Consolidation is dropped to make that 20th century "jump" - from general duty 4-6-0s to specialised heavy passenger and freight locos - more pronounced.

railfanatic844
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Mar 2011 00:47

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by railfanatic844 » 03 Mar 2016 23:49

Hello Pikkabird! Me and my friends ahve always loved your NARS set (considering that we are from the U.S.), however a feature we're confused on is that the bilevels do not have cab units anymore, and the cabbages do not lead a train back. Is this a bug or a removed feature?

many thanks

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by PikkaBird » 07 Mar 2016 11:25

It was removed (or rather, not readded, since the latest versions of NARS were coded from scratch on top of the Pineapple Trains code templates). It was a bit of a cheesy hack and confused people, and didn't add anything to gameplay; it was too much "realism" for the set going forward. ;)

railfanatic844
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Mar 2011 00:47

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by railfanatic844 » 07 Mar 2016 19:23

Ah, i understand. It was a nice feature, what a pity. ""Also hoping to see the 4-8-4 make a comeback soon.

fatfluffycat
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Jun 2016 00:18

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by fatfluffycat » 07 Jun 2016 00:21

The download link doesn't work.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by Leanden » 07 Jun 2016 00:27

It wont, pikkawiki has been down for a few weeks now, it is still available from the in-game content downloader though.
Image

User avatar
RegiSteel4Real22
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Feb 2014 00:22

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by RegiSteel4Real22 » 05 Jul 2016 03:49

Long time no see TTForums! Not sure if this has changed since version 2.03, but what exactly is the advantage of electrified railway vehicles over standard (steam/deisel/turbine) ones? I've noticed the electric trains on this set with the version I run generally have inferior stats in just about every area for the entire length of the game. Speed is also the worst stat, and I tend to buy only the fastest trains for passengers, which is also my preferred cargo.

Is there any good reason I might want to use electric trains on this set instead of non-electric ones? :?

User avatar
Sylf
President
President
Posts: 958
Joined: 23 Nov 2010 21:25
Location: ::1

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by Sylf » 05 Jul 2016 04:22

United States in general had limited availability of electric trains. Outside of the intra-city transit systems, there is only one area of passenger service (Northeast Corridor and Keystone Corridor) and one cargo line (Black Mesa and Lake Powell RR) that are electrified and operating today. Add to the fact that United States only has 1 high speed rail that's sub-standard from the rest of the world: Northeast Corridor.
If you find the engines that run on NE Corridor - PRR GG1, Budd Metroliner, AEM-7, HHP-8, ACS-64, Acela, those are about the only reason you'll use electrification. (I don't remember if any or all of those are included in NARS)

User avatar
RegiSteel4Real22
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Feb 2014 00:22

Re: NARS2 - the North American Railway Set [2.51 April 2015]

Post by RegiSteel4Real22 » 05 Jul 2016 05:46

Sylf wrote:United States in general had limited availability of electric trains. Outside of the intra-city transit systems, there is only one area of passenger service (Northeast Corridor and Keystone Corridor) and one cargo line (Black Mesa and Lake Powell RR) that are electrified and operating today. Add to the fact that United States only has 1 high speed rail that's sub-standard from the rest of the world: Northeast Corridor.
If you find the engines that run on NE Corridor - PRR GG1, Budd Metroliner, AEM-7, HHP-8, ACS-64, Acela, those are about the only reason you'll use electrification. (I don't remember if any or all of those are included in NARS)
Budd definitely is, and there is one called Pensyllvania GG1, which is actually one of the fastest currently available in my game atm. Thanks for the answer, although do you know what it is these trains have in particular that 1-ups existing non-electric locomotives? For example: do they have better acceleration? I'm getting the impression that electrified locomotives tend to be geared (pun not intended) towards short-distance inter-city/express roles. The P GG1's stats in my game seems to be a good example of this. It's fast, has among the best power/TE for the "passenger" engines in NARS2, and the best power/running cost (which I assume means best bang for your buck in terms of power compared to the running cost). This means with short trips between stations it could get up to max speed very quickly on most terrain.

Hopefully there is a reason for me that would justify building a dedicated electric line.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests