Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:46 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:00 pm
Posts: 1032
Location: UK
New Version of Narrow Gauge Rails (v0.93)

I’ve done some updates to the Narrow Gauge Rails grf; download the new version from here.

New features
    - Support for TTRS3 added. Narrow gauge level crossings for all TTRS3 road types.
    - German translations added.
    - French translations added.
Bug fixes
    - When used with grfs that add snow in the temperate climate, snowy tiles where shown with the wrong track type.
    - Sprite offset problem with some bridge ramps fixed.
    - Sprite offset problem with NW facing long depot fixed.
OpenTTD support
    - Narrow gauge button and cursor sprites for OpenTTD are now working again. Note, requires version 0.6.0 r11433 or greater.
    - Adjusted rail costs now working for OpenTTD. Note, requires version 0.6.0 r11265 or greater.

I've not been able to test the DOS version (ngrails.grf), could someone let me know if it works?

Thanks to Zimmlock for the TTRS3 narrow gauge level crossing sprites and Csaboka for information on their usage. Thanks to Carlo Ghega and wallyweb for the translations and for testing. :)


Attachments:
File comment: Thanks to wallyweb for the savegame from which this screenshot was taken
wallyweb_1.png
wallyweb_1.png [ 97.02 KiB | Viewed 9601 times ]

_________________
Image


Last edited by mart3p on Tue Jan 22, 2008 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:36 pm 
Offline
Director
Director

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:31 am
Posts: 536
Very nice! Do you have a list which sets use or are compatible with the NG rails? (I can only think of the Canadian and US sets, but there might be more.)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11894
Location: MK UK
Serbian set is good for NG stuff too.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:00 pm
Posts: 1032
Location: UK
MJS wrote:
Very nice!

Thanks :)

MJS wrote:
Do you have a list which sets use or are compatible with the NG rails? (I can only think of the Canadian and US sets, but there might be more.)

The Canadian train set has narrow gauge rails built-in and does not require this grf. It is possible though, to load ngrailsw.grf after the Canadian set to use some of the extra features (viaduct bridge, ttrs3 support act.).

The US set afaik, does not use narrow gauge rails.

The only set that currently needs ngrails.grf is the Serbian Narrow Gauge set (as Ameecher said).

There is also the UK Narrow Gauge set but I don't believe it has been released, apart from some test versions.

Other sets planning to include narrow gauge trains are the French set and the Swiss set .

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 4:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:00 pm
Posts: 1032
Location: UK
I found a couple of bugs:

    3rd parameter of TTRS3 was ignored, causing TTRS3 road crossings to appear even when TTRS3 roads were disabled.
    Incorrect operation with the grf parameter =1. As no currently released train sets use this setting, I doubt that anyone has noticed. ;)

I have corrected these problems and posted an update: ngrails(w).grf v0.93a.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:12 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
Sorry to dig this thread, but as of R18970 we've had the possible number of rail types increased to 16, i was wandering if there was any interest in updating this GRF so it didn't overwrite an existing rail type, instead using a separate one?

If there are no plans do i have permission to mod the GRF myself for personal use? If so what GRF actions would i need to add or modify?

Many thanks

Jacob

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5431
Location: Canada
JacobD88 wrote:
If there are no plans do i have permission to mod the GRF myself for personal use? If so what GRF actions would i need to add or modify?
mart3p was the last person to update this grf here. As far as I know, he did so with the permission of cornelius. I would think one of them would be required for permissions.
Rather than an update of the existing grf to your reqirements, I would recommend creating a second grf based on the existing one. The reason I suggest this is that the current grf is designed to work under both TTDPatch and OpenTTD and TTDPatch does not yet support new routes. It still must replace either maglev or monorail tracks in TTDPatch.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018 - December 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:28 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
wallyweb wrote:
JacobD88 wrote:
...I would recommend creating a second grf based on the existing one...


Many thanks for the prompt answer, i agree a second GRF based on the set might be a better option, i will attempt to contact Cornelius and Mart3p over the next day or so for permission. I hope they're still around as they haven't been on-line since August and November respectively :?:

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:27 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1558
The rail types GRF is already made, by mart3p. I have updated it to the current standard but just haven't released it yet due to lack of license.

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:11 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
Thanks Petern, if you've already updated that saves me some time doing it too, i just hope you can get permission to release

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 6:52 pm
Posts: 1211
I've been playing around a little bit with the NG tracks.

I drew new concrete catenary pylons for a catenary-electrified NG track (similar design to those used by small narrow gauge railways around the Alps), as well as NG tracks with 3rd rail and rack rail. I have also edited the tunnel portals, making them a little bit smaller (usually, NG trains are narrower and smaller than their SG counterparts).

Thanks to Purno for sharing his ideas from the MetroTracks ;) they were very helpful to me.

Now, I'm no coder so it would be cool if someone could help me coding my sprites (it's the best way to identify possible drawing errors). The problem is that I used Cornelius/Mart3p's NG tracks as a base; we'd need their permission, but they both seem to be quite inactive on the Forums lately...

_________________
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:05 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1558
Attached is the last WIP development version of ngrails for rail types, based on the original ngrails GRF and with work by mart3p and me. Also attached is the disused rails NFO, which was started from the ngrails GRF.

These files are not complete; tunnel parts are missing or not coded, and the level crossing lights are just sprites used for testing the feature. I have uploaded them here because I doubt I will get around to finishing them, so perhaps someone else can.

These are NFO and PCX files. Don't bother downloading if you just want to use an ngrails NewGRF :-)

License? Well, as they're both based on ngrails, follow that, if you can find it.


Attachments:
ngrails.zip [15.73 KiB]
Downloaded 193 times
disused.zip [15.89 KiB]
Downloaded 128 times

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:23 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
Quite OT:
Thank you petern :)

This will help me "finish" the NuTracks, as i got some (more) info on how to use this properly :D

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:56 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1558
Don't forget to reuse the action 2 IDs within the action 3 for rail types with the same graphics. :-)

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2382
Location: Alberta, Canada
I know this is probably in for an overhaul with the new railtypes possibilities, but would it be possible to have a Narrow Gauge rails GRF that is forced to have temperate grass? (Mainly for use with AlpineClimate)

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 3:46 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3929
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Um, I can't seem to get NG rails to replace maglev, it only works replaces SG rails or Monorail no matter what parameter I use (BTW Im playing in OpenTTD)

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Posts: 13
If you use the Serbian set, you have to load the new tracks before the Serbian set and set its parameter to "4". It works for me (OTTD 1.0.1).

However, apparently, the tracks don't work with the "Total Bridge Replacement Set" (the bridges show the maglev track), which is a pitty. Any chance of further development here?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Posts: 1517
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
I do believe that with a little patience and searching, you can find a version of Total Bridges that replaces the Maglev tracked bridges with Narrow Gauge ones.
Or you can turn off TBRS, and the NG rails should provide their own bridges.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5431
Location: Canada
Gremnon wrote:
I do believe that with a little patience and searching, you can find a version of Total Bridges that replaces the Maglev tracked bridges with Narrow Gauge ones.
Or you can turn off TBRS, and the NG rails should provide their own bridges.
Unforetunately its an "all or nothing" replacement, which is fine for OpenTTD. Apparently the coder was too lazy to do it so that it would work with one grf under TTDPatch.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018 - December 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:18 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 8:58 pm
Posts: 122
Skype: mr.foxster
Location: Canada
Its been 4 years since the last post, so I was wondering if there any news on that GRF?

I was interested in it, but I was wondering if there a new one made since?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.