Locomotive Refurbishment

Got an idea for a new feature in TTDPatch? Post it here.

Moderator: TTDPatch Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Louie Armstrong
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4053
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:02
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England

Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by Louie Armstrong » 26 Oct 2007 15:23

I was playing a bit of TTDpatch earlier and i had a few engines that were apparently getting very old and urgently needed replacing, and it got me thinking.

Now im not a complete know it all on how modern railways work, but im pretty sure when something gets old they dont just sell it and buy a brand new one, thats not cost effective. which in turn led me to think would it not be possible to have an option within the depot screen to refit/refurbish/modernise engines, say extending their life by half of what their maximum life is.

For example a Class 37 for ease of writing in Pikkas excellent UK renewal Set has a working life of 22 years, but when it gets old and suposedly needs replacing, you have the option to
A) Sell it buy a new one
or
B) refurb/refit/modernise and extend its useful working life by 11 years.

Obviously this would be done at cost, say at a percentage of the price, maybe half the price of a new one as you are only getting half the life span. or at a definable percentage of the total price. this would simulate the installation of new technologies safety features or what not. I think maybe it would be limited to maybe once or twice per loco but not sure if that is possible.

Also on an eye candy note, it would allow you to keep some of the earlier liveries on your trains that bit longer. cos im a stickler for the liveries in the early 90's

Your views, ideas, expansions or criticisms appreciated. Maybe even a patch dev might look at this.

Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Official TT-Ellen Page FanClub
Official TT-Hayley Williams FanClub
Official TT-generic yet cute emo woman FanClub
jonty-comp wrote:I accidentally wedged my frigate between some rocks. D:

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17195
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by Dave » 26 Oct 2007 17:32

Perhaps becoming more expensive as the loco/unit gets older?

Twice the cost of a new train to maintain an old one for enthusiast purposes? That's not far from being right in theoretical terms.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

richk67
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2363
Joined: 05 Jun 2003 16:21
Location: Up North
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by richk67 » 27 Oct 2007 12:50

I think he is more meaning the sort of refurbishment that happened with the Class 47s. First the 47/0-47/2 were built. Then some 47/0 were refurbished to the 47/4, then the 47/7, and now (over 40 years from production), the 57. All in commercial service.
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17195
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by Dave » 27 Oct 2007 19:05

Yeah, but it still cost to have them rebuilt. That's what I was getting at.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

richk67
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2363
Joined: 05 Jun 2003 16:21
Location: Up North
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by richk67 » 27 Oct 2007 22:40

Oh yeah, it shouldnt happen for free... totally with you there.
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by DanMacK » 27 Oct 2007 23:04

This would actually be very useful. the North American sets have rebuilt GP9's (and the RS18u in the Canset). Doubling th working life of a loc for a cost would be handy. Sometimes though, the rebuild can be almost as much as a new unit.

User avatar
Pookey
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 448
Joined: 15 Nov 2005 02:39
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by Pookey » 28 Oct 2007 07:49

It should cost more cause in real life, its much cheaper to buy an new car, for example, than it is to buy a new engine for the car. Also, seeing as your installing new technologies and it would have to be "serviced" more frequently, its running cost should probably increase as well, though not by the same proportion as the cost.
Posted by Pookey...

For Information on TTD Patch Click Here
For Information on Building a Network (FAST) Click Here
For Information on Building a Network as a Challenge (SLOW) Click Here
For Help on the Different Signalling Types Click Here
Before Asking a Question, Please use the Forums Search Function Here and if you do Ask a Question, Please Provide as much Detail as Possible.
If you do not get a Crash Log when TTDPatch Crashes, Follow the Olly Debug Instructions Here and Post the Resulting Screenshot with your Problem.

Image

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5382
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by PikkaBird » 28 Oct 2007 10:38

I fail to see how this is much different from replacing an old locomotive with a new locomotive of the same type. :)

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5512
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by wallyweb » 28 Oct 2007 17:05

PikkaBird wrote:I fail to see how this is much different from replacing an old locomotive with a new locomotive of the same type. :)
Perhaps because the manufacturer (Pikkabird Industries ?) has decided to discontinue availability after a certain date? :wink:

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17195
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by Dave » 28 Oct 2007 20:16

As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5512
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by wallyweb » 28 Oct 2007 20:56

Dave Worley wrote:As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...
How artificial ... but that works too. :wink:

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5382
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by PikkaBird » 29 Oct 2007 05:34

Dave Worley wrote:As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...
Not really (although I personally do). The retirement dates for vehicles in my sets take refurbishment into consideration.

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17195
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by Dave » 29 Oct 2007 12:41

PikkaBird wrote:
Dave Worley wrote:As I recall... Pikka's set is meant to be played with enginespersist on...
Not really (although I personally do). The retirement dates for vehicles in my sets take refurbishment into consideration.
See. If you do it, I do it :P
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Railwaymodeler
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2096
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 18:31
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by Railwaymodeler » 02 Dec 2007 03:03

If they did locomotive rebuilding with the US Set, it would get more interesting. For example, the GP9u in the set, is, in RL, a rebuilt locomotive from Chrome Locomotive Works (I think it was them), built mostly, if not all for the Illinois Central Railroad, out of old units.

Plus there should be some trade up value- EMD had an aggressive buy back policy- many second generation Geeps rode on FT sand early F unit trucks I have read, due to this policy, and many railroads did their own 'kitbashing' of locomotives. I've seen a Rock Island SW series switcher that had an ALCO HH series hood on it. Funny looking unit, but it saved them money and it ran.

Oh, the possibilities this has!
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5512
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Locomotive Refurbishment

Post by wallyweb » 02 Dec 2007 03:36

Railwaymodeler wrote: ... Oh, the possibilities this has!
It would be a dream come true, but the nightmare would be in the coding. :wink:

Post Reply

Return to “Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest