Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:24 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3729
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
For the longest time theres been a lot of North American locomotives that I've wanted to play with but aren't included in NARS or US Train Set, so I've finally decided to start work on a un-official addon set for NARS v2, a addon set which I call NARS v2+

For now Im drawing everything I want to add by hand, unless anyone wants to give me the ok to use their graphics, or donates graphics to the set. Im mostly doing things like this because I don't want to anger the artists and have to deal with different licenses. For now this set is unlicensed and thus any graphics I draw can be used in other sets, with permission of coarse.


So, for now, heres a list of locomotives that will go into this add-on set.

Black = Not included yet
Red = Work in progress
Blue = Drawn, not coded
Green = Drawn and Coded

Acela HHP8
Alco FPA-4 (Diesel)
Altoona BP4 (Battery)
BBD Jet Train (Turbine)
Budd M-2 EMU (Electric)
EMD F40C (Diesel)
EMD F40PH-2 (Diesel) (Separate HEP Generator)
EMD F45 (Diesel)
EMD F59PH (Diesel) (First version built for GO Transit)
EMD FP45 (Diesel)
EMD FP7 (Diesel)
EMD FP9 (Diesel)
EMD GP7 (Diesel)
EMD GP9M (Diesel)
EMD SD22ECO (Diesel-Eco)
EMD SD32ECO (Diesel-Eco)
EMD SD7 (Diesel)
EMD SD70MAC (Diesel)
EMD SD75i (Diesel)
EMD SD80MAC (Diesel)
EMD SD9M (Diesel)
EMD SDP40F (Diesel)
FM Eire-Built (Diesel)
GE AC6000CW (Diesel)
GE E33 (Electric)
GE E44 (Electric)
GE EP-5 (Electric)
GE P30CH (Diesel)
GE P40DC (Diesel)
KM ML4000 (Diesel)
MPI MP36PH-3C (Diesel)
MPI MP40PH-3C (Diesel)

PR PR30C (Diesel-Eco)
PR PR43C (Diesel-Eco)

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:55 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
I don't know if the 2ccSet contains something you could use?

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4428
Location: Standing by the jams
Use the GPL v2 or v3 (or dual licensed to both). Unlicensed is a nonsense, and just causes all kinds of trouble.

If you really don't want to use GPL, consider using the WTFPL and also publicly release all the sources that you have copyright under the same license. http://sam.zoy.org/wtfpl/ (releasing the sources means they can be reused in GPL projects)

EDIT - but IMHO if you use WTFPL you'll need *all* your contributors to also choose WTFPL.

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Last edited by andythenorth on Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:45 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:43 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9024
Location: Sol d
Purno wrote:
I don't know if the 2ccSet contains something you could use?


If he wants to do that (probably a good idea) he would need to either use 2ccTS' license - which is GPL - or go and find out:
- the artist of each sprite and everyone who touched that file ever since
- the coders of the set which aligned that train and possibly created the alignment templates
and get conset of each and every single of those people to use another license.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
planetmaker wrote:
Purno wrote:
I don't know if the 2ccSet contains something you could use?


If he wants to do that (probably a good idea) he would need to either use 2ccTS' license - which is GPL - or go and find out:
- the artist of each sprite and everyone who touched that file ever since
- the coders of the set which aligned that train and possibly created the alignment templates
and get conset of each and every single of those people to use another license.


Why do licenses keep haunting me? I'm only trying to help the guy here. Would be a shame if work would get done twice. As far as I know GPL is free enough to let people use my sprites (wasn't that your* whole reason to convince me to switch from CC-BY-NC to GPL?)

*you and a few others

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4428
Location: Standing by the jams
Purno wrote:
As far as I know GPL is free enough to let people use my sprites

Only if they also use the GPL. Meaning if they modify your work...other people are then free to use that.

If everyone who wanted to collaborate on newgrfs just used GPL and stopped dicking around licensing would be a non-issue and you wouldn't have to worry about it ever ever :D

(And those who don't want to collaborate - do what they like of course)

You can offer your sprites to Neko aside from GPL though - dual licensed...up to you ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: Ontario, Canada
I was thinking that NARS could use a revamp, but it's probably not going to be for awhile.

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3729
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
As for the license stuff, I dont want to get bogged down with legal stuff so that's why Im just going about my buisness as is for now. This is also why I'm drawing what I can unless someone donates "baggage free" art, which means I won't have to adhere to any strict licensing rules. So far though I think that I'd be OK with anything under GPL. Its not that I dont like giving credit (which I do, in case anyone was wondering) but its just so I dont have angry artists filling my inbox with complaints and death threats, as well as lawyers knocking at my door.

ANYWAYS

So far, I'm starting with some of the earlier diesel locomotives. So far I've drawn up the AGEIR-Boxcab (Called the "Alco Boxcab" in my set), and the GE 70-Ton switcher. At the moment though I can't draw small things like the 44-ton because GRF Maker doesnt know how to properly code anything smaller then the normal 28px long vehicles.

And yes, NARS could use a revamp, but for now Ill continue doing my work here. Though if anyone want's to use my sprites I don't mind so long as Im notified and credited.

EDIT : heres the sprite sheet and a screen shot of the Boxcab and the 70-tonner


Attachments:
NARS+_preview sheet.png
NARS+_preview sheet.png [ 2.67 KiB | Viewed 6984 times ]
Picture-001.png [138.02 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Last edited by NekoMaster on Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:09 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 641
Location: Szeged, Hungary
NekoMaster wrote:
GRF Maker doesnt know how to properly code anything smaller then the normal 28px long vehicles.

Yes it do.


Attachments:
shortening.PNG
shortening.PNG [ 7.34 KiB | Viewed 6985 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3729
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
I've tried that vehicle shortening thing, it doesnt really work well with really small things like a 44-ton or a Alco S-2. What Im talking about is there will still be a huge gap between the locomotive and the cars, even when on the rail (so its not just a vehicle list thing)

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
You may want to avoid using grfmaker. It prevents you from doing anything fancy.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3729
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
FooBar wrote:
You may want to avoid using grfmaker. It prevents you from doing anything fancy.


I don't know how to code in NFO or NML and both are a little hard to comprehend for me. It may be a while till I try coding by hand.

For now GRF Maker does what I need it to do, put locomotives in the game. The only fancy thing I'd want to do is articulated stuff (like a steam locomotives tender, or a articulated diesel locomotive, or a Turbine locomotive with its oil tenders).

Maybe in the future I'll get some sounds for the engines

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4428
Location: Standing by the jams
NekoMaster wrote:
its just so I dont have angry artists filling my inbox with complaints and death threats, as well as lawyers knocking at my door

The GPL protects you from that (as long as you comply with it, which isn't hard). "No license" means there's no agreement between you and anyone else who contributes, which means if they change their mind they can fill your inbox with pointless drama. Which is kind of stupid, because it's just tiny pixels in a free game, but there you go, that's folk :)

Really, just use the GPL, it basically means the following:
- make sure you have the right to use stuff
- always get the sources when available
- always ship a licence.txt with the project

Then there's no further hassles.

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3729
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
I'll probably end up going with GPL.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 1732
Location: Sweden
NekoMaster wrote:
I've tried that vehicle shortening thing, it doesnt really work well with really small things like a 44-ton or a Alco S-2. What Im talking about is there will still be a huge gap between the locomotive and the cars, even when on the rail (so its not just a vehicle list thing)


It worked well for me?? You just have to remember that you can only shorten by 12.5% steps, which means that some sizes are close couple, some are very loose. Se the picture (by MB?):


Attachments:
SpriteSizes.png [7.48 KiB]
Downloaded 2 times

_________________
Image
Swedish trains * Swedish Town Names * BlockCAD * The GRFMaker Community Page
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:44 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9024
Location: Sol d
andythenorth wrote:
Really, just use the GPL, it basically means the following:
- make sure you have the right to use stuff
- always get the sources when available
- always ship a licence.txt with the project

- you have the right to use and modify other stuff which is already released under the GPL

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3729
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
AndersI wrote:
NekoMaster wrote:
I've tried that vehicle shortening thing, it doesnt really work well with really small things like a 44-ton or a Alco S-2. What Im talking about is there will still be a huge gap between the locomotive and the cars, even when on the rail (so its not just a vehicle list thing)


It worked well for me?? You just have to remember that you can only shorten by 12.5% steps, which means that some sizes are close couple, some are very loose. Se the picture (by MB?):


I know that you can shorten things in GRF maker, as well as the smaller vehicle graphics, but I never got GRF maker to code small locomotives very well. Anything smaller then a Alco RS-3 would end up with a big gap between the locomotive and the first car or the 2nd locomotive, with the couplers not even touching.

Normal
[Locomotive][Locomotive][Car][Car][Car]

Short Locomotive
[Loco][GAP][Loco][GAP][Car][Car][Car]

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4428
Location: Standing by the jams
Learn nml? :)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 8:09 pm
Posts: 1732
Location: Sweden
NekoMaster wrote:
AndersI wrote:
which means that some sizes are close couple, some are very loose


Anything smaller then a Alco RS-3 would end up with a big gap between the locomotive and the first car or the 2nd locomotive, with the couplers not even touching.


What length in pixels are we talking about? Testing on OTTD or TTDP? I think TTDP has bugs when the shortening goes 'too far' (too far for TTDP, that is).

_________________
Image
Swedish trains * Swedish Town Names * BlockCAD * The GRFMaker Community Page


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
NekoMaster wrote:
Short Locomotive
[Loco][GAP][Loco][GAP][Car][Car][Car]

In the past, and probably still in TTDPatch, it was not possible to shorten the first vehicle of a train. This limitation has since been lifted in OpenTTD, see http://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Ac ... s_.2821.29

I suspect that grfmaker adheres to this specification, and doesn't allow to shorten engines. Or at least that would explain the behaviour you're seeing.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.