Dutch Tram Set Release Candidate 1 released 2008/08/12

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13205
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Hyronymus »

MOTOR UNITS
HTM "Tweeramers"
#1-#10: Werkspoor, Amsterdam; #11-#20: Van der Zypen & Charlier, Keulen
Image


HTM "Fordjes"
#21-#150: Werkspoor, Amsterdam (50 with 2x 25 HP engines + 80 with 2x 19 HP engines)
Image


HTM "Ombouwers"
#22: HTM Central Depot; #21 + #23-#101: Beijnes, Brugeoise, HAWA and Schöndorff
Image


HTM "Laagdakkers"
#151-#168: Werkspoor, Amsterdam
(Technically identical to the "Fordjes" but with a lower roof to drive through the arched gates of the Binnenhof)
Image


HTM "Rotterdammers"
#171-#184: Allan, Rotterdam
Image


HTM "Kegelbaan"
#200: Werkspoor, Amsterdam
(The first 4-axle city tram in The Netherlands; reconstructed as wagon #300 "Zeppelin")
Image



HTM "Zwitsers"
#201-#216: Werkspoor, Utrecht
Image


HTM "250-ers"
#250-#299: HAWA, Hannover (D)
Image


HTM "800-en"
#801-#830: Allan, Rotterdam
Image


HTM "PCC 1000-tjes"
#1001-#1024: La Brugeoise, Brugge (B)
Image


HTM "PCC 1100-en"
#1101-#1200: La Brugeoise, Brugge (B)
Image


HTM "PCC 1200-en"
#1201-#1240: La Brugeoise, Brugge (B)
Image


HTM "PCC 1300-en" + "PCC 2100-en" (wagons)
#1301-#1340 + #2101-#2130: La Brugeoise, Brugge (B)
Image
Image


HTM "GTL8-I"
#3001-#3100: La Brugeoise et Nivelles, Brugge (B)
Image


HTM "GTL8-II"
#3101-#3147: La Brugeoise et Nivelles, Brugge (B)
Image


HTM "TW600-en"
#6037-#6099: Düwag (D)
Image


Wagons

HTM "Stoomwagens"
#151-#157: Manufacturer unknown
Image


HTM "Aanhangrijtuigen"
#901-#910: Allan-Rotterdam; #911-#920: La Brugeoise-Brugge
Image


HTM "Aanhangrijtuigen"
Other types are quite mixed, see this page for a selection.

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Purno »

Nice research Hyro! :D
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
jvassie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3420
Joined: 18 Dec 2002 18:00
Location: High Wycombe, England
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by jvassie »

Purno wrote:Nice research Hyro! :D
Indeed, thats some good researching done there :D

And as i said on MSN, hit me up when i get back from France, and ill help you with the forum overhaul :wink:
(British) Modular Stations Set - Thread: | Website:
Swiss Set - Thread: | Website:
Route Map Creator
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by FooBar »

jvassie wrote: forum overhaul
You mean website, don't you?

Anyways, I did manage to find a website with lots of images: http://world.nycsubway.org/eu/nl/index.html Might come in handy.

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

The #171-#184: Allan, Rotterdam is already drawn :D It is the 152 - 201 series. There have been several upgrades in this serie but the plating / outerside of the tram remains quite the same. I think I will replace the 127 - 152 serie in a werkspoor tram from Amsterdam.

Something else, at page 1 There was a question if the drawing was missing some pixels. I saw Purno has post his tram but it is 8 pixels. I do not draw 8 pix trams but 6 pix in wide. Just like the servian (first) tram. It sound OK to me cause a tram is a bit smaller than a train. But will it give trouble with coding?

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Purno »

FooBar wrote:
jvassie wrote: forum overhaul
You mean website, don't you?

Anyways, I did manage to find a website with lots of images: http://world.nycsubway.org/eu/nl/index.html Might come in handy.
http://www.railfaneurope.net seems to have quite some pictures of Dutch trams too.

EDIT:
Something else, at page 1 There was a question if the drawing was missing some pixels. I saw Purno has post his tram but it is 8 pixels. I do not draw 8 pix trams but 6 pix in wide. Just like the servian (first) tram. It sound OK to me cause a tram is a bit smaller than a train. But will it give trouble with coding?
Making vehicles smaller (or thinner, in Real Life width and height) isn't a problem. There's merely limitations in the vehicle lengths. EDIT2: AFAIK.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

View this! Wanna picture, you will get a picture :mrgreen: http://members.chello.nl/wiers/tram/

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by FooBar »

I think trams should be as wide as default road vehicles. Modern trams are probably a bit wider (especially RandstadRail) than those old ones.

I'd like to suggest that the widest tram should be as wide as a default RV. More width equals more pixels to work with, a bit easier to put all details in IMO. Just make sure that a tram is wide enough for it's tracks and it should be fine.

In terms of coding it doesn't matter how wide a vehicle is. Even vehicles with a 1px width can be coded, will look weird though, but it can be done.

*goes looking for default vehicle sprites*

Ah, here we go. Those default vehicles are 8px wide.

I saw that too, but forgot the url :oops:
Attachments
default-bus.png
default-bus.png (1.22 KiB) Viewed 4324 times

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

It's just strange a bus is as wide a train. I have seen a train been transported by a heavy load lorry. Give me a break. It was at least 80 cm wider. But that's real life. TTD almost :baby: I think I will draw the trams 6 pix as I already that. Saves me some work :mrgreen: But newer trams are a little wider as the old ones. Those will be 8 pixels. OK to everyone?

I have also changed the oldest drawing I made. I have put some texture in it. Not much but I think just enough Also changed the pantograph. Gheeee that's a tough one... Spend a few hours on it but still its... nah. Someone an idea? :?
Attachments
Allan_127_151_ver2.PNG
Allan_127_151_ver2.PNG (2.08 KiB) Viewed 4316 times

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by DaleStan »

Hyronymus wrote:HTM "Tweeramers"
#1-#10: Werkspoor, Amsterdam; #11-#20: Van der Zypen & Charlier, Keulen
*AHEM*AHEM*

You're table breaking. On 1280x1024. Stop it.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

The second drawing, the 152-201 series, is also changed. The texture and the pantographs are changed. Already started on the werkspoor 21-150. I would like to see it in a tramset with the Allan 152-201.
Last edited by Rendall on 27 Jul 2007 20:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Caelan
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 412
Joined: 23 Dec 2005 12:56
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Caelan »

Just some quick information about trams in cities: (all in dutch though)

Nijmegen:
http://home.planet.nl/~resin009/gtn/

Arnhem
http://www.arneym.nl/00000098aa0ec7d0a/ ... index.html
http://www.tramfoto.nl/ah1nl.htm

Haarlem:
http://home.hetnet.nl/~tram/TS/groepen/ ... arlem.html

And below all former tramcities:

* Arnhem (opening in 1880, electrification from 1911) → 'Arnhemse tram'
o Last appearance on 17 september 1944
* Enschede (opening 5 juli 1908, last appearance 28 februari 1933) (TET)
* Groningen (opening in 1880, electrification from 1910) → 'Gemeentetram Groningen'
o Closed in 1949,
* Haarlem (opening in 1878 (electrification from 1899) → 'Haarlemse tram'
o Closed in 1948, (NZH-Tram line Amsterdam – Haarlem – Zandvoort was still functioning until 1957)
* Heerlen (opening in 1923, closed in 1950)
* Leiden (opening in 1879, electrification from 1911, closed in 1961)
* Nijmegen (opening in 1889, electrification from 1911) → 'Nijmeegse tram'
o closed in 1955
* Utrecht (opening in 1879, electrification from 1906) → 'Utrechtse tram'
o closed in 1939, while the NBM-tram Utrecht – Zeist was until 1949)
* Vlissingen (opening in 1885 (electrification from 1910), closed in 1944)
Image

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

Pfffff, last but not least the unfinished Werkspoor_21_150. I know I have to texture all of them and repaint the right one. The top of the tram is realy tricky. :? And those pantographs.... They are my worst nightmare at this very moment :x But please your comments! Or pick them and repaint them. The same figure next of it marked red the changes and lets compare. Good night. 18+ I have a woman waiting in bed :mrgreen:
Attachments
werkspoor21_150_1.jpg
werkspoor21_150_1.jpg (22.61 KiB) Viewed 4239 times
werkspoor21_150_2.jpg
werkspoor21_150_2.jpg (14.7 KiB) Viewed 4241 times
Werkspoor_21_150.PNG
Werkspoor_21_150.PNG (2.14 KiB) Viewed 4239 times

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13205
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Hyronymus »

This project is on a rolling start, I hope we find enough drivers :P.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by FooBar »

@Rendall:

Shouldn't each vehicle have 8 sprites in stead of 4? Currently, you've only drawn |, / and \ views form the front. It's very plausible that in the game a vehicle is looked at from the back. In that case it should show red taillights instead of yellow headlights.

@Hyronymus:

A rolling start indeed. I hope it keeps rolling until the finish line.


I'm gonna see if I can draw me an Amsterdam Combino. Shouldn't be too hard for a start, they're pretty straight-forward.

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

OK.. because I haven't get much comment I consider that as a go. I have to go on with drawing so here is my first announcement :)

[edit] there have been one.. will answer it after my announcement

Announcement:

* I have put the Allan 127 - 151 on hold. I have a very reliable source of the trams in Rotterdam but a member of the dutch tramset team told me the border of the Netherlands is not the same as the city of Rotterdam :lol: I have decided to choose a tram from Amsterdam as the 1st tram in the drawing set. Can be changed later on but at this moment it is 8) :

* The Werkspoor 21 - 150 build in 1906 till 1935/1940. Tricky tram because there are batteries on top of the tram (I think). Also the datasheet is a tricky one. Website 1 published 2 x 48 kW !!! engines ans website 2 tells me 2 x 25.... very urly turboprop electric engines :mrgreen: (not taken serious)
I have decided to give them 2 x 22 kW in the data sheet. Also because the other tram in this alfa drawing release is a bit bigger, should be a little faster... well, it's a little game play strategic choice. :idea: And the 2nd in the drawing set is....

* The Allan 152 -201 build in 1913 till 1940/1945. Although the workshop was bombed away on the 14th of may 1940 Allan was able to continue in a workshop in Schiedam (west of Rotterdam) with spare parts from damaged vehicles. (Source: grandparents :D ) Datasheet is alright.

The older trams had engine vehicles and towed vehicles. Maybe it is a nice idea to draw them too. Both trams had towed wagons attached in busy times. But I don't know if that can be coded or if it will cost me an ID

After this I will start with a Rdam/Adam tram and a The Hague/Arnhem tram from the era 1925 - 1940.

[edit] Foobar is trying a Adam tram from 2002

________________________
Attachments
Drawing Allan 127 - 151 (on hold)
Drawing Allan 127 - 151 (on hold)
Allen_127_151.PNG (2.08 KiB) Viewed 4146 times
Photo 1 Werkspoor 21 - 150
Photo 1 Werkspoor 21 - 150
werkspoor21_150_1.jpg (22.61 KiB) Viewed 4149 times
Photo 2 Werkspoor 21 -150
Photo 2 Werkspoor 21 -150
werkspoor21_150_2.jpg (14.7 KiB) Viewed 4143 times

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

Cause off the 3 attachment limit on a post
Attachments
Werkspoor_21_150_alfa.PNG
Werkspoor_21_150_alfa.PNG (2.88 KiB) Viewed 4133 times
Werkspoor_21_150.txt
(152 Bytes) Downloaded 74 times

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

And the other drawing release....
Attachments
Photo Allan 152 - 201
Photo Allan 152 - 201
Allan_152_201.jpg (13.52 KiB) Viewed 4134 times
Allan_152_201.txt
Datasheet
(153 Bytes) Downloaded 69 times
Drawing
Drawing
Allan_152_201_alfa.PNG (2.91 KiB) Viewed 4132 times

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11911
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Ameecher »

Hmmm, not bad :) One thing I am curious about though is for some reason you have drawn a _ view and a | view on a line of their own, what is the purpose of these sprites?
coronation.PNG
coronation.PNG (1.42 KiB) Viewed 4134 times
Also you may want to have a look at a sprite I drew for a 8 view tram, sure it's not brilliant but it gives you an idea and may help give the tram a bit of life, particularily the windows. :)

Edit will follow in a moment ;)

Edit: I strongly recommend that you do draw all your trams to the recognised scale, yes some trams are narrower and you can draw them to reflect this fact but instead of drawing them so they are narrower you have drawn them so they are proportionally small in all views which will cause them to almost be lost in the TT World.
size standard.PNG
size standard.PNG (452 Bytes) Viewed 4128 times
There is the size standard which should be the size of your last tram that you drew, in my opinion 4 pixels is too narrow, my "narrow" trams in the UKTS are 5 pixels wide instead of 6.
Image

User avatar
Rendall
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 143
Joined: 03 Jun 2007 17:27
Location: Netherlands

Re: Start Dutch Tramset

Post by Rendall »

[edit] New post by Ameecher first finished my answer to Foobar

@ FooBar

I have explained it yesterday earlier in the forum I think. I draw with 5 pix wideness at this moment. Later on, with newer trams it will become 6 pix wide and the modern trams I will draw 7 pix. That's why I asked before... is it a problem with coding? A train is 8 pix wide. A tram or bus and freight lorries are not that big. I have seen a train beeing transported at a heavy load hauler and even that it was 80 cm wider. In the game all vehicles (Train, bus and freigthers) are 8 pix by default. But as I already told above.. that's weird.

Ans I have finished the release drawings with a backward view. Without a red light because the trams didn't have back lights in the beginning I think :P Another small detail :mrgreen:

Did I give you the answers you need? And, but that's maybe to fast, can you start coding with the data you have or do I have to help you with something else?

Rgrds,

Rendall

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests