Refit default rvs to new cargos

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by PaulC » 04 Nov 2007 03:25

One of the main problems I have in TTD is the inability to transport new cargo types using the default road vehicles. But no more! :) I've coded this grf primarily for use with PBI and NewCargo, but I've also made it generalised enough to (hopefully) work with other industry sets. I tried it with the Tourist Set, ECS Basic and the OCCS test grf, and it all seemed to work fine.

In addition, I have also made this grf compatibile with HOVS UK Bus Set, so that the busses can be refit to carry other passenger types (i.e. tourists) and the Model T goods van can be refit to just about anything.

I'm not sure how well it works with other rv sets (obviously you wouldn't want to use it with Long Vehicles), but hopefully it doesn't conflict with any tram sets.
Attachments
Gratuitous screenshot
Gratuitous screenshot
refit_rvs.png (24.81 KiB) Viewed 13349 times
refit_rvs.zip
Download grf
(590 Bytes) Downloaded 1503 times

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by DanMacK » 04 Nov 2007 11:39

Nice. I kept meaning to suggest something for this, just never got around to it... lol

Awesome work.

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by Villem » 04 Nov 2007 12:30

A most commendable effort, i've been missing something like this for a long time! :)

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17209
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by Dave » 04 Nov 2007 14:54

Good call mate. Another great .grf from you!
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

Stormcrow
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Oct 2007 13:25

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by Stormcrow » 28 Dec 2007 22:10

How difficult would it be to do the same thing to trains?

Sorry I'm a noob but I looked at the grf and apparently it contains no sprites. So I assume the grf only tells the game to add functions to existing elements right? Or does it overwrite the orders without overwriting the graphics?

So what would I need to do the same to the corresponding wagons for train/monorail/maglev? Simply the names/numbers of the wagons or would it be more straightforward to grab the sprites from the main grf, change the cargo, make a grf and voila?

Youri219
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 191
Joined: 28 Apr 2007 11:53

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by Youri219 » 29 Dec 2007 10:46

Stormcrow wrote:How difficult would it be to do the same thing to trains?
There is a ECS wagon set already somewhere, which only modifies wagons. I think I got mine from the OTTDcoop grf set, but I'm not sure.

Stormcrow
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Oct 2007 13:25

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by Stormcrow » 29 Dec 2007 21:09

I have found the necessary grf HERE

Thanks a lot!

User avatar
Johann
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 25
Joined: 26 Mar 2008 12:09

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by Johann » 25 Feb 2010 21:25

Of course I appreciate that owing to this extension, can be obtained new types of cargo, however it is not fully realistic and compatible with program ttdpatch. Below simple example - Truck to transport coal has the ability to refit transported load of coal on gravel, converts a name instead of the image charge. After the refit operation the car still have icon of the cargo of coal, instead of icon gravel. A similar situation occurs when trying to convert car to transport iron ore, the cargo named clay pit. It was nice to see an updated version extension "refit_rvs.zip"

Regards Joahnn
Attachments
Przykład.jpg
Przykład.jpg (125.57 KiB) Viewed 8333 times

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by DanMacK » 25 Feb 2010 21:33

The set is strictly to allow the vehicles to carry added cargos. Doesn't look like graphics for the added cargoes were done. Maybe someone will add the necessary graphics eventually.

User avatar
Johann
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 25
Joined: 26 Mar 2008 12:09

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by Johann » 27 Feb 2010 12:17

Besides could improve the compatibility this extension throughout expand the list of patch cooperating with them beyond the original graphics truck fleet game Tycoon and "HOVS UK Bus Set" For example also http://george.zernebok.net/newgrf/lv.html

Regards Johann

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: Refit default rvs to new cargos

Post by PaulC » 28 Feb 2010 10:39

This was only meant to be a simple grf to make the default rvs playable with new cargos, I'm afraid new graphics were never on the agenda and it's not something I'm terribly interested in doing now -- sorry!

Nice to see people making use of it though. :D

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Arnoud, p4nzer and 11 guests