Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:51 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 1053
#wwottdgd is in need of a celebration grf - as a little thank you, the only thing we can offer is adding the grf to the #openttdcoop grf pack, which is just before the next release (6).

as the first #wwottdgd will be on Saturday 27th October 2007, there is not a lot of time left.
if we get a grf by then, it will be added to the #openttdcoop grf pack as a thankyou - the release of version 6 (which currently is still beta) of that pack is being held back just for that until that game starts.

if we get multiple grf's, either we shall choose one, or we call a public voting, depending on the amount of time left.
if they archieve slightly different goals, there might be a chance more than one of each type can get in :-)

If you are interested and are going to support this call, please let us know. posting a reply and specifying which you are going to invest into, would be helpful.

Even if someone is already working on something - do not feel discouraged to contribute - we need all help we can get, + it looks like more games are to come, so your work is more likely to get used in one of them :-)

What we are looking for:

eyecandy celebration / party grf
something that will make the towns look like some celebration / party is going on

modified building costs grf for raizing lowering land and building tunnels/bridges
parametric with exponential params (i.e. 1 = normal, 2 = 4x, 3= 8x, 4=16x, etc)

replacing transmitters with borders
we are going to use transmitters in the map to make a clear line for boarders... like every 10-25 tiles
anything that comes to mind (e.g. wall of china) can be usefull here.
example: http://www.grensekom.no/bilder/grensevakten.jpg


thank you.


Last edited by dihedral on Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:23 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:59 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:29 pm
Posts: 319
Location: Sheffield, England
I'm going to try to draw something :D Will need a coder though :(

_________________
Rasing Awareness: Aspergers Syndrome 1 (NAS UK)2 (BBC)3 (YaleDDC)


Something is driving you insane... It is me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
I think it's time for me to start playing around with pixels again :)

I'll try to draw the transmitter -> border thing.
Don't be disappointed, if I draw something ugly at first, because, I can draw the Great Wall :D:D much better in Blender than in gimp.

P.S Are the borders going to be like
Code:
                      
                                                     -----------------\
                                                                      \---------------


or
Code:
_                                _                         _                
                                                                               \                 _                    _



_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 1053
as mentioned in the first post:
dihedral wrote:
like every 10-25 tiles


that is because we dont want to 'close' the borders 100% to allow tracks crossing borders later on in the game...

thank you very much for putting effort into this, we really appreciate knowing that people are working on this, and that our 'vision' of this game is moving towards completion :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Ok, I made a little frankenstaining and pixel-art.

What do you think of it?
The palette is in place I just saved it as png to show you. It should replace the transmitter with toll building.
Attachment:
wwottdgd.png
wwottdgd.png [ 1.77 KiB | Viewed 7477 times ]

The company colours might be like the brown roof, if needed.

EDIT: I gimped a fake screenie too


Attachments:
screenshot#1NOT.png
screenshot#1NOT.png [ 11.78 KiB | Viewed 7437 times ]

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 12:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 1053
that looks great :-) company colors will not be needed, as it will just replace the transmitter :-)
looking forward to seeing a 'real' screenshot :-)

thank you for your effort...


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 12:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
i have a dorty little idea... Does it have any function at all, but eyecandy?.. if so then I can convert it to "32bpp sprite" so I don't have to learn grffing
Then everybody just has to start the game with 32bpp blitter and see these buildings not the original ones. that goes for the streetlights also..

What an interesting exploition plan...
I will make the tar ready and then ask for the opinion :D

EDIT: Now made it png and pngcodeced.. Look at it. If it's ok the tar will come. i removed the different grass from there so the grass now is just represented by the same sprite, than the original


Attachments:
screenshot#1YES.png
screenshot#1YES.png [ 87.8 KiB | Viewed 7409 times ]

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 12:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 1053
wow - that is great - yes, please do post the grf here :-)
it is just needed as eyecandy, no function, nothing.

Thank you very much


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:06 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:29 pm
Posts: 319
Location: Sheffield, England
Quick question, do the water colours cycle on their own or does that need coding into the GRF?

_________________
Rasing Awareness: Aspergers Syndrome 1 (NAS UK)2 (BBC)3 (YaleDDC)


Something is driving you insane... It is me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
They do that on their own. It's a palette feature.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Ok, now. The tar file is here. It changes the transmitter to a customs house.
The applying process is simple as always.
Because the #wwottdgd revision is based on the nightlys, it works there too. (already tested)

Edit: Because I have a working grf downstairs :) I removed this tar

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Last edited by LordAzamath on Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 1053
could you actually give us a grf, non 32bbp ? that would be more suiteable, for the game and for the openttdcoop grf pack


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Then someone else must do that. I'm total outcast concerning grfs :(

I could try to make my way through the sprite replacing with the manual in hand, but the other people could do it much much faster.
anyways I'll see what can I do..

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:05 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
lordazamath wrote:
Then someone else must do that. I'm total outcast concerning grfs :(

I could try to make my way through the sprite replacing with the manual in hand, but the other people could do it much much faster.
anyways I'll see what can I do..


Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 7)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
    0 * 4    03 00 00 00

    1 * 32    08 06 "LA01" "Toll Booth" 00 "By lordazamath" 00
    2 * 5    0A 01 01 \w2601
    (your sprite here, check the specs on real sprites)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
Thanks A LOT. :D By that time I saw this post I already had a grf that worked, but I had to change one color, a brownish one, because it's a block cycles color.

My grf was modified trasmitter replacement

Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 7)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
    0 * 4    04 00 00 00
    1 * 87    08 02 "TR" 01 07 "Transmitter" 00 "Created by Andres "
    "Zsogon. Visit TTD Urban Renewal "
    "for more graphics." 00
    2 * 5    0A 01 01 29 0A
    3 sprites/customs_housew.pcx 65 8 09 46 47 -22 -33


this is my code, but I'll replace it with whatI got from you, Pikkabird, because then I can "legally" remove the lines "Created by Andres "
"Zsogon. Visit TTD Urban Renewal " :D

Ok, I didn't press the button submit and now I'm ready with the grf. It works -> my first grf :D
Attachment:
customs_housew.grf [1.11 KiB]
Downloaded 161 times

I added some blinkers there :D enjoy
Thanks Pikka
Lord
EDIT: Fixed the lighnting angle.

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Last edited by LordAzamath on Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:18 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:29 pm
Posts: 319
Location: Sheffield, England
Jumping on "I need help with GRFs" train, how would I code a fountain replacement GRF?
Would be nice to have generating/accepting pax and accepting some food as well :D

_________________
Rasing Awareness: Aspergers Syndrome 1 (NAS UK)2 (BBC)3 (YaleDDC)


Something is driving you insane... It is me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
AntBUK wrote:
Jumping on "I need help with GRFs" train, how would I code a fountain replacement GRF?
Would be nice to have generating/accepting pax and accepting some food as well :D


Going to the 1st class seat on train#I need help with GRFs how can I replace the name for the toll booth/customs house?
Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 7)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
    0 * 4    04 00 00 00

    1 * 32    08 06 "LA01" "Toll Booth" 00 "By LordAzamath" 00
    2 * 5    0A 01 01 \w2601   
    3 sprites/customs_housew.pcx 65 8 09 46 47 -22 -33
//  <Sprite-number> * <Length>        04 <feature> <language-id> <num-ent> <offset> <text>
    4               * ??              04 48        01            ??        5801     "Toll Booth"
// What should I put in those ??s ? I think that 48 is the feature, because it can't be train or house..
// offset is supposed to be 5801 - transmitter. Do I have to change anything else?

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 6:46 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:29 pm
Posts: 319
Location: Sheffield, England
Ok, here's what I've got so far :D
Attachment:
newfountain.png
newfountain.png [ 1.69 KiB | Viewed 7134 times ]


I'm going to put some more people in and make it a PCX later, I just want to know what people think for now.

Critics please note, this is my first attempt :D

It should look brilliant when put into the game :D

_________________
Rasing Awareness: Aspergers Syndrome 1 (NAS UK)2 (BBC)3 (YaleDDC)


Something is driving you insane... It is me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 1656
AntBUK wrote:
Ok, here's what I've got so far :D
Attachment:
newfountain.png


I'm going to put some more people in and make it a PCX later, I just want to know what people think for now.

Critics please note, this is my first attempt :D

It should look brilliant when put into the game :D


It looks brilliant even right now :D
Actually are you sure you want to make it produce passengers? Because then you should make the houses emptier :wink:

_________________
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:45 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
lordazamath wrote:
Code:
//  <Sprite-number> * <Length>        04 <feature> <language-id> <num-ent> <offset> <text>
    4               * ??              04 48        01            ??        5801     "Toll Booth"
// What should I put in those ??s ? I think that 48 is the feature, because it can't be train or house..
// offset is supposed to be 5801 - transmitter. Do I have to change anything else?

<length> is exactly what it says: the length of the sprite, in bytes. Same for <num-ent>: the number of entries (in this case, strings) in the sprite.

As for <offset>, I think you need to read GRFActionsDetailed a little more closely.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.