Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 182
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Timberwolf's US Trainset!
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
PEPSprinterPacer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 61
Joined: 20 Jul 2020 13:43
Location: Nether you mind

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by PEPSprinterPacer »

AmtrakSmashS7 wrote:
06 Sep 2020 12:38
Timberwolf's European Trainset...
Maybe
Last edited by PEPSprinterPacer on 07 Sep 2020 15:05, edited 1 time in total.
Only ever been on a 185 and 144 023!

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 182
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

I'd honestly love to see him make an american set when he finishes with this
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
PEPSprinterPacer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 61
Joined: 20 Jul 2020 13:43
Location: Nether you mind

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by PEPSprinterPacer »

Class 717?
Last edited by PEPSprinterPacer on 08 Sep 2020 18:50, edited 1 time in total.
Only ever been on a 185 and 144 023!

User avatar
Taschi
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 51
Joined: 11 Oct 2014 22:58

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Taschi »

What do you think you're going to accomplish? Generally, most people don't enjoy being spammed with unsolicited requests for what they should do in their spare time.
For the safety of our railways: Fire Sir Topham Hatt now!

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 182
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

Taschi wrote:
08 Sep 2020 05:04
What do you think you're going to accomplish? Generally, most people don't enjoy being spammed with unsolicited requests for what they should do in their spare time.
"spammed"? I indirectly made a suggestion. I don't care if he does it or not, but it would be cool if he did. Like you said; it's their choice, I'm not trying to force him.
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

Timberwolf
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 156
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Timberwolf »

If someone or some group were to make the tracking table and the voxel models, I would be more interested... ;)

(I'm not really familiar enough with US railroading, and I think it'd need an equivalent US road vehicles set to make things complete. Code-wise I think most of what's needed is there, although I think it'd need something similar to the class 20 nose-to-nose code for creating the A and B units where the US likes adding extra boxes of engines rather than just one loco)

Finishing the stations is my next goal. A little bit slower as there aren't so many practical examples for things I want to do so I need to figure stuff out from scratch. Current things to figure out are how to add fences on tiles at the "edge" of a station, and make adjacent footbridges link together properly (i.e. switch spriteset if there's an adjacent tile of the same type)

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 182
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

I could be of great help if you do decide to take it on. I have plenty of info on locos from the states!
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

Timberwolf
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 156
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Timberwolf »

I am learning a lot about how much easier NML has made creating GRF files. It took me several attempts to finally figure out how to do an Action 14 callback to make dynamic station fences work, but I think I am finally there (give or take some niceties such as fences for the ramp tiles):

Image

On the plus side, having finally figured out how a callback chain works it should be a little bit less taxing to work on some of the other things like 2x1 (and larger) station buildings, multi-tile station halls, auto buffer stops and other such fancy pieces.

User avatar
PEPSprinterPacer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 61
Joined: 20 Jul 2020 13:43
Location: Nether you mind

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by PEPSprinterPacer »

Mmmm tasty station set
Only ever been on a 185 and 144 023!

Timberwolf
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 156
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Timberwolf »

I started making some 1x1 station buildings - I don't want to go too mad with the station set but it's nice to have a few non-track tiles to add details here and there. (And totally not to walk your catchment area a few tiles over and take advantage of that cluster of skyscrapers you can't quite get the platforms near enough to...)

Image

Larger buildings will follow but after the ordeal of fences I wanted something that was simple to code, and the single-tile buildings fit exactly that brief.

User avatar
Blaxlandridge3
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 182
Joined: 24 Mar 2020 19:47

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Blaxlandridge3 »

That looks great! station buildings themselves are always a must!
Mac OS sucks.

......If Locomotion can't work on it......

viewtopic.php?f=39&t=87176 : Let's Play Together! US Midwest!

Subscribe to meh YouTube --> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFaVMm ... JfXVMrYd2A?

User avatar
FulliAutomatix
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 111
Joined: 24 Aug 2014 12:20
Location: Kaon Prison, Cybertron

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by FulliAutomatix »

Timberwolf wrote:
15 Sep 2020 20:08
I started making some 1x1 station buildings - I don't want to go too mad with the station set but it's nice to have a few non-track tiles to add details here and there. (And totally not to walk your catchment area a few tiles over and take advantage of that cluster of skyscrapers you can't quite get the platforms near enough to...)

Image

Larger buildings will follow but after the ordeal of fences I wanted something that was simple to code, and the single-tile buildings fit exactly that brief.
Looking fantastic! Are you thinking of making single sided platform variations? Would be good for us eye candy players out there who don't use double sided station tiles.

Timberwolf
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 156
Joined: 22 May 2006 18:25
Location: London-ish.
Contact:

Re: Timberwolf's UK.... trains?

Post by Timberwolf »

Yes! The main reason I haven't done any yet is it's only a tiny change in the program I use to generate the NFO to do a single-sided layout, and I wanted to get all the complex bits out of the way first.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: odisseus and 10 guests