Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:23 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 510 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 526 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
I think supports are very good drawn

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
The bridge looks amazing IMO :bow:

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 6:21 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 3610
Location: Over there --->
Born Acorn wrote:
Amazing, but I fear the supports are too thin somehow, looks strange in the game :?


I think the strange look is due to the supports being out of perspective. Look where the support meets the ground on the slope, and then where the other supports meet. The other supports should meet the ground in the same place on the tile as the slopes. Other than that, the bridge looks really good.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 9:48 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5188
Location: The Moon
Born Acorn wrote:
Amazing, but I fear the supports are too thin somehow, looks strange in the game :?


They should be about 4-5 pixels thicker in the back, but they clip through the road-deck (and any vehicles on the bridge!) :( It's only really an issue with the higher bridges.

The perspective is slightly skewed, to make them seem taller - same issue as the tunnel entrances. And it looks extra-funny in the screenshot I posted because the bridge is built over a slope.


Attachments:
bridge1.gif
bridge1.gif [ 53.14 KiB | Viewed 3189 times ]

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Last edited by PikkaBird on Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:00 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 3610
Location: Over there --->
PikkaBird wrote:
(And it looks extra-funny in the screenshot I posted because the bridge is built over a slope).


Ah, that would explain why they look a little out. Any answer to getting involved with the larger BR Set, or on whether we can use your sprites?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:06 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5188
Location: The Moon
ChrisCF wrote:
Any answer to getting involved with the larger BR Set, or on whether we can use your sprites?


Sure. After I get all the diesels coded and running, we'll have to talk about which specific vehicles you want for the BR Set.

I'll think about a more unique name for my graphics, too. :oops:

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 12:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
Or you could release the bridges separately, that would be nice too. You could make a stone version of the brick bridge also.

_________________
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 12:51 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5188
Location: The Moon
krtaylor wrote:
Or you could release the bridges separately, that would be nice too. You could make a stone version of the brick bridge also.


It's a seperate .grf in the zip file.

I wanted to make more viaducts, but the only problem is it seems that all the default bridges except the wooden one share some sprites.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 12:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
I think I heard that the Patchteam was taking another look at the way the bridge graphics system works, and maybe they would improve it somewhat. Hope so.

_________________
Development Projects Site:

http://www.as-st.com/ttd

Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:02 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
PikkaBird wrote:
I wanted to make more viaducts, but the only problem is it seems that all the default bridges except the wooden one share some sprites.

No, they don't, if you use the newbridges feature, coded by Oskar.
I can help you with that, I coded Purno's Bridge set (mind you, it was in GRFMaker tho).

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:47 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
/me breaks down and cries

That is so insanely cool!

Pikkabird! Your an asset to the TTD community! Dont *ever* go back to Locomotion!!!

:D

And yeah, as much as I dont like OTTD (At the moment), your stuff would be so insanely awesome there too!

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:49 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5188
Location: The Moon
Szappy wrote:
No, they don't, if you use the newbridges feature, coded by Oskar.


Hmm, I see. I'll have to look in to it.

Anyway, here are the Diesels/Electrics for tonight. I haven't done the MUs yet (unless you count the HST as a MU), or any car replacements (except the HST again). I'm not completely happy with them, but it'll do for tonight. :)

(removed)

THe 91 particularly needs some car replacements (such as a DVT if the last vehicle in the consist is a mail van). All the MUs (currently 4; the original 2 DMUs, plus two new EMUs. And I'm thinking of adding a 5th, a high-speed DMU a la Voyager) will have their own matching passenger/mail car graphics.

Aegir, I'm not planning to go back to Loco :) Although we'll have to wait and see what TRS2006 has in store... :P

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Last edited by PikkaBird on Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Darnit! I only downloaded 0.11 less than an hour ago... :D

Nice work, very nice.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:13 am
Posts: 96
For some reason, the viaduct limits my trains to 20mph...is there a reason for this happening? I'm sure i've done something wrong...
Tom


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:21 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5188
Location: The Moon
blackfour wrote:
For some reason, the viaduct limits my trains to 20mph...is there a reason for this happening? I'm sure i've done something wrong...
Tom


Hey Tom.

Perhaps you have another .grf file which is conflicting (changing the speedlimit back)?

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 12:13 am
Posts: 96
Thanx for the reply, but i don't think that's it...i've got the electric rails, new stations, Cargo Set, new ships and track foundations on, as well as your steam/diesel/electric locos...ii'll see if there's anything else, thanx again,
Tom


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:11 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
... then I'd guess that you don't have "newbridges=on" in your ttdpatch[w].cfg

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 3:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: Ontario, Canada
Pikka, looks awesome! I'll definitely have to try these out today.

Looks like your class 20 is missing the rear deck though :shock: Aside from that however, all look great! Also... Still noticed the Class 55 missing ;) Heck, if you want, I'll draw it for you :D

So any plans for the rolling stock? (ie smaller cars, generic old style coaches/mail vans, etc)?

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:28 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 7:34 pm
Posts: 781
Location: Zwolle (NL)
DanMacK wrote:
Looks like your class 20 is missing the rear deck though :shock:

What rear deck? The Class 20 only has a front deck:
http://www.railfaneurope.net/pix/gb/die ... 0/pix.html

Or do you mean something else?

Bastiaan

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:02 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Pikkabird: Why don't you make the game think that the 91 is a dmu so it will be built like the HST 125 and the Sprinter 158 :wink:

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 510 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 526 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.