Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:43 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

Would you use this set if it had "drive on right" ability?
Yes 72%  72%  [ 87 ]
No 28%  28%  [ 34 ]
Total votes: 121
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:53 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Britain
Judging from the error message, I believe that is more a of bug with OpenTTD binary and its set of patches. ;)
The grf hasn't changed so it must be something within that set of compiled binary and its code.

However I am aware that OpenTTD has recently changed how it handles road/rail sets, I don't know if this will knacker older methods though.
Currently there are no plans implement this new method, that may change around what Born_Acorn wants, and of course if he is willing to supply the new graphics.

~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:54 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7568
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Tell me what you need and I can provide them!

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:13 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
That error message usually translates to "I found a real sprite while looking for a pseudo sprite. Please skip the real sprites too."

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:29 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Britain
I'm aware of what the error translates to, DaleStan, its the fact it doesn't happen with OpenTTD 6.3 or TTDpatch (nightlies) which makes me thing its something that has changed in OpenTTD's trunk to break it.

~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:49 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:15 pm
Posts: 3815
peter1138 has made the NewGRF loading more strict and disables "invalid" ones instead of trying to make the best of it.

Loading UKRoadset (the dos one):
dbg: [grf] [UKRoadset.grf:481] SkipIf: Skipping 82 sprites, test was true
dbg: [grf] [UKRoadset.grf:564] LoadNewGRFFile: Unexpected sprite, disabling

Sprite 564 is a real sprite instead of the action sprite it expected (I hope I used the right name here).

0.6.3 would just skip the real sprites until it found something that it could use, but that's most likely not what was meant when writing the NewGRF.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2009 7:47 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Britain
Peter has worked it out. Apparently there was a change to the Action7 specification which OpenTTD didn't notice which has lead to this problem (and I've long forgotten about the change too). :oops:
I believe he is working on how to fix it now. (TTDpatch r1384).

~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 5:58 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 324
Location: UK
This set dousent seem to like the UK gated crossings set as i get default roads on them
see image (loaded with crossings below roadset)

if i load with the newgrfs the other way round i dont get the gated crossings at all


Attachments:
roadproblem.png
roadproblem.png [ 17.54 KiB | Viewed 3066 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 1:00 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1802
Location: Britain
This is due to the nature of how those sprites exist, currently there isn't a 'merge' system, so the last applied sprite takes presidence.
Either this road set could be modified with some special overrides for that grf, or that grfprovides compatibility for this road set, either way it would require one of the grfs to add compatibility for the other.

I believe Peter was working on a system around this but I don't know what happened to it.

~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:04 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 324
Location: UK
I have posted the same messgae in the topic for the crossings as I feel they are 2 sets that are likly to be used together,

hopefully somhow either one of you can make them compatable in the way that yours works with Pikka's bridge etc


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:03 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 9:27 am
Posts: 8
ive done that one aswell only the roads at my game turn blue .. see screeny , is this suppose to happen ??
O.o maybe its clowdy in my game and its the shadow of the clouds O.o ?

:- )

its fixed now :) thnx


Attachments:
GDS-Xsys, 17th Jan 2160.png [915.39 KiB]
Downloaded 81 times


Last edited by GDS on Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 1:13 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Switzerland
That looks like a windows grf loaded with dos palette

_________________
Image
Town Names: Image Portuguese Image Belarusian Image French Image Swiss · Image Temperate Lumber Mill
Still work in progress: OpenGFX or/and OpenSFX - Please help!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 4:09 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7568
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Lakie wrote:
This is due to the nature of how those sprites exist, currently there isn't a 'merge' system, so the last applied sprite takes presidence.
Either this road set could be modified with some special overrides for that grf, or that grfprovides compatibility for this road set, either way it would require one of the grfs to add compatibility for the other.

I believe Peter was working on a system around this but I don't know what happened to it.

~ Lakie


I can graphically make this happen if the original author, and yourself are up for it, although I don't think I've seen cornelius since the BNG Set died.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:48 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 324
Location: UK
Hmmm well it seems that the UK gated crossing is dead....

prehaps gates and if possible full barriers (paved roads) and AHBs (unpaved roads) could be coded into the next version of the UK roadset! (presuming the level crossing sprites are part of the road sprites rather than the railway sprites)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:15 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:09 pm
Posts: 1
dasy2k1 wrote:
Hmmm well it seems that the UK gated crossing is dead....

prehaps gates and if possible full barriers (paved roads) and AHBs (unpaved roads) could be coded into the next version of the UK roadset! (presuming the level crossing sprites are part of the road sprites rather than the railway sprites)


Like so? OK - just so you know, this is not only my first post but my first attempt at graphics of any kind! I'm also not sure whether I can post the final work as well, as I'm just banging the sprites into the existing roadset. Lots to learn!


Attachments:
File comment: WIP
ahbopen.png
ahbopen.png [ 94.13 KiB | Viewed 2255 times ]
File comment: Still WIP - but it flashes!
ahbclosed.png
ahbclosed.png [ 48.17 KiB | Viewed 2255 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:24 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 324
Location: UK
Looking good!
Have to ask the coding gurus if you can have a different level crossing after a certain date (eg build gates before the automatically build semaphores date and ahbs after (with possible full barrier on roads with street lights)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 10:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 6918
Level crossings are governed by the track set, as long as it makes use of the new railtypes feature. there it can also check the date, so might be possible to implement your suggestion.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:03 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 324
Location: UK
Sounds possible.. would the level crossings need to be in the roadset, railset or a separate grf?

Thinking that this roadset plus pikas railset (for ukrs2) would look very good with British level crossings

I might even have a go at drawing some if I can work out how to get the sprites from the grf (the road sprites) will be the first things I have drawn tho so have no clue how to start

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:30 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9021
Location: Sol d
Level crossings must be part of the railtypes NewGRF - and are independent of the underlying road.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:34 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 324
Location: UK
Hmm looks like its PikkaBird I need to speak with then as its his UK finescale tracks that I think this would be the most appropiate rail grf to put these in


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:03 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 147
Maybe this has been mentioned elsewhere.

FYI, this pair of choice roadsets (i.e., the signage version as well) are not compatible with the newGRF "Total_Town_Replacement_Set-3.14.tar".

In addition, the texts in their listings as displayed in the newGRF settings index -- either in or out of a game -- are always white/grey instead of the customary orange. Also, I have no idea what I might've done to upgrade their corresponding left-hand boxy status indicators within the index from what had been customarily blue to green. (Me, I can't readily tell what the blue colour itself must signify, although the red and green ones seem pretty obvious.)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Silverx50, willsym22 and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.