Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:06 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Locomotive Refurbishment
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 11:02 pm
Posts: 4052
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England
I was playing a bit of TTDpatch earlier and i had a few engines that were apparently getting very old and urgently needed replacing, and it got me thinking.

Now im not a complete know it all on how modern railways work, but im pretty sure when something gets old they dont just sell it and buy a brand new one, thats not cost effective. which in turn led me to think would it not be possible to have an option within the depot screen to refit/refurbish/modernise engines, say extending their life by half of what their maximum life is.

For example a Class 37 for ease of writing in Pikkas excellent UK renewal Set has a working life of 22 years, but when it gets old and suposedly needs replacing, you have the option to
A) Sell it buy a new one
or
B) refurb/refit/modernise and extend its useful working life by 11 years.

Obviously this would be done at cost, say at a percentage of the price, maybe half the price of a new one as you are only getting half the life span. or at a definable percentage of the total price. this would simulate the installation of new technologies safety features or what not. I think maybe it would be limited to maybe once or twice per loco but not sure if that is possible.

Also on an eye candy note, it would allow you to keep some of the earlier liveries on your trains that bit longer. cos im a stickler for the liveries in the early 90's

Your views, ideas, expansions or criticisms appreciated. Maybe even a patch dev might look at this.

_________________

Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Official TT-Ellen Page FanClub
Official TT-Hayley Williams FanClub
Official TT-generic yet cute emo woman FanClub

jonty-comp wrote:
I accidentally wedged my frigate between some rocks. D:


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17142
Location: Harringay, North London
Perhaps becoming more expensive as the loco/unit gets older?

Twice the cost of a new train to maintain an old one for enthusiast purposes? That's not far from being right in theoretical terms.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
I think he is more meaning the sort of refurbishment that happened with the Class 47s. First the 47/0-47/2 were built. Then some 47/0 were refurbished to the 47/4, then the 47/7, and now (over 40 years from production), the 57. All in commercial service.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 7:05 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17142
Location: Harringay, North London
Yeah, but it still cost to have them rebuilt. That's what I was getting at.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Oh yeah, it shouldnt happen for free... totally with you there.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 8:03 pm
Posts: 3903
Location: Ontario, Canada
This would actually be very useful. the North American sets have rebuilt GP9's (and the RS18u in the Canset). Doubling th working life of a loc for a cost would be handy. Sometimes though, the rebuild can be almost as much as a new unit.

_________________
Regards,

Dan MacKellar
================
Projects in Progress
North American Renewal Train Set Topic,Canadian Train Set Website, Canadian Train Set Development Topic, Finnish Train Set Website,Visit my Train Gifs Site
Image
CN Boxcar drawn by Dave Hersrud


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 7:49 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 2:39 am
Posts: 448
Location: NSW, Australia
It should cost more cause in real life, its much cheaper to buy an new car, for example, than it is to buy a new engine for the car. Also, seeing as your installing new technologies and it would have to be "serviced" more frequently, its running cost should probably increase as well, though not by the same proportion as the cost.

_________________
Posted by Pookey...

For Information on TTD Patch Click Here
For Information on Building a Network (FAST) Click Here
For Information on Building a Network as a Challenge (SLOW) Click Here
For Help on the Different Signalling Types Click Here
Before Asking a Question, Please use the Forums Search Function Here and if you do Ask a Question, Please Provide as much Detail as Possible.
If you do not get a Crash Log when TTDPatch Crashes, Follow the Olly Debug Instructions Here and Post the Resulting Screenshot with your Problem.

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:38 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5304
Location: The Moon
I fail to see how this is much different from replacing an old locomotive with a new locomotive of the same type. :)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 5:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5334
Location: Canada
PikkaBird wrote:
I fail to see how this is much different from replacing an old locomotive with a new locomotive of the same type. :)
Perhaps because the manufacturer (Pikkabird Industries ?) has decided to discontinue availability after a certain date? :wink:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17142
Location: Harringay, North London
As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5334
Location: Canada
Dave Worley wrote:
As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...
How artificial ... but that works too. :wink:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 5:34 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5304
Location: The Moon
Dave Worley wrote:
As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...


Not really (although I personally do). The retirement dates for vehicles in my sets take refurbishment into consideration.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:41 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17142
Location: Harringay, North London
PikkaBird wrote:
Dave Worley wrote:
As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...


Not really (although I personally do). The retirement dates for vehicles in my sets take refurbishment into consideration.


See. If you do it, I do it :P

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:31 pm
Posts: 2092
Location: Wisconsin, USA
If they did locomotive rebuilding with the US Set, it would get more interesting. For example, the GP9u in the set, is, in RL, a rebuilt locomotive from Chrome Locomotive Works (I think it was them), built mostly, if not all for the Illinois Central Railroad, out of old units.

Plus there should be some trade up value- EMD had an aggressive buy back policy- many second generation Geeps rode on FT sand early F unit trucks I have read, due to this policy, and many railroads did their own 'kitbashing' of locomotives. I've seen a Rock Island SW series switcher that had an ALCO HH series hood on it. Funny looking unit, but it saved them money and it ran.

Oh, the possibilities this has!

_________________
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5334
Location: Canada
Railwaymodeler wrote:
... Oh, the possibilities this has!
It would be a dream come true, but the nightmare would be in the coding. :wink:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.