Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:42 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 79 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4301
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
robotboy wrote:
But its a North American styled industry set. So he may want to leave certain ECS cargoes/industries out.
ECS does not have a style. Now it uses any graphics that exists. So, unless the full set with specific style is done (like North-american style for example), the graphics can be used in the ECS :roll:

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5363
Location: Canada
lifeblood wrote:
It would be nice if certain industries were coded to appear in towns ...
If this is to be done, I have a request ...
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
make sure that a reasonably precise description as to how these are located (ie. "how many tiles from town center" or "must be built in town zone [x]) is included in the readme.

Few people appreciate just how frustrating it is to place a restricted industry when designing a scenario if there are no guidelines given.

Also, for in game, please limit prospecting to resources. In real life factories, plants, tourist attractions etc. are built, not prospected for.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:37 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
George wrote:
The Agriculture vector is fast done in ECS. Could you work on improving it instead of redoing it, or better focus on the other vector? You made the excellent Automotive plant, so may be it would be the best to focus on machinery vector?

Machinery vector consist of Iron ore mine, Steel mill and Automotive plant. There is Steel mill and Automotive plant, so, all we need is Iron ore mine? Could you create it?

May I use Steel mill and Automotive plant graphics in ECS Machinery vector?


George, this set has little to do with the ECS. The only real connection is that it may share some art work. On the first page of this topic Dan has written out the scheme for the North American Industries Set. It is this scheme that I am drawing to. Please do not turn this into a discussion about the supremacy of the ECS.

Feel free to use any artwork I create. Please note that the steelmill sprites were drawn by Oz, not I.

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 7:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4301
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
lifeblood wrote:
George, this set has little to do with the ECS. The only real connection is that it may share some art work. On the first page of this topic Dan has written out the scheme for the North American Industries Set. It is this scheme that I am drawing to. Please do not turn this into a discussion about the supremacy of the ECS.
I did not plan to do it, I was only speaking about graphics. The only aim of my post was to suggest such the order of drawing graphics for NAI set, which will allow covering ECS with graphics as soon as possible :rool:. It does not matter for NAI set, in what order it is created, isn't it? ;)
Let me remind that it is already uses NAI graphics - Farm by Oz, Cannery by you, they are very nice.

lifeblood wrote:
Feel free to use any artwork I create. Please note that the steelmill sprites were drawn by Oz, not I.
Thank you!
Are you or Oz interested in creating iron ore mine graphics?

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:48 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 5:27 am
Posts: 355
Location: Probably in my lab
Not at the moment, George. I've got my fingers into way too many projects as it is. In fact, the steel mill for this set isn't finished yet. But, I will take it off of the backburner as soon as I'm done with my other stuff. :wink:

_________________
Arguments from authority carry little weight (in science there are no "authorities"). - Dr. Carl Sagan. "The Demon Haunted World"
ImageImage


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:57 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
Sorry, George. I thought you were getting at something else. My apologies for jumping on you. Currently, I'm uninterested in drawing mines. The agricultural vector is closer to my heart, living in rural Ontario.

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4301
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
lifeblood wrote:
Sorry, George. I thought you were getting at something else. My apologies for jumping on you. Currently, I'm uninterested in drawing mines. The agricultural vector is closer to my heart, living in rural Ontario.
Well, hope you'll get good results in agricultural vector and I can use them to improve ECS agricultural vector :P

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 9:59 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
George, how about this. In exchange for getting carte blanche use of my industries, you get to cut them into sprites for me. This is something I'm not too familiar with doing. I'm good with stations that are only 1 tile deep, but anything after that gets me confused.

Sound good? :D

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4301
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
lifeblood wrote:
George, how about this. In exchange for getting carte blanche use of my industries, you get to cut them into sprites for me. This is something I'm not too familiar with doing. I'm good with stations that are only 1 tile deep, but anything after that gets me confused.
Sound good? :D
Fine
What should we start from?

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
I'll be finished the auto-assembly plant in a few days. I'll PM it to you when I'm done. :wink:

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3357
Location: Estonia
Hi!
As I can see here is lots of progress last few days!
So I have one question. Maybe it not very right place to ask but well....
Is there anyone planing to make full NA road vehicle set for TTD? Ofcuz supporting those new goods what is here in this thread and default goods?
Asking because I'm working/drawing undercover some NA trucks! Not much work done! For now I have drawn some short vehicles and trailers for freight liners! As I'm waiting 'articulated vehicles' code finishing so we can have long road trains (hope You all understand what I mean).
So I hope stevenh is finishing articulated vehicles some day! (But I think it seems to be improbable)
So I hope I can get some help and if theres a right time some of us create/open NA trucks thread in this forum!
~cheers

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
ISA wrote:
As I'm waiting 'articulated vehicles' code finishing so we can have long road trains.


North American trucks, in generally, are pretty darn big. So it never seemed to be worthwhile to try to do such a set, until properly articulated long vehicles were possible. George's set is about as close as we can get for now.

_________________
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 4:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3357
Location: Estonia
krtaylor wrote:
ISA wrote:
As I'm waiting 'articulated vehicles' code finishing so we can have long road trains.


North American trucks, in generally, are pretty darn big. So it never seemed to be worthwhile to try to do such a set, until properly articulated long vehicles were possible. George's set is about as close as we can get for now.

Yes true! But at least You can have smaller ones in the first place! And bigger ones we can finish when articulated long vehicles is possible!
This set would have some buses too, so some work we can complete!?!

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 1:50 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
Question: can industries change appearence over time, for instance, can the assembly plant production sprites change from showing Oz's pre-1945 cars to showing his post-1945 cars?

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 1:53 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
lifeblood wrote:
Question: can industries change appearence over time, for instance, can the assembly plant production sprites change from showing Oz's pre-1945 cars to showing his post-1945 cars?


Yes. Industry tiles can use all the general VarAction2 variables (date, etc), as well as the industry and industry tile specific ones, to choose between sprites.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 2:06 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
Glad to hear. The assembly plant just got a little more complex. 8)

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 5:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:23 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Holland
I don't have time to read this topic completely, but could somebody tell me if there is a grf-release of the North American Industry Set? From http://wiki.openttd.org/index.php/North_America_GRF_files I came to this topic, but I can't find a link to a grf-file. Very sad, because the pictures are promising! :D

Gebbe


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 7:17 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
Not yet. It's still in development. :D

Although Pikka or Dan might know more than I. Nothing of mine has been coded yet.

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 6:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:23 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Holland
All right, then I will wait... although it's hard to do so, seeing that beautiful previews ;)

Anyway, thanks for your quick answer!

Gebbe


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 8:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4301
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
lifeblood wrote:
Nothing of mine has been coded yet.
Cannery was

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 79 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.