Transport Tycoon Forums
https://www.tt-forums.net/

[REL] Combined Roadset
https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=24042
Page 1 of 5

Author:  Hyronymus [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 8:30 pm ]
Post subject:  [REL] Combined Roadset

After a long wait I'm very proud to announce the first release of the Combined Roadset. This is probably the first grf to combine or support multiple grf's at the same time. The Combined Roadset is available for DOS and Windows. It contains these previously independent grf's:
    - RobC's cantilever replacement bridge
    - Purno's bridge set
    - European Roadset

Next to that it supports PikkaBird's stone bridge. How to unlock all these possibilities can be found in the readme file. You can get a preview by viewing the screenshots below.

Image
Image
Image

Attachments:
Combined Roadset v0.10 for Windows.zip [347.72 KiB]
Downloaded 10171 times
Combined Roadset v0.10 for DOS.zip [347.32 KiB]
Downloaded 1168 times

Author:  Purno [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 8:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

Looks very nice Hyro! :D

Author:  Hyronymus [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 8:35 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks, Purno. It owes a lot to you and Szappy too!

Author:  Lakie [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 8:45 pm ]
Post subject: 

Right, nice set, about time it was released.
*Removes the blame form himself because he left it uncoded for so long.* ;)

One thing I forgot, is that it is compatible with Michael Blunck's Alphine Climate grf. (see attached image).

Sorry, Hyronymus, it was such a little change I forgot to mention it.

~ Lakie

Attachments:
European Roadset.png [193.88 KiB]
Downloaded 1927 times

Author:  Raichase [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 8:47 pm ]
Post subject: 

Ooooh, downloaded!

Author:  SAC [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:06 pm ]
Post subject: 

Great work! :D

Author:  White Rabbit [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:35 pm ]
Post subject: 

What a pleasant surprise. :)

But...why .pdf instead of .txt? Add some pictures to justify .pdf! ;)

EDIT: Whoa, DB trains running on the left side of rail tracks...I'm scared.

Ok, seriously now... I have found a compatibility issue with a graphics set: http://www.bornacorn.com/newoffice3.zip It isn't even a road set, but the CRS says it is and disables its roads whenever newoffice3 is active. :?
Another thing is that I cannot use Purno's bridges together with Pikkabird's viaduct, even though BR_viaduct is above COMBROADW. This did not happen when Purno's bridges were a separate grf. Rob's cantilever bridges work fine with the viaduct.

Author:  Peter1x9 [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:10 pm ]
Post subject: 

Looks great! :D
I just got your pm. Once my HQ is compatible with it i'll post a preview pic in my thread.

Author:  Uwe [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 10:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

Looks really great! Can't wait to test it. :D

Author:  Hyronymus [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:36 pm ]
Post subject: 

White Rabbit wrote:
Ok, seriously now... I have found a compatibility issue with a graphics set: http://www.bornacorn.com/newoffice3.zip It isn't even a road set, but the CRS says it is and disables its roads whenever newoffice3 is active. :?

I think Born_Acorn used the same grfid for that new offices as for his road set. I'll have to investigate that to be sure.

Quote:
Another thing is that I cannot use Purno's bridges together with Pikkabird's viaduct, even though BR_viaduct is above COMBROADW. This did not happen when Purno's bridges were a separate grf. Rob's cantilever bridges work fine with the viaduct.

You just didn't read the manual did you?

EDIT: Lakie confirmed my suspicion: Born_Acorn used the same GRFID for his offices as for his roadset. I'll ask him to fix it. In the mean time I advice you not to use his offices if you desperately want to use the Combined Roadset.

Author:  Lakie [ Sat Mar 18, 2006 11:50 pm ]
Post subject: 

White Rabbit wrote:
Ok, seriously now... I have found a compatibility issue with a graphics set: http://www.bornacorn.com/newoffice3.zip It isn't even a road set, but the CRS says it is and disables its roads whenever newoffice3 is active. :?
Another thing is that I cannot use Purno's bridges together with Pikkabird's viaduct, even though BR_viaduct is above COMBROADW. This did not happen when Purno's bridges were a separate grf. Rob's cantilever bridges work fine with the viaduct.


1. Born_Acorn used the same grfid aparently, so blame him.
<rant>I can only code check code against a grf id and if he wants to put all his grfs under one grf id then I'm sorry but thats crap, grf's are meant to have different grfid's for a reason.</rant>

2. Purno's bridges REPLACE the same bridge as Pikka's, so you cannot use them together even if you wantted to, they are incompatible.

~ Lakie

Author:  MeusH [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:22 am ]
Post subject: 

I see many issues when running this wonderful set on OpenTTD. Perhaps I should speak to OpenTTD devs about the newgrf support, because I see roads on bridges are messed (USSet road is present, I don't really know why). Also, desert tiles appear over the snowline.

Author:  Hyronymus [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:26 am ]
Post subject: 

Why do you think this set is posted in the TTDPatch Graphics section? I and the other artists never intended to support OTTD. We know that the grf-support is screwed for OTTD. Together with the (slow/lack of) progress on the new graphics system made the decision quite simple: forget about OTTD.

Author:  DaleStan [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:10 am ]
Post subject: 

If it works in TTDPatch, but not in Open, you have two options:
1) Find the non-conforming sprite(s) and report them.
2) Implement proper newgrf support in Open.

Author:  khamura [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:41 am ]
Post subject: 

Hyronymus wrote:
Quote:
Another thing is that I cannot use Purno's bridges together with Pikkabird's viaduct, even though BR_viaduct is above COMBROADW. This did not happen when Purno's bridges were a separate grf. Rob's cantilever bridges work fine with the viaduct.

You just didn't read the manual did you?


I have the same compatibility problem when the parameters for combroad are set to enable the European roads and Purno's bridges, regardless of the positioning of the viaduct relative to combroad. The manual does not mention any way to rectify the situation.

Author:  eis_os [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:45 am ]
Post subject: 

Hmm, this version is not able to have my bridge and bridges by Purno at the same time on? Is this right? Older versions had no problem with it...

Author:  Caelan [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:41 am ]
Post subject: 

The set looks great Hyro and others!

Author:  Hyronymus [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:40 pm ]
Post subject: 

Can you please all read the manual instead of glancing at it? I think I made pretty clear what combinations should be possible and which won't.

Author:  khamura [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:46 pm ]
Post subject: 

It doesn't explicitly say which combinations are impossible, no. :roll:

I take it Purno's bridges and the viaduct are simply not compatible in this set.

Author:  Raichase [ Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:54 pm ]
Post subject: 

khamura wrote:
It doesn't explicitly say which combinations are impossible, no. :roll:


No, but it does tell you which combinations ARE possible. Which, by process of elimination, would mean that the OTHER combinations are... gasp... impossible.

How about showing some respect to the people that spent all their hours working on this wonderfull set, rather than nitpicking at a manual which (I might add) is perfectly serviciable if you take the time to READ it.

Oh, and as you need the obvious stated, this is the end of my post.

Page 1 of 5 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.