Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:20 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:15 pm
Posts: 1734
It's not much, and it doesn't even have its own graphics, but it's a start (to what? Don't ask...I'm sure NFO coding has some sort of link with trichotillomania). In fact, I only put in the necessary code to make it a real GRF. The action0 line was written by Pikkabird (but he gave me the incorrect number of bytes, so I had to figure out what went wrong all by myself :(
Code:
1 * 1    00 0A 03 01 18 08 18 09 18 1A 41 00 00 00
The * 1 should clearly be * 14).

You're probably wondering what this GRF does. Well, it makes Sub-Tropical fields copy the behaviour of their Temperate and Sub-Arctic friends, namely, regenerate. Before this GRF, when Sub-Tropical fields were dynamited, they would disappear forever. No more! I hope this can contribute to your TTDP experience, so go download it!

I've tested it in OTTD. It doesn't work in 0.5.2 where it's needed, and it's redundant in the nightlies, where fields already regenerate.


Attachments:
subtropicfield.grf [105 Bytes]
Downloaded 1224 times

_________________
Image
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 92
Location: Vienna
Very nice!

Thx

_________________
E pur si muove!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
here is something else I think that should be fixed.
when you buy land you get brown dirt underneath:
a small grf would make this look better by changing flat land to sprite 3981 or 4000 and the others repectively
and mabey use the left sprite below rather than the right one.


Attachments:
4790.png
4790.png [ 577 Bytes | Viewed 6364 times ]

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3375
Location: Estonia
Signs are so ugly, I would be happy if there is some better replacement for them!

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:15 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5306
Location: The Moon
m3henry wrote:
here is something else I think that should be fixed.
when you buy land you get brown dirt underneath:


Haven't you suggested this before?

You can't replace the brown dirt for purchased land without replacing the brown dirt everywhere else too.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
surely that can be changed so a different sprite is called?

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:29 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5306
Location: The Moon
m3henry wrote:
surely that can be changed so a different sprite is called?


Yes, but not in a grf. You'd have to write a patch.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:45 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
I'm sure it can, m3henry. Go for it.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
time to learn nfo :?
will GRFmaker help me achive this?

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:37 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
I seriously doubt GRFMaker will help. And, although NFO will necessary for actually loading the new sprite, the required code will probably be pretty simple, and that's probably one of the last things you need to do. You'll have to learn i386 assembly (and the TTDPatch dialect thereof) first.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:54 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17150
Location: Harringay, North London
DaleStan wrote:
I seriously doubt GRFMaker will help. And, although NFO will necessary for actually loading the new sprite, the required code will probably be pretty simple, and that's probably one of the last things you need to do. You'll have to learn i386 assembly (and the TTDPatch dialect thereof) first.


Which basically means... No, you can't.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 9:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
this is me right now. :arrow: ?( i386 is mentioned once in the ttdpatch wiki, and it's to do with wine :? so i haven't a clue where to start.
p.s. dave, I got the message without the dummy guide

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2007 10:56 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
i386, IA-32 and x86-32 are all names for the processor architecture and/or instruction set first introduced with the Intel 80386, and extended, repeatedly, with the 80486, Pentiums, and various later Intel, AMD, and Cyrix processors. I say specifically "i386 assembly language", and not "x86 assembly language" (which would probably provide better results) because TTDPatch uses only those instructions supported by the Intel 80386.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 10:09 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
I'm assuming this has something to do with action A, or would that replace all dirt-sprites with grass?

EDIT: now I know that you were talking about patching, I'm even more confused

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My first .GRF
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:58 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:40 pm
Posts: 610
Location: Lancs, England
(back on topic...)

A nice little grf! :) However, there are a couple of things I've noticed:

1. When the grf is active in temperate or arctic, you get a second farm type which produces only grain.

2. In tropic, this grf allows farms to be built in the desert (usually they can't) where any fields they generate are immediately destroyed. Is this intentional?

_________________
My projects: New Town Names | Snow Aware Arctic Buildings | Custom Buildings | Mini GRFs | Bits & Bobs
Contributions: BK Enhanced Tunnel Set | Fix TTD GRF Bugs | INFRA Foundations | OpenGFX | OpenGFX+ Airports
Other stuff: The GRFs That Time Forgot! | Buildings in Glasgow

What's that in my avatar? It's the Brighton & Rottingdean Seashore Electric Railway - bonkers Victorian engineering!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.