Page 4 of 5

Posted: 04 Jul 2007 16:40
by Digitalfox
Thanks Kolijn Wolfaardt :)

Update: The bug still remains and appears, but now with a black box in the last nightly of openttd :(

Posted: 06 Jul 2007 12:32
by Kolijn Wolfaardt
Hmmm, could you possibly post a screenshot? When I tested it seemed fine to me, but it's possible that I could have missed some possible setup.

Posted: 06 Jul 2007 13:12
by Digitalfox
The bug is in the same combination..

But before it was white, now black..

( No other newgrfs are loaded, and using the last nightly of openttd )

Ps: I am using the link for download in the first post on the topic you made!!

Update: after trying the other grf ( filename 299 ) i no longer have this problem..
I was using the grf 529, and what the first post points out is to 529 :oops:

Posted: 06 Jul 2007 14:28
by Ben_K
Digital, think you'll find those numbers are randomly added by the forums when you download something. They arent part of the file itself.

Posted: 06 Jul 2007 17:53
by Lakie
Hopefully when the phpbb3 becomes available this type of confusion will disappear.
(Since when you download a file, it doesn't have an extra parts to the filename).

~ Lakie

Strange happenings

Posted: 08 Jul 2007 09:37
by Kolijn Wolfaardt
Now this is getting strange. I tested the new terrain grf on OTTD version 0.4.7 and with the Mini Integrated Nightly, and in neither of them and boxes appeared.

digitalfox, does the boxes appear only when you use the new terrain grf, because I don't know what could be the problem :?

Re: Strange happenings

Posted: 08 Jul 2007 11:05
by XeryusTC
Kolijn Wolfaardt wrote:Now this is getting strange. I tested the new terrain grf on OTTD version 0.4.7 and with the Mini Integrated Nightly, and in neither of them and boxes appeared.
Using the Latest Stable(tm) or the Latest Nightly(tm) is usually a better way to test newgrfs.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 17 Jul 2007 19:25
by flake
http://divzero.at/steph/pics/divzero%20 ... 20%231.png

use revision 10004 and file of first post.

but also with newest nightly bar shows up.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 17 Jul 2007 20:45
by FooBar
You are using an old version of New Terrain (Digitalfox, you too!). Try this file: http://www.tt-forums.net/download.php?id=67661 It's from the fifth post in this topic. Unfortunately the first posts references an older version.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 17 Jul 2007 23:16
by flake
thx A LOT.

but sadly now the white blocks apear bigger on other locations:
http://divzero.at/flake/whiteblocks.png

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 18 Jul 2007 03:54
by OzTrans
I've done a quick de-code/re-code of the GRF, just linked above.

That is the result :

Code: Select all

-------------------------------
NFO Renumber and linting v3.4.5
-------------------------------
-
NFORenum v3.4.5 - Copyright 2004-2007 Dale McCoy.
Processing file "TTDGame\newgrf\sprites\terrainC.nfo".
Processing complete.
-
------------------
GRF encoding v0.9.10
------------------
-
GRFCodec version 0.9.10 r1226E - Copyright (C) 2000-2005 by Josef Drexler
Encoding in temporary file newgrf\terrainC.new
Loading newgrf/sprites/terrainC.pcx100% (Transparency:100%, Redundancy:100%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 11 are pure whiteedundancy: 59%)
Warning: 512 of 2496 pixels (20%) in sprite 34 are pure whiteedundancy: 58%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 36 are pure whiteedundancy: 59%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 37 are pure whiteedundancy: 59%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 40 are pure whiteedundancy: 60%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 41 are pure whiteedundancy: 60%)
Warning: 64 of 2496 pixels (2%) in sprite 53 are pure white Redundancy: 64%)
Warning: 512 of 2496 pixels (20%) in sprite 56 are pure whiteedundancy: 65%)
Warning: 64 of 1984 pixels (3%) in sprite 169 are pure whiteRedundancy: 61%)
Sprite  256  Done: 99%  Compressed: 39% (Transparency: 59%, Redundancy: 67%)
Deleting newgrf\terrainC.grf
Replacing newgrf\terrainC.grf with newgrf\terrainC.new

Done!
Now, the creator of this GRF needs to correct the sprite dimensions (ysize/xsize) or positions (xpos/ypos) in the NFO-file for the sprites listed above, that report pure white and the problem will go away for good.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 18 Jul 2007 10:14
by FooBar
Right, I remember. There are some sprites missing (three of them IIRC), producing glitches with maglev tracks. I fixed that in the version I'm using. Not really that hard to do using grfcodec and photoshop.

I'm not going to post my version here without permission of Kolijn Wolfaardt himself, because I don't think that's the way things should work around here.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 07 Aug 2007 01:19
by unicornz
I wish he would fix them or you get permission to post them

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 08 Aug 2007 03:08
by athanasios
At least PM to him to get him informed.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 24 Aug 2007 18:04
by Kolijn Wolfaardt
You have my permission to post the grf file :-)

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 24 Aug 2007 23:15
by FooBar
Okay, here it is. Feel free to do with it whatever you like.

EDIT:
GRF removed, superseded by a new version

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 25 Aug 2007 16:53
by flasher86
Why theres only 3 colours of the green grass? Originally theres a 4 colours for grass and empty tile. It makes you see a better deepth. I am pretty sure the grass would looks much better if author was consider this.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 30 Aug 2007 03:38
by calix177
Ok not sure if anybody else has noticed this.

It seems to appear when raising the terrain. It only appears on the western slopes.
Its not a very bad glitch as once the grass grows back the slope is normal.
grf_error_1.png
grf_error_1.png (35.32 KiB) Viewed 7726 times
grf_error_2.png
grf_error_2.png (16.56 KiB) Viewed 7720 times
All other grfs were turned off

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 30 Aug 2007 10:31
by FooBar
I noticed that too.

The problem is that sprite 198 is a duplicate of sprite 188. In normal words that means that the wrong image is used for that slope. The correct image isn't in the grf.

I took myself the freedom to combine sprites 185 and 194 into a new sprite 198, which solves the glitch.
Because Kolijn probably won't mind me posting an updated version of his wonderful terrainset (he gave me permission earlier to post a similar updated version), here it is.

Updated version of New Terrain
The version you need depends on the version of the original game graphics (windows or dos). In case of trg1r.grf, you need the Windows version. In case of trg1.grf, you need the DOS version.

Re: New terrain grfs

Posted: 31 Aug 2007 00:47
by calix177
Excellent,

Thanks for the update Foobar.
and of course Kolijn for the great terrain set.