Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
alluke
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 329
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 16:26
Location: Finland

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by alluke » 19 Jun 2011 19:04

What about road/railset support?
Image

Nagyzee
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 261
Joined: 05 Jun 2008 16:45
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Nagyzee » 20 Jun 2011 00:22

The Chain Bridge looks fantastic. It will look mighty with two pillars. With more it's a bit odd for me though. I generally dislike the original TTD suspension bridges with more than two pillars too so I'm biased. Imho suspension bridges look weird with 4-5 or even more pillars. Well, nothing stops me from using it with only two pillars though.:D

Btw is a version with support for rail types in the pipeline? I hate it that I can't use this fine grf whenever I use narrow gauge, too.

oberhümer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1283
Joined: 23 Oct 2009 19:35
Location: Here and there, sometime or another

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by oberhümer » 20 Jun 2011 00:46

Nagyzee wrote: Btw is a version with support for rail types in the pipeline? I hate it that I can't use this fine grf whenever I use narrow gauge, too.
It's easier to do that from the track-providing GRF, but of course some (like "Narrow gauge rails") will probably not be updated for a long time, if ever...
--- Licenses: GNU LGPL, version 2 or newer, code and graphics. CC-By-SA, graphics, alternatively. If you're using any, I'd like to hear about it --- Call them "track types" ---
--- Mostly inactive developer for: NuTracks - Central European Train Set --- Running/compiling for: Linux (x86) - Android - Windows (32/64 bit) ---

--- Need a file packer? 7-Zip --- BOINC - use your computing power to benefit science --- Block trackers, not ads --- Unix in dispersible pellets, the formula for the future. ---

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9309
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by planetmaker » 20 Jun 2011 04:00

Nagyzee wrote: Btw is a version with support for rail types in the pipeline? I hate it that I can't use this fine grf whenever I use narrow gauge, too.
Indeed, as oberhumer says, updating any set to match a rail track type is a total waste of time. It's up to the rail type to be implemented as proper railtype NewGRF. Then 95% of these compatibility problems (bridges, roads, terrain) automagically are gone.

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5560
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by wallyweb » 20 Jun 2011 08:58

planetmaker wrote:Indeed, as oberhumer says, updating any set to match a rail track type is a total waste of time. It's up to the rail type to be implemented as proper railtype NewGRF. Then 95% of these compatibility problems (bridges, roads, terrain) automagically are gone.
Note that this only applies to OpenTTD. To infer that it is a total waste of time under TTDPatch is redundant because under TTDPatch, it is the only possible solution.

Unfortunately the railtype feature is not possible/available under TTDPatch even though it does support narrow gauge rail. This means that a bridge set author would have to include a fifth (Assuming that the author is supporting the default TTDP standard gauge, monorail, maglev and road) set of sprites that are drawn with narrow gauge rail as well as coding the set to recognize which rail type is being called for, not to mention deciding whether the ng rails should replace the monorail or the maglev track type (TTDP can only support the same quantity of road/rail types that TTDX features).

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9309
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by planetmaker » 20 Jun 2011 11:56

wallyweb wrote:
planetmaker wrote:Indeed, as oberhumer says, updating any set to match a rail track type is a total waste of time. It's up to the rail type to be implemented as proper railtype NewGRF. Then 95% of these compatibility problems (bridges, roads, terrain) automagically are gone.
Note that this only applies to OpenTTD. To infer that it is a total waste of time under TTDPatch is redundant because under TTDPatch, it is the only possible solution.
Sorry, you're right of course; and I should have known as roughly 50% of the code I wrote and an estimated 80% of the sprites drawn for SwedishRails is needed in order to ensure TTDPatch compatibility.

Nagyzee
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 261
Joined: 05 Jun 2008 16:45
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Nagyzee » 20 Jun 2011 12:23

Apart from TTDP compatibility the other problem is that if someone implements narrow gauge rails as a railtype then it will be compatible with TBRS in OTTD but then the Serbian Narrow Gauge Set won't be compatible with it any more because that is dependant on ngrails.grf. The problem is quite complex. :?

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9309
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by planetmaker » 20 Jun 2011 12:45

Nagyzee wrote:Apart from TTDP compatibility the other problem is that if someone implements narrow gauge rails as a railtype then it will be compatible with TBRS in OTTD but then the Serbian Narrow Gauge Set won't be compatible with it any more because that is dependant on ngrails.grf. The problem is quite complex. :?
Thus it needs an update to either of the sets. Both, the narrow gauge NewGRF as well as the Serbian Trainset obviously it needs that anyway as they don't make use of the new(er) features which allow to handle this independent of a specific grf and independent of bridge sets. And as you raised the issue... an update at some place is needed anyway. Then it can as well be in the right place, the narrow gauge NewGRF. "Just" make an update of it. It could keep its ID and then even the Serbian Tramset will continue work.

Make sure to get permission to do so (I don't know the licenses of either set).

User avatar
alluke
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 329
Joined: 27 Dec 2010 16:26
Location: Finland

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by alluke » 20 Jun 2011 21:50

I think we need separate versions for OTTD and TTDP. :roll:
Image

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9309
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by planetmaker » 21 Jun 2011 05:15

alluke wrote:I think we need separate versions for OTTD and TTDP. :roll:
That's not needed and IMHO not desirable. But in terms of work needed it wouldn't make a difference for track type sets.

Nagyzee
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 261
Joined: 05 Jun 2008 16:45
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Nagyzee » 21 Jun 2011 22:35

planetmaker wrote:
Nagyzee wrote:Apart from TTDP compatibility the other problem is that if someone implements narrow gauge rails as a railtype then it will be compatible with TBRS in OTTD but then the Serbian Narrow Gauge Set won't be compatible with it any more because that is dependant on ngrails.grf. The problem is quite complex. :?
Thus it needs an update to either of the sets. Both, the narrow gauge NewGRF as well as the Serbian Trainset obviously it needs that anyway as they don't make use of the new(er) features which allow to handle this independent of a specific grf and independent of bridge sets. And as you raised the issue... an update at some place is needed anyway. Then it can as well be in the right place, the narrow gauge NewGRF. "Just" make an update of it. It could keep its ID and then even the Serbian Tramset will continue work.

Make sure to get permission to do so (I don't know the licenses of either set).

I can't code nor draw. Yes, I could probably learn to but I don't have the motivation and time right now. I fully accept if what I suggest is not executed but I can still suggest and hope.:)

---

Another suggestion for a dirty but probably easier fix: Release a TBRS version that doesn't alter the wooden bridge and can co-exist with Pikka's viaduct. That way the wooden bridge / viaduct slot could be used for narrow gauge compatibility while the rest of the set would behave the same as currently. Is this a bad idea?

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9309
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by planetmaker » 21 Jun 2011 23:22

Nagyzee wrote:(...)That way the wooden bridge / viaduct slot could be used for narrow gauge compatibility(...)
That's a hack at best and causes problems or difficulties in all cases except this very specific grf combination - especially as the railtypes solution as layed out is future-proof and will work for the general case.

Nagyzee
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 261
Joined: 05 Jun 2008 16:45
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Nagyzee » 21 Jun 2011 23:32

That's why I called it a dirty fix.:P Yes, it would be a solution only for this specific grf combination. In attitude/concept it would be similar to Smaug's derivative grfs. And it would work in TTDP, too. (Would there be a better solution than this for TTDP at all?)

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7418
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Eddi » 22 Jun 2011 09:46

yes, TTDP implementing railtype overlays.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

Mvek
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 Nov 2011 15:36

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Mvek » 26 Nov 2011 16:10

Hi, I have TBR Set 1.12, latest stable OpenTTD and Total Town Replacement Set 3.13, all from the OTTD newgrf online utility (ingame dialog).

Am I the only one, or is there some way to manage to have both sets active with TTRS using its european road graphic? I have set TTRS to use only road, not bridge graphics, but then I have TBRS bridges with the basic road graphics from OTTD or old TTD, not the grey one from TTRS. (it is the similar like first screenshots of other member here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... ge+Renewal)
I have them in the order TTRS and then TBRS (the other order warns me that it is incorrect).

So, is there a way to use bridges from TBRS with roads from TTRS?

User avatar
Level Crossing
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1183
Joined: 07 Feb 2011 22:04
Location: East Coast, United States

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Level Crossing » 26 Nov 2011 16:37

Mvek wrote:Hi, I have TBR Set 1.12, latest stable OpenTTD and Total Town Replacement Set 3.13, all from the OTTD newgrf online utility (ingame dialog).

Am I the only one, or is there some way to manage to have both sets active with TTRS using its european road graphic? I have set TTRS to use only road, not bridge graphics, but then I have TBRS bridges with the basic road graphics from OTTD or old TTD, not the grey one from TTRS. (it is the similar like first screenshots of other member here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... ge+Renewal)
I have them in the order TTRS and then TBRS (the other order warns me that it is incorrect).

So, is there a way to use bridges from TBRS with roads from TTRS?
See this post.
Like my avatar? See my screenshot thread
Chill's Patchpack, an awesome collection of OTTD patches

Mvek
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 26 Nov 2011 15:36

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Mvek » 26 Nov 2011 16:46

Level Crossing wrote:See this post.

Thx a lot, I have still not found out, how to effectively search in these forums.

User avatar
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 391
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 12:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by thgergo » 18 Mar 2012 21:51

A leap ahead, now it has some bridgeheads...
Attachments
.
.
Képernyőkép-12.png (29.44 KiB) Viewed 2068 times
Image
Image

User avatar
SAC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1519
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 16:35
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by SAC » 18 Mar 2012 22:23

Excellent work! :))
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own

User avatar
Badger
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7032
Joined: 10 Sep 2006 19:12
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Badger » 18 Mar 2012 22:27

Woah, lovely stuff.

*licks screen*
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests