Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue May 22, 2018 10:05 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 121 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 10:04 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5282
Location: The Moon
Okay, you can. :lol:

Nevertheless, I think this pack does what its designed to do, so I'll not add anything more for now.

Not until I redo all the trucks, anyway. :roll:

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2005 10:08 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
then theres only the buildings! and then the tiles! and the track, bridges, and everything else :P

can't forget the, :p

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 3:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5193
Location: Canada
OK folks! It's 1921 here and you sold me on one of these new fangled things called a bus.
So you took your daddy's model T and put a roof over the back and some benches inside and painted it yellow and you tell me people are going to pay me big bucks just to ride in it across town.
Fine! I've got 14 of them squeezed into the back of this thing, at $50 bucks a pop, and the darn thing can't even make it up a little bitty hill.
You told me that at $100,442 it's a steal!
You told me that at 17 mph, horse and buggies were history.
So whose going to be the first of you to step up and tell my passengers they gotta get out and push the thing up that stupid hill so's they can continue on their $50 trip across town?
And ... and ... what you gonna do about the power and the hills?
We got lots of hills around here you know.
You city slickers are all the same.
If it wasn't such a neet idea, I'd want my money back. :x


Attachments:
File comment: Stupid stuck bus on a little bitty hill!
stuck_bus.png
stuck_bus.png [ 26.8 KiB | Viewed 4792 times ]

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:26 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5282
Location: The Moon
OTTD?

In which case I'm guessing the price, and the not-being-able-to-get-up-hills, is a problem with OTTD rather than my grf file. ;)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5193
Location: Canada
PikkaBird wrote:
OTTD?

In which case I'm guessing the price, and the not-being-able-to-get-up-hills, is a problem with OTTD rather than my grf file. ;)


TTDX with patch 52 :wink:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:38 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
And you can tell it's TTDPatch and not OTTD two ways:
1) Transparent station signs (I don't believe OTTD has this feature)
2) The close 'X'es are centered (They're one pixel to far left in OTTD)

Wallyweb, it appears you have George's LVs. Does the problem manifest without the LVs loaded?

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Not to mention the new station design, which (afaik) don't work in oTTD

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:43 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
DaleStan wrote:
1) Transparent station signs (I don't believe OTTD has this feature)


Not too far away :wink:

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
The price is so high probably because you've also enabled George's LV set. The TE or power might have been changed by another set as well.

_________________
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:48 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5282
Location: The Moon
wallyweb wrote:
TTDX with patch 52 :wink:


Hmm.

Odd then. :) They climb hills okay in my a50.

What's your mountain handling set to? Try setting it to 3 (realistic) - although even with it on 0 I can't get the bus to stall on the hill. Given the odd price in that screenshot, are you sure you don't have another grf file active which is conflicting?

Edit: Josef beat me to it. :)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:50 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:28 pm
Posts: 104
so busses stopping uphill are there because of LVs? I thought that this was the vehicle engine being too weak to climb. Geez, why am I always wrong...

[OT]haec omnibus vobis sunt = you are this bus? :lol: [/OT]


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:51 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5282
Location: The Moon
KrevRenko wrote:
[OT]haec omnibus vobis sunt = you are this bus? :lol: [/OT]


"These are for you all". :P

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
Pikkabird, you should probably detect whether George's set is active, and if so divide all your cost multipliers appropriately, since George's set multiplies all RV base costs, and so the prices will be off.

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5193
Location: Canada
Yep ... that George feller tried to get me to buy some of his stuff too.
Soon as I threw his stuff off of the island that bus got good and lively and now I've got 14 happy passengers.

btw ... I had to toss that George feller's model T I was using to haul mail but now I've got something called a coal truck to do it for me. :lol:

Thanks folks ... that did the trick. :D
Sorry to get you flamed like that PikkaBird. :wink:

EDIT: Oh yea ... and the price on that bus got real reasonable too. :D


Attachments:
File comment: Check your mail for coal dust
neat_trick.png
neat_trick.png [ 16.71 KiB | Viewed 4711 times ]

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Last edited by wallyweb on Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:28 pm
Posts: 104
PikkaBird wrote:
KrevRenko wrote:
[OT]haec omnibus vobis sunt = you are this bus? :lol: [/OT]


"These are for you all". :P


OK, I just ran it thru an online translator thingy and what popped up was:

Quote:
This omnibus you are


I fell off my chair, crawling on the floor, gasping for breath. :lol: :lol: :lol:

[/OT=This time I mean it]


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:44 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Omnibus is bus right? technically it should be 'bus as bus is shortened from Omnibus.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 8:39 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 4:28 pm
Posts: 868
Location: Bjärred, Skåne (Scania), Sweden
Born Acorn wrote:
Omnibus is bus right? technically it should be 'bus as bus is shortened from Omnibus.


Omnibus can be translated to 'bus', yes, but it can also mean 'for everyone', or 'for you all'. :)

E.g. Sol lucet omnibus, 'The sun shines for everyone'...

_________________
G-Klav

Note: my avatar is best viewed with the 'silver' scheme on the forums.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 6:52 pm
Posts: 1172
Yeah, and "omnibus" was never used to say anything like "bus" by the Romans. Not even carriages or horses ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2005 9:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:28 pm
Posts: 104
Well, off course not. I just posted it after running it through the translator because I was curious if my Latin translation (something like "that for y'all 'n sumthn'") was correct. Just try it out yourselves... This omnibus you are is what I got.

[/OT=Is nobody taking this tag seriously? Or are you willing to protest against the rules of The Language? :lol: ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2005 8:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4294
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
wallyweb wrote:
OK folks! It's 1921 here and you sold me on one of these new fangled things called a bus. So you took your daddy's model T and put a roof over the back and some benches inside and painted it yellow and you tell me people are going to pay me big bucks just to ride in it across town.
...
If it wasn't such a neet idea, I'd want my money back. :x
The problem is that this specifies only few params for RV, while the LV set specifies ALL of them.

PikkaBird wrote:
Nevertheless, I think this pack does what its designed to do, so I'll not add anything more for now.
I think your set has to have the code to cooperate with LV set. It has to:
1) Test if ANY of the LV files is loaded to FIX the cost and running cost
2) Test if ANY of the LongBuses is loaded or will be loaded to fix AR,TE and other params
3) Test if ALL of the LongBuses are BEFORE the current set

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 121 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.