Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:53 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Flora & Fauna
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Can't say I've seen any animals in my forests, but I do have tree's - and I DO like to plant them in my cities. I've brought this up on an earlier occasion, I know, but as I'm fed up re-planting them all the time instead of having all those "gaps" in my towns, I figured it's worth a shot again! :P

I know that the game probably gets rid of tree's in towns so that I, as a player, can re-plant them and earn better ratings towards the town councils. However, the amount required most of the times for tree plantations to have desired effect , and the fact that a couple of services running in a town helps out almost equally, makes me wonder if it's possible to make a .grf or whatever, (an optional patch feature), to keep tree's from decaying in towns, (not anywhere else)? Meaning, if I plant tree's they'll stay there until I cut them down.

Is this possible at all? On a relevant note, am I the only one annoyed about this constant need of planting tree's in order to keep my towns beautified?

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6099
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
No, i am slightly annoyed at trees short longevity. If you set up an island, in the middle of an ocean, only 3 tiles big, so they don't spread, they are usually gone within 5-15 years, In real Life, some last longer than 150 years.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Captain Kirk wrote:
No, i am slightly annoyed at trees short longevity. If you set up an island, in the middle of an ocean, only 3 tiles big, so they don't spread, they are usually gone within 5-15 years, In real Life, some last longer than 150 years.


Yeah, that too! :evil: Forgot to add that!

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 8:51 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
TBH, I hate trees ingame (they take away my sight). I wouldn't mind if I plant them and they died immediately. :tongue:

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Purno wrote:
TBH, I hate trees ingame (they take away my sight). I wouldn't mind if I plant them and they died immediately. :tongue:


:P Which is why I figured an optional feature would be good!

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 6:33 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 4:06 pm
Posts: 92
Location: England UK
You could remake a statue tile into a tree tile and put those in place instead. Of course this would mean the town could not build on these tiles and also it would cost a lot more to 'beautify' than at this moment.

_________________
I maybe old but at least I'm not dead (yet).
OK! I admit it I AM dead (from the neck up)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
And you would also always get the same collection of trees, Ramshill.

We need newtrees patch feature, I want bushes! I want big ass trees! I want seasonal change for trees!

And I'm betting someone is going to suggest (Probably a patch developer) that I code it.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:10 am
Posts: 2211
Location: Newcastle, Australia
hey Aegir, why don't you code it?

_________________
Formerly known as Lachie


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Aegir wrote:
And you would also always get the same collection of trees, Ramshill.

We need newtrees patch feature, I want bushes! I want big ass trees! I want seasonal change for trees!

And I'm betting someone is going to suggest (Probably a patch developer) that I code it.


I soo totally agree! A patch feature that not only gives us new trees, but also options along with it! :P Nice suggestion Aegir - also about the bush thing! :D

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:46 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17059
Location: Harringay, North London
Aegir wrote:
And you would also always get the same collection of trees, Ramshill.

We need newtrees patch feature, I want bushes! I want big ass trees! I want seasonal change for trees!

And I'm betting someone is going to suggest (Probably a patch developer) that I code it.


I suggest Aegir codes it.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 1:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
Aegir wrote:
I want seasonal change for trees!
so you've never payed attention to the way the trees change over summer and winter? :roll:

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 2:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11853
Location: MK UK
They die yes, but they do not loose their leaves in say October and get them back in February/March do they?

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5112
In TTD/TTDPatch, trees do have a life cycle but no seasonal cycle.

However, by a special action05, it´s possible to have them cycling through snowy/non-snowy states depending on a varying snowline, which itself could be made depending on the season.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Would this prevent trees for dying - which is what I'm mostly looking for as I don't like viewing my towns with all those empty spots everywhere. They look so "naked" without those trees, and I'm constantly planting trees whenever a town destroys a building. :evil:

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5112
>> In TTD/TTDPatch, trees do have a life cycle but no seasonal cycle. [...]

> Would this prevent trees for dying[?]

Mmh? Their life cycle? :lol:

> I don't like viewing my towns with all those empty spots everywhere.

Without having a look into the code, I´d say that after their last "state" they´re being removed and then (after a while) a new tree would be spawned on that empty spot.

Apparently, I don´t see the problem. In my games there are a lot of trees - even in cities. And taking into account that many TTD enthusiasts seem to hate trees, isn´t the current situation a good compromise then?

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Actually, I'd want my trees not to go through the life cycle - if a patch feature or something could prevent that from happening.

I have trees all over the place, but while they're automatically re-planted in none-civilized areas, they are never re-planted in my cities - which is why I find myself spending lots and lots of time re-planting them myself. The only places in town where trees are allowed to stay in position are those where no buildings can't be built at all due to tile sloped in the wrong direction. But I can't fill the entire town with unbuildable slopes everywhere. Besides, a town without trees look dead to me!

Even though most players prefer to have their trees not growing in cities, I'm sure I'm not the only one thinking differently. I want my games to look as realistic as possible, and trees do add to that in my honest opinion. And that's why I suggested a patch feature that could allow a user to chose to play with trees either following a life cycle - or not! Then I assume everyone would be happy!

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
m3henry wrote:
Aegir wrote:
I want seasonal change for trees!
so you've never payed attention to the way the trees change over summer and winter? :roll:


Ameecher wrote:
They die yes, but they do not loose their leaves in say October and get them back in February/March do they?


Exactly my point, m3henry, so don't get all rolly eyes at me.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
well for some reason my tree watched for a year usually does a cycle.

a bug in the patch mabey?

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Argh! That's not what I'm talking about, m3henry. Yes, trees have a cycle, but that isn't based on callender seasons, it's just growth, normal, and then decay. When I was speaking about seasonal changes, I was talking about being able to specify when trees go through the various stages of that cycle. Ofcourse they'll have a specific lifetime, and then they'll go through the decay stages, but during summer/spring they should look normal, autumn/winter, start to brown up a bit (Depending on if it's an evergreen or not), and if the snowline creeps up on it, get snowy sprites (Which already happens, so we won't worry about that part).

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:07 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 341
Location: England
Personally I hate tree's, the obscure the vision and are always in the way, though I love the idea's of bushes and scrub land, would make the game look more attractive.

As to tree's not being in towns, well unless they are in parks I don't often see wild tree's growing in towns, though I know it is more common to see them in the USA than England.

And as to the lifecycle/seasonal changes, again that would be very attractive eye candy.

I wonder if it would be possible to create parks in towns and cities? say a large park of 2x2 squares and a small of 1x1? that would give you some tree's and make the town look a little more attractive.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.