Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Hyronymus » 05 Dec 2010 11:11

Hmm, I see. And what about the UK roadset or Combined Roadset? Are they supported?

blitzkrieg
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 105
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 04:22

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by blitzkrieg » 05 Dec 2010 13:14

:idea: Are you by any chance using TBRS 1.11 for TTRSv3 ? :)

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Hyronymus » 05 Dec 2010 14:22

blitzkrieg wrote::idea: Are you by any chance using TBRS 1.11 for TTRSv3 ? :)
Yes, I am.

User avatar
Nite Owl
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1889
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 19:32
Location: In The Dark

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Nite Owl » 06 Dec 2010 00:17

As far as I know only the TTRS modern roads and the US Set modern roads are supported by versions 1.11 as released by smaug. Smaug's release was a derivative of the original work done by thgergo. The original final release version 1.12 only supported the original roads. We will have to wait and see what the future will bring now that thgergo has been poking around the grf once more.
Humor is the second most subjective thing on the planet
------------------------------------------------------------
Brevity is the soul of wit and obscenity is its downfall
--------------------------------------------------------
Good Night And Good Luck - Read You Soon

blitzkrieg
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 105
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 04:22

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by blitzkrieg » 06 Dec 2010 02:57

Hyronymus wrote:
blitzkrieg wrote: :idea: Are you by any chance using TBRS 1.11 for TTRSv3 ? :)
Yes, I am.
:)) Well the default road graphics have been replaced with TTRS roads but without the timeline change. So you will get only modern road graphics on bridges with this version. :mrgreen:
IMO its a small price for using this set with TTRS!! :)

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Hyronymus » 06 Dec 2010 11:42

True, but I was planning on starting a game in the 1850's. And then it's quite a mismatch. Too bad the Combined Roadset isn't supported anymore too, I took quite some effort to enable Purno's bridges in my Combined Roadset v0.10.

User avatar
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 391
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 12:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by thgergo » 07 Dec 2010 21:35

Indeed, there are at the noment no proper support for custom road surfaces within TBRS. There are only photoshopped derivatives with altered surfaces are exist.
The problem is, without the ability to make a road surface overlay, I had to detect, and paint the surfaces within TBRS. In the result, TBRS would most contain more graphic about the corresponding grf, as the original roadset grf..., not mention the boring work with detecting every roadset... I would be more simple integrate the whole roadset, rather than detecting it...

By the way, with OTTD new custom railtypes, this overlaying problem is at least solved:)

Hyronymus wrote:That's what I figured and then the result is as shown below. Surely I don't need to apply a parameter to TBRS?
It seems TBRS bridges accidently have been overwritten by TTRS ones.
Hint : try switching TBRS, and TTRS in the newgrf loading list. So TBRS will overwrite the TTRS ones this time.

It would be possible that, TTRS bridges cant be disabled with its parameters. Even with disabling the TTRS bridges, if you use the TTRS road surfaces, bridges will be replaced because its rod surfaces... Im not sure in that, I havent explored that newgrf too much.
Image
Image

User avatar
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 391
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 12:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by thgergo » 18 Jun 2011 10:41

I have revisited the chain bridge recently, here is the result:
It still lacks of the other orientation. I also plan unique bridgeheads for it.
Attachments
bridge.png
bridge.png (118.26 KiB) Viewed 3432 times
Image
Image

User avatar
colossal404
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 644
Joined: 07 Mar 2009 12:48
Location: Szeged, Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by colossal404 » 18 Jun 2011 11:07

Looks good!
But shouldn't be more space between the pillars? For example the chain should be 4 tiles long, that ould looks more like the real bridge.
Image

oberhümer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1283
Joined: 23 Oct 2009 19:35
Location: Here and there, sometime or another

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by oberhümer » 18 Jun 2011 15:20

I'd make the pillars one or two pixels narrower.
--- Licenses: GNU LGPL, version 2 or newer, code and graphics. CC-By-SA, graphics, alternatively. If you're using any, I'd like to hear about it --- Call them "track types" ---
--- Mostly inactive developer for: NuTracks - Central European Train Set --- Running/compiling for: Linux (x86) - Android - Windows (32/64 bit) ---

--- Need a file packer? 7-Zip --- BOINC - use your computing power to benefit science --- Block trackers, not ads --- Unix in dispersible pellets, the formula for the future. ---

User avatar
Bob_Mackenzie
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 823
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 13:36

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Bob_Mackenzie » 18 Jun 2011 17:15

I rather like the heroic pillars


User avatar
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 391
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 12:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by thgergo » 18 Jun 2011 17:33

colossal404 wrote:Looks good!
But shouldn't be more space between the pillars? For example the chain should be 4 tiles long, that ould looks more like the real bridge.
It doesnt possible unless a complete rewrite in bridge newgrf specs :|
Image
Image

User avatar
colossal404
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 644
Joined: 07 Mar 2009 12:48
Location: Szeged, Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by colossal404 » 18 Jun 2011 17:52

thgergo wrote: It doesnt possible unless a complete rewrite in bridge newgrf specs :|
Then how the long arch bridge works?
Image

User avatar
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 391
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 12:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by thgergo » 18 Jun 2011 18:16

colossal404 wrote:
thgergo wrote: It doesnt possible unless a complete rewrite in bridge newgrf specs :|
Then how the long arch bridge works?
The length of that bridge is very limited, that does the magic. I can define only 6 unique tiles per tile + bridgeheads, this prohibits more detailed bridges to code. The tied arch uses all of these sprites. And the layout cant be changed, its only suspension style repeating pattern.

Code: Select all

_0(23)253(23)1_
newgrf specs

Also I have changed the width of the pillars:
Attachments
thinner.png
thinner.png (165.76 KiB) Viewed 3256 times
Image
Image

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7418
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by Eddi » 18 Jun 2011 19:26

something i find ever so annoying is the missing white dashes on the ramp of the brick/suspension bridge
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by V453000 :) » 18 Jun 2011 23:19

Eddi wrote:something i find ever so annoying is the missing white dashes on the ramp of the brick/suspension bridge
yes :( and it doesnt even really work with original roads in temperate climate

anyway, the pillar bridge is absolutely awesome! :shock: :shock: :shock:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 391
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 12:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by thgergo » 18 Jun 2011 23:27

V453000 :) wrote:
Eddi wrote:something i find ever so annoying is the missing white dashes on the ramp of the brick/suspension bridge
yes :( and it doesnt even really work with original roads in temperate climate

anyway, the pillar bridge is absolutely awesome! :shock: :shock: :shock:
Thanks :)) The missing dashes can be painted easily, I just haven't paid enough attention to fix those in Pikkabird's viaduct sprites.
Image
Image

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by V453000 :) » 19 Jun 2011 13:14

Oh and one more thing ... (I hope this thread is also related to the japanese version of TBRS 1.12)
When adding the bridges to japanese train v2.1 set loaded, it refuses to work with japanese train set having 1st parameter on value 4 (switching shinkansen to maglev).
But when I add v2 beta8 where shinkansens are on maglev, the bridges work just fine.

Would it be possible to make it work?

Cheers! V.
ImageImageImage

User avatar
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 391
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 12:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Total Bridge Renewal Set: version 1.12

Post by thgergo » 19 Jun 2011 14:20

V453000 :) wrote:Oh and one more thing ... (I hope this thread is also related to the japanese version of TBRS 1.12)
When adding the bridges to japanese train v2.1 set loaded, it refuses to work with japanese train set having 1st parameter on value 4 (switching shinkansen to maglev).
But when I add v2 beta8 where shinkansens are on maglev, the bridges work just fine.

Would it be possible to make it work?

Cheers! V.
I haven't participated doing that extension, so I don't know how should that feature behave...
Image
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests