New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progress)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Michi_cc
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 619
Joined: 14 Jun 2004 23:27
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by Michi_cc »

maquinista wrote:
petern wrote:Don't forget that shadows cannot extend over the tile boundary, else you will get rendering errors.
This is false, a transparent shadow can extend over the tile boundary a bit. I know that 128 px out is not a problem.
Repeated denial doesn't change facts: OpenTTD does not draw all visible tiles at the same time. It is completely possible and likely that the tiles top-left and/or bottom-left are redrawn after the house tile was drawn, thus overlapping the shadows that stick out.

-- Michael Lutz
maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1828
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by maquinista »

I don't understand, Where is the problem with the shadow?
Attachments
Shadow without problems.
Shadow without problems.
Shadow.jpg (102.89 KiB) Viewed 3225 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]
Rubidium
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 3815
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 19:15

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by Rubidium »

That when one of the tiles west of the tower are redrawn for whatever reason and the tower is not, that in that case the tiles to the west will be drawn without the shadow of the tower.
peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1732
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by peter1138 »

maquinista wrote:I don't understand, Where is the problem with the shadow?
In that image, it's clear that part of the shadow is drawn over the fence, and part is drawn under the fence.
That's even a separate issue to what Rubidium said.
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
glogar2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Apr 2012 11:04
Location: Czech Republic

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by glogar2 »

I have problem with sprite alignment using VISUAL PNG CODEC. PNG Codec doesn't work too. I know that is my mistake but I don't know how to do that
The resolution of image is 258x304px

Can you help me please?
Attachments
Visual PNG Codec.PNG
Visual PNG Codec.PNG (480.88 KiB) Viewed 3087 times
InTheGame.png
InTheGame.png (395.97 KiB) Viewed 3087 times
User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6553
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by FooBar »

Use the ingame sprite aligner instead, and then transfer the values you find there to your NFO or NML file.
See http://wiki.openttd.org/NewGRF_Debugging
maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1828
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by maquinista »

If You have the two construction stages, I can code it.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]
glogar2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Apr 2012 11:04
Location: Czech Republic

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by glogar2 »

maquinista wrote:If You have the two construction stages, I can code it.
Here are all three stages. The principle of coding is clear http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=685391#p685391 therefore I don't know where is the problem. The sprites are without offsets.
Attachments
1464_z0.png
1464_z0.png (40.69 KiB) Viewed 2977 times
1465_z0.png
1465_z0.png (111.55 KiB) Viewed 2977 times
1466_z0.png
1466_z0.png (113.31 KiB) Viewed 2977 times
maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1828
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by maquinista »

Very nice.

I have a small suggestion about the firs construction stage: add some cylinders over the columns. They will be the steel bars used in concrete structures.

If nobody have more complains, I will code it.
Attachments
How It would look.
How It would look.
1464_z0_suggestion.png (34.23 KiB) Viewed 2906 times
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]
User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by Hyronymus »

And perhaps some rubble, no construction site is that sterile after all ;).
TrueSatan
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 291
Joined: 16 Jul 2003 18:33

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by TrueSatan »

I agree with Hyronymus and since we are very close now, some workers would be nice too.
Would be nice in the cran in later construction as well ;)
But as usual maquinista :bow: verrrryyyy good.
User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by Hyronymus »

TrueSatan wrote:I agree with Hyronymus and since we are very close now, some workers would be nice too.
Would be nice in the cran in later construction as well ;)
But as usual maquinista :bow: verrrryyyy good.
You have to :bow: glogar2.
glogar2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Apr 2012 11:04
Location: Czech Republic

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by glogar2 »

maquinista wrote:Very nice.

I have a small suggestion about the firs construction stage: add some cylinders over the columns. They will be the steel bars used in concrete structures.

If nobody have more complains, I will code it.

It`s better now :wink:
Attachments
1464_z0.png
1464_z0.png (36.39 KiB) Viewed 5348 times
1465_z0.png
1465_z0.png (95.3 KiB) Viewed 5348 times
User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by Hyronymus »

Nice but to be a pane in the ass: if any of my collegues stores glass panes like that on a construction site I personnaly kick their nuts ;).

Amazing though how you got the transparency/reflective property in the glass panes!
maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1828
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by maquinista »

The sprites are much better now.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]
glogar2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Apr 2012 11:04
Location: Czech Republic

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by glogar2 »

maquinista wrote:The sprites are much better now.
Thank you, so can you code it? If I do width (256/2)*-1 = xoffset, and than (304-124)*-1 = yoffset but it`s not work in the game.
TrueSatan
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 291
Joined: 16 Jul 2003 18:33

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by TrueSatan »

Upps... sorry.
:bow: glogar2
Thanks Hyronymus to point that out :)
But a :bow: to all artists and coders would be appropriate as well.
So, thanks and keep up the good work.
User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6553
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by FooBar »

glogar2 wrote:Thank you, so can you code it? If I do width (256/2)*-1 = xoffset, and than (304-124)*-1 = yoffset but it`s not work in the game.
That's just a rule of thumb. Many buildings have different bounding boxes than the complete tile, and therefore need manual adjustment.

Encode the grf without cropping, then use the ingame sprite aligner to find the correct offsets and put the numbers you found there in your nfo or nml code. Or indeed have maquinista figure it out ;)
maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1828
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Re: New Graphics - Blender ".blend" thread (Works In Progres

Post by maquinista »

glogar2 wrote:
maquinista wrote:The sprites are much better now.
Thank you, so can you code it? If I do width (256/2)*-1 = xoffset, and than (304-124)*-1 = yoffset but it`s not work in the game.
Yes, I can code it, but the model must be definitive.

Do You want the second construction stage?

If someone has a suggestion, please, post it as soon as possible.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GarryG and 60 guests