[Univ] Generic Tram Set (v0.4)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2831
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Post by Zephyris »

Re: Ameecher
CC or 2CC? i dont understand...

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11911
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Post by Ameecher »

Does the set use only 1 company colour or both of the company colours? Ie like UKRS or NARS where you can select 2 colours that your trains will appear in?

I can't make myself any clearer ;)
Image

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2831
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Post by Zephyris »

Just one company colour, matches with the buses :)

Roujin
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1884
Joined: 08 Apr 2007 04:07

Post by Roujin »

ooooooh, articulated RVs are there? awesome! O_O

I hope you find someone to help you code them Zephyris :) can't wait to see the next version with articulated ones :shock:

User avatar
Ben_K
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1166
Joined: 01 Jun 2006 15:15
Location: Sydney, AUS

Post by Ben_K »

Zephyris wrote:Just one company colour, matches with the buses :)
Hmmm... might be a nice touch to add a stripe in 2nd CC or something? 2cc is a great addition and would add that extra edge to your set ;)

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Post by WWTBAM »

..... and would also break compatability with TTDPatch if the author wishes to stay compatible with TTDPatch.
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5465
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird »

robotboy wrote:..... and would also break compatability with TTDPatch if the author wishes to stay compatible with TTDPatch.
Wu?

TTDPatch had 2cc before OpenTTD did... :roll:

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2831
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Post by Zephyris »

A little teaser...
Code hijacked from hirotrams to test the sprites.
Attachments
articulatedtramteaser.png
articulatedtramteaser.png (77.44 KiB) Viewed 4628 times

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Post by WWTBAM »

PikkaBird wrote:
robotboy wrote:..... and would also break compatability with TTDPatch if the author wishes to stay compatible with TTDPatch.
Wu?

TTDPatch had 2cc before OpenTTD did... :roll:
my post was meant to be in reply to Akalamania or whatever but people posted inbetween
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/

User avatar
Ben_K
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1166
Joined: 01 Jun 2006 15:15
Location: Sydney, AUS

Post by Ben_K »

Great work Zephyris! 8)

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan »

Not noticing that there are five posts between yours and the one you intended to reply to. :shock:

That takes talent, roboboy.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem »

And he can't spell a nickname with 6 A's in it correctly, most apparently someone didn't attend to their math classes too much.

But anyways, Roboboy isn't your point kind of obivius? Though, it wouldn't be too hard to reallocate id's in a separate grf, for TTDPatch compatibility..

fabca2
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 15:18
Location: Fr

Post by fabca2 »

This GRF is just excellent !

Just, I would like to suggest something :
make the capacity higher and running cost higer for most of your tram. (that will make them attractive, if you want to pay for a good service level)

Zephyris wrote:

Code: Select all

Name                  Price   Speed  Run Cst  Intro  Lifetme Capac  Power Weight
                      £       mph    £/yr     yr     yr             hp    tons
Balough Passenger     6024    25     702      1934   22      35     50    8
SH Jubilee Passenger  6234    45     768      1957   22      40     80    14
SH Royal Passenger    6690    50     985      1983   22      60     120   26
Foster Passenger      7038    60     1056     2009   22      70     200   32
A2020 Passenger       6980    60     802      2024   22      70     330   40
MPS Mail              5980    25     687      1935   22      27     80    14
SH 08 Mail            6182    45     792      1975   22      32     120   26
SH 2000 Mail          6500    50     1002     2014   22      41     200   32
Balogh Goods          6128    25     702      1933   22      19     80    14
Manley-Morel Goods    6457    45     814      1973   22      24     120   26
Floss Goods           6780    50     1014     2012   22      28     200   32

For example, to give an idea, last year, in my town, a new tram line have been created, capacity is 200 passengers (to 270 max), speed is up to 70km/h, running cost is maybe high... and Power is 688kW !!!

PS : for thoses interrested, it's a "citadis" (brand).
technical details (in french, sorry) here : http://perso.orange.fr/florent.brisou/Fiche%20Lyon.htm

that's where I took these figures.

My advices,
- multiply the capacity person by two, (by 3 for tram after 1980)
- multiply running cost by 2 or 3 too
- increase hp power for recent ones (after 2000)

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17210
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave »

But remember that all capacity levels are edited for usefulness in TTD.

The passenger carriage in the original game is probably based upon (as with almost all of the default trains) a British carriage (probably mark 2 or 3), which would hold nearer to 72-80 people.

688kW of power isn't really necessary either.

I do think running costs should go up a little, but if the designer wanted to stay in line with the original game vehicles' running costs, he's done a damn good job :) Kudos.

EDIT: Remember these costs will all be affected by inflation, so a tram could cost nearer to £200,000 to build later in the game.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Sscls
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 43
Joined: 17 Jun 2007 09:11
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands

Post by Sscls »

hey i have installed both files that you have placed above, but i can still not build tram tracks. HELP PLEASE!

Rubidium
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 3815
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 19:15

Post by Rubidium »

Sscls wrote:hey i have installed both files that you have placed above, but i can still not build tram tracks. HELP PLEASE!
Are you using a (recent) nightly? If not, then you have to download one.

User avatar
Sscls
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 43
Joined: 17 Jun 2007 09:11
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands

Post by Sscls »

okay, thanks for sooooooo quick answer.

fabca2
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 15:18
Location: Fr

Post by fabca2 »

Dave Worley wrote: 688kW of power isn't really necessary either.
Right, my goal was just to give an example, I didn't ask for adding a super-powered tram in the list.

it's just to show the difference between a real case and trams that have been designed in this grf (even the lastest ones) which are so poor (capacity) from my pov.

it's a great job nevertheless.
but making caracterisitcs more different from busses is better.

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

But trams are practically railbuses, ie, buses on rails.

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17210
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Born Acorn wrote:But trams are practically railbuses, ie, buses on rails.
No... That's 153 311... (No joke, it actually IS a railbus, although not a Pacer.)

Trams existed prior to buses, in some cases. You could argue that trams came first. The only reason we can consider them as buses is because we've grown up in a world (at least in the UK) of buses and no trams, and because they were adapted early on to work on roads.

You should know (since a lot existed in the Welsh mountains hauling coal ;)), that original tramways operated very similarly to railways.
it's just to show the difference between a real case and trams that have been designed in this grf (even the lastest ones) which are so poor (capacity) from my pov.
And what I was showing is that the trains we see in game are often nothing or are very little like real life. 30 tonnes of coal in a hopper? HAA Hoppers hauls something like 115t, if I remember correctly.

The tramset can't be true to life because if it was, it'd be hideously unbalanced with the rest of the game.

I find that your attitude is quite typical amongst players of the game (both flavours) - you seem to be saying "give me a reason to use it", whereas you should be saying "you design it, and I'll use it, somehow".

And since they're only single decker, one car trams... You should be getting about 40-50 max, so even 70 is a very high number.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, kamnet and 10 guests