Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:06 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 144 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 58 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Took a video other day of a DMU crossing the bridge at Paterson.

I notice that the Iron plating is only the length of 1 unit of the DMU and the bridge section behind has several pillars under the other DMU unit.

The photo a bit blurred as sun was above the train and it was cold and windy so a bit hard holding camera still.
Attachment:
DMU on Paterson Bridge.png
DMU on Paterson Bridge.png [ 277.4 KiB | Viewed 965 times ]

But as can be seen the Iron plating bridges I have made I have the plating the length of 2 units so will see if I can change them so a bit closer to how they would have been in real.

Today I visited the bridge at Cockle Creek and this time sun was in the right place so all the bridge structure showing lovely and clear.
Got a photo of some track machines crossing the bridge. I like the sandstone pillars under this bridge and think might be a nice set to try make.
Attachment:
Cockle Creek Bridge.png
Cockle Creek Bridge.png [ 244.86 KiB | Viewed 965 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2018 1:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Was hoping to get more done to the bridges before the weekend just past, but personal commitments prevented me doing anything.

Not sure if much will be done this week too.

Had a look at Hexham Bridge using google earth and notice the pedestrian walk way is out side of the steel girders.
Attachment:
Hexham Bridge 2.PNG
Hexham Bridge 2.PNG [ 545.27 KiB | Viewed 912 times ]

So when I get chance will alter the Hexham bridge to match the image.

Image shows only one pathway so will try do same.

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Think I finished the Hexham Bridge.

Also trying something different with the roads by using the default roads and hope this will better suit what ever roads you use.

Cheers


Attachments:
New Hexham Bridge-1.png
New Hexham Bridge-1.png [ 246.78 KiB | Viewed 834 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1668
Location: Russia, Samara
This version of bridges with roads already looks great. There are no graphical bugs in sprites.. Great work, GarryG :D . I'm waiting for an updated version of the bridges to be tested.

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
STD wrote:
This version of bridges with roads already looks great. There are no graphical bugs in sprites.. Great work, GarryG


Thanks for the complement.

I made new templates using what Wallyweb sent me before and it makes it easier to align things a lot better.

STD wrote:
I'm waiting for an updated version of the bridges to be tested.


Can let you try that new Steel Girder Bridge.

In the test Bridge section there is a Wooden road bridge I been working on. the on and off ramps fences are a wee bit out of alignment. This is a bridge I was working on many moons ago.

The test rail bridge is a test bridge.

I having health issues and not been at computer doing much coding and graphics lately. Taking me a lot longer these days to do things.

Cheers


Attachments:
australian_bridges.grf [256.43 KiB]
Downloaded 24 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1668
Location: Russia, Samara
Thank you very much for the work done :bow: . And health should always be in the first place. I wish you recovery, so that your health improved as soon as possible :D . And the coding and the graphics will wait :wink: .

Regards STD (Aleksey).


Attachments:
File comment: I found graphical flaws in two types of bridges (red areas) (road bridges): Wooden with Steel Girder Bridge, Wooden with Iron Plate Bridge. No graphical bugs were found at the railway bridges. Test bridges you can hide it via settings. So it will be more convenient for the user.
Trarninghead Transport, 2nd Jul 2018.png [657.95 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Thanks Aleksey,

Thanks for the get well, but unfortunately my problem looks like it will be permanent.

If you make the bridges different lengths say 5, 6 and 7 .. some will be different in the middle.

The wooden bridge I working on in the test section when make a odd length it will have the Iron Plate or Steel Girders in the middle.

The 2 bridges you mention with alignment problem these will be replaced by something else.

The 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th road bridge from the left will all be replaced.

With roads I hope to make a few old style bridges and some newer types. The newer types I hope make them all wide so can be placed side by side for those who like highways.

Might take me several weeks or more get these bridges finished.

This image of all the bridges so far at different lengths.
Attachment:
All Bridges.png [1.43 MiB]
Not downloaded yet

The road bridges:
Brick -- this designed from bridges in Sydney and Newcastle that cross over railway tracks. There is also another design of this I intend to make with steel girder type pillars instead of brick.
Steel Girder -- this I think is complete .. it is based on a bridge at Hexham near Newcastle. There are several other bridges with same design in my country.
Test Bridge -- this when I got the alignment with fences on the on and off ramps will replace the Wooden Bridge or maybe the Covered bridge.
Iron Plate Bridge -- is based on a bridge at a place called Dora Creek, located between Newcastle and Sydney. These types of bridges are used to cross rivers and also railway tracks. The pillars need to be spaced to 2 tiles apart like the brick bridge.
Stone Bridge -- intend to move this to replace one of the wooden bridges and replace it with a brick arch similar to the Stone rail bridge.
The next 5 bridges will all be replaced.

The Rail Bridges
Brick -- this is based on a bridge at East Maitland Railway Station and others seen in Sydney Suburban network. Has a pedestrian walk way under the on/off ramps.
Steel Girder -- we have many of this style of bridge in my country.
Test bridge -- solely for testing designs.
Iron Plate -- Based on a Iron Plate at Dora Creek and Wyong between Newcastle and Sydney. Not sure if the Steel Girder is needed .. might remove this.
Stone Bridge -- Hope to keep this bridge but might used different stone colours as used to be some in my country using red brick and some sandstone.
Wooden Trestle -- This based on high trestle bridges I see in photos in books and on internet .. I don't know of any crossing wide rivers, but I left a gap in the middle for bridges of odd lengths to allow vehicles and boats to pass under. The centre span needs strengthening.
Wooden Bridge -- intend to combine this with the "Wood with iron Plate" and "Wood with Steel Girder" . A bridge of even length,2, 4, 6 etc will be all wood. A bridge of a odd length will be either the Iron Plate or the Steel Girder in the centre.
Wood with iron Plate, Wood with Steel Girder and Covered Bridge -- will all be replaced with a different design.

The Test Bridges will also be replaced.

One idea I like to try if can make 2 rail bridges and design them so can be placed side by side for dual tracks. Make it look like a double track bridge. Probable do this if a Iron Plate bridge as I have photos of these to work with.

Here the updated file with a few fixes did.


Attachments:
australian_bridges.grf [255.75 KiB]
Downloaded 24 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 7:13 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Power was off here most of the day so took the opportunity to go train riding and getting some photos to use in my projects.

There are basically 3 types of road bridges that cross railway lines and managed to good photos of 2 older style.

Both these bridges on the line between Newcastle and Maitland.

This one is at Beresfield.
Attachment:
Beresfield.png
Beresfield.png [ 304.86 KiB | Viewed 661 times ]

It has the steel pillars and abutments. Hope to make the abutment for the bridge I do similar to this.

This one taken at High Street, the station just before Maitland.
Attachment:
High Street.png
High Street.png [ 477.29 KiB | Viewed 661 times ]

It has the brick pillars and abutments.

Although these are only short bridges of 6 tiles counting the abutments, I intend to allow almost all my bridges to be of very long lengths.

Hope to start on these within next few days.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
This first attempt doing those 2 bridges above.
Attachment:
High Street and Beresfield Bridges.png
High Street and Beresfield Bridges.png [ 51.63 KiB | Viewed 619 times ]


The High Street bridge originally had brick fencing so I made it with brick instead of the wire mesh fence.

The abutments spreads out either side of the bridge .. the one at far end looked ok as they was facing. But closer end looked terrible and didn't look good as they never blended in with the slope. So maybe the style I used here will be ok.

I believe the Beresfield also had brick fence, but so far not find any old photos to prove it., but might change it to brick or Wire mesh as it will look a lot better and have that old look.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:29 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
To help learn how to make my bridges I made up some templates.

Rail Bridge:
Attachment:
TemplateLong_rail.png [22.16 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

Road Bridge
Attachment:
TemplateLong_road.png [25.25 KiB]
Not downloaded yet


Some sections are higher then others to allow design of bridges with tall structure. (I used these for the Steel Girder Road Bridge (Hexham Bridge)).

I see other peoples bridge sprites they reduce the size of each bridge section removing excess blue area .. is there a reason for this?

I got some bridges made leaving the sprites the size show in the 2 templates and have not seen and problems from it. But then I not played any lengthy games with them yet.

A text file showing the codes I used for the bridges attached.

My test bridges, Wooden Trestle and Steel Girder are all made using these sprites and I did not remove excess blue area.

I'll bundle up my source files and add them in next post in a few moments time.

Cheers


Attachments:
Long Bridges.txt [18.5 KiB]
Downloaded 12 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Here the source of my work so far.

It does not have those 2 new bridges in this yet as still working on those.

Much thanks goes to Andrew350, Wallyweb and michael blunck for using some of their work and providing guidance to learn what I been doing.

Much of the coding is from Andrew350 as been using his codes and sprites from his "American Bridge set".

And the pretty colour guides in each of the blue bridge sprites are designed by Wallyweb who sent them to me some time ago. (Been using these for not just bridges, but also been using these in other projects as well.

Not sure when I will get my bridges finished as other issues slowing me down.

Any one wishing to use the work I been doing, your more then welcome to use what ever you wish.

Cheers

Garry


Attachments:
AustralianBridgesSources.rar [524.91 KiB]
Downloaded 7 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5336
Location: Canada
GarryG wrote:
I see other peoples bridge sprites they reduce the size of each bridge section removing excess blue area .. is there a reason for this?
Size matters. 8)

The excess blue brings the sprites to a consistent 64 pixels width. This makes it easier for alignments.

But, each extra pixel adds to the size of the GRF.
By eliminating the extra pixels, the GRF size is smaller.
Eliminate enough pixels and the size reduction can be significant.
Smaller GRF sizes take up less room on your hard drive and they also take less time to download.

It all goes to efficiency and consideration for the poor blighter who can't afford the latest and greatest in equipment and has just moved out of his parents' home and no longer has access to daddy's high speed internet connection and now must barely afford dial-up.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Thanks Wallyweb.

Will redesign the rail sprites as most railway bridges same width.

Also make 2 types of road sprites .. one with the roads full width so they can be placed side by side for those who like to have highways and one for simple 2 lane bridge with a pedestrian walk way along one side.

Cheers

EDIT: Would this also apply to eye candy objects. Reducing the blue?

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:06 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 429
Location: Washington State, USA
Yes, it applies to all sprites :) Sometimes having the extra blue is useful though, like wallyweb said it is useful to keep sprite sizes the same to make aligning easier, for example for using templates for coding. This is especially useful when coding many sprites that are of similar size (vehicles, buildings, etc); for smaller sets or ones that have a lot of varying sizes it isn't a big deal to code the sprites individually, so trimming the extra blue makes things a little more tidy. But it mainly comes down to personal preference. :)

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2385
Location: Virgo Supercluster
A bunch of extra blue pixels is about as file-size relevant as deciding how long your GRF name should be. A 64x64 paletted png is about 900 bytes, a 640x640 paletted png some 1,5kB. But if you have any sort of modern HDD they'll probably both take up a 4kb chunk simply because you won't have them formatted for anything smaller ^^ Now, obviously, if you have 1000 pngs in your GRF ... it might make a bit of a difference, having all of them 100-times the size they need to be. And, yeah, it's more convenient for alignment, in some cases, but if you use templates you only need to figure that out once either way.

Otherwise it's really absolutely, utterly irrelevant.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Finally got a bit more work did to the bridges. Normally this should have taken me a day or two .. but has taken me over a week.

There are 9 sets but no all mine. (I forgot to add the Iron Plate Bridge in the image.
Attachment:
Bridges Updated.png [432.31 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

Top row:

Brick Bridges .. looking at idea making another one of these and make it wider so it will go side by side for those who like freeways

Steel Girder Brides

Steel Pillar Bridges .. the rusty look courtesy of Andrew350 maker of the American Bridge set.

Stone Bridges .. Work still required here. The road bridge I like to make wider to go side by side. The rail bridge like to change the stone work. If you have Google Earth .. have a look at the rail bridge crossing over Eddy Avenue behind Sydney Station and you will get a idea what I planning.

Next Row:

Wooden Trestle .. both finished.

Wood with Iron Plate Centre .. Rail section finished .. wooden one it temporary .. most likely be replaced with something different.

Wood with Steel Girder Centre .. probably replace both of these or change them a bit.

Covered Bridge .. the road bridge courtesy of Andrew350 .. we don't have these to my knowledge in Australia .. decide later if change. The rail bridge will be replaces.


All these bridges in image are odd lengths so can see the centre span. If you make them a even length the centre span on most bridges will not be available.

Any one like to try these .. here the game file.

cheers


Attachments:
australian_bridges.grf [265.26 KiB]
Downloaded 18 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:07 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Experimenting with freeways and wide railway bridges.

This is what a freeway bride might look like.
Attachment:
Freeways-2.png
Freeways-2.png [ 5.62 KiB | Viewed 376 times ]


I used parts of the Dutch Road Furniture for road edges crossing the bridge.

Wide Rail Bridge could look similar to this.
Attachment:
Wide Rail Bridge-1.png
Wide Rail Bridge-1.png [ 6.39 KiB | Viewed 376 times ]


Haven't laid any railway lines on this bridge yet, just used some fake rails for now.

The brown pieces are access roads and walk ways. Suppose to represent timber.

What your opinion about these. Do you think be worth making a set?

Probably could make all the railway bridges wide like this except the Wooden ones as I never seen in real any double track wooden bridges in real life or in photos on internet.

If players think wide rail bridges might work, will look at steel girder ones too.

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:28 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 451
GarryG wrote:
Experimenting with freeways and wide railway bridges.

This is what a freeway bride might look like.
Freeways-2.png

I used parts of the Dutch Road Furniture for road edges crossing the bridge.

Wide Rail Bridge could look similar to this.
Wide Rail Bridge-1.png

Haven't laid any railway lines on this bridge yet, just used some fake rails for now.

The brown pieces are access roads and walk ways. Suppose to represent timber.

What your opinion about these. Do you think be worth making a set?

Probably could make all the railway bridges wide like this except the Wooden ones as I never seen in real any double track wooden bridges in real life or in photos on internet.

If players think wide rail bridges might work, will look at steel girder ones too.

Cheers


I was hoping someone would make bridges with full-tile ramps! These would be perfect for the marathon sessions I start but never finish because I'm never satisfied with the graphics. Now that JGR's Patch Pack has everything I want except NRT, I would absolutely use these bridges!

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quote:
I was hoping someone would make bridges with full-tile ramps! These would be perfect for the marathon sessions I start but never finish because I'm never satisfied with the graphics. Now that JGR's Patch Pack has everything I want except NRT, I would absolutely use these bridges!


See if I can make some and see how they perform.

Be a few days before I can start on them as have some personal commitments next few days such as medical appointments and also like to go get some photos of double track bridges on the top to get some ideas. I looked at Google Earth but like getting my own pics.

I can get photos of the top section of bridges at east Maitland which is a steel bridge with brick pylons and one at Dora Creek which is a Iron Plate bridge. I can get photos of both these bridges from the stations close by. If all goes well will get these photos on Friday.

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzBridges
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2532
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Had a go making the wide bridges for rail and road.

Only done one set at moment to see how you all like it and if have any ideas I could add to future bridges.
Attachment:
Wide Brdiges.png
Wide Brdiges.png [ 130.28 KiB | Viewed 312 times ]


The road edging on the bridges are taken from the Dutch Road Furniture.

The road bridge replaces Andrew350 American Bridge Covered Road Bridge .. I really like that bridge of his but we don't (to my knowledge) have them in my country.

The rail bridges the brown sections suppose to be wooden access paths for workers to do maintenance work. Some of these bridges did have access paths but usually not that wide.

The rail bridge replaces the Suspension Bridge.

If like to try and see for yourself here the game file. To fnd them in the purchase menu they are called Wide Bridges.

Let me know what you think and if have idea for improvements or for another bridge type.

Cheers


Attachments:
australian_bridges.grf [281.26 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 144 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 58 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.