Tram and Trolleybus Discussion

Got an idea for a new feature in TTDPatch? Post it here.

Moderator: TTDPatch Moderators

Which vehicles you prefer?

Trams
104
78%
Trolleybuses
30
22%
 
Total votes: 134

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 07 Apr 2005 17:22

Pnaky wrote:Image
Wow!

IMO there should be another catenarypole at the T-junction. If you know what I mean.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Pnaky
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 260
Joined: 18 Nov 2004 21:31
Location: Czech Republic - Teplice - Jablonec n/N - Praha
Contact:

Post by Pnaky » 07 Apr 2005 17:39

Yes... I it catch on... I saying to Pedro about catenary in juction... I remake this thing to perfection...
The pole must be on beginning sprite and on the end... We are lead discusion about style of tram catenary...

User avatar
Pedro_Zawislak
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 21:01
Location: Prague, Czech republic
Contact:

Post by Pedro_Zawislak » 07 Apr 2005 19:02

Pnaky and me work on this "system" separately. I'll create rails and Pnaky work on the wires. This picture is very fastest previews how would it can look...
Sorry for my bad english... Translator & friends' help rullez :wink:
Image

Flamelord
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 731
Joined: 24 Mar 2005 22:29
Location: Oregon

Post by Flamelord » 07 Apr 2005 19:09

Pedro, I don't see the image. Did you forget to attach it?

User avatar
Pedro_Zawislak
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 21:01
Location: Prague, Czech republic
Contact:

Post by Pedro_Zawislak » 07 Apr 2005 19:18

Flamelord wrote:Pedro, I don't see the image. Did you forget to attach it?
Image is in the Purno reply on top in this page :)
Sorry for my bad english... Translator & friends' help rullez :wink:
Image

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 08 Apr 2005 17:44

Pedro_Zawislak wrote:Pnaky and me work on this "system" separately. I'll create rails and Pnaky work on the wires. This picture is very fastest previews how would it can look...
Well, where tracks are placed, catenary should be placed. They follow the same routes exactly... so how 'seperately' is this?
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Wile E. Coyote
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8514
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 22:14
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Post by Wile E. Coyote » 08 Apr 2005 18:07

One more thing: how can be done vehicles reversing? I think (maybe I'm wrong) there is two ways: one is tiles with one track, and second is tile like AI doing in circle (maybe second way is easier).
BTW, tracks and catenary are great! :D Looking forward to see them in game :wink:
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!

User avatar
Pedro_Zawislak
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 21:01
Location: Prague, Czech republic
Contact:

Post by Pedro_Zawislak » 08 Apr 2005 19:07

Tram turn :Marek's calculation (graphic designer of Tycoonez.com:munity)

In first possibility trams are "breaking". Only in second or third option all is OK
Attachments
tram-turn.png
tram-turn.png (10.62 KiB) Viewed 4719 times
Sorry for my bad english... Translator & friends' help rullez :wink:
Image

User avatar
Steve
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2085
Joined: 10 Jan 2004 20:19
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Steve » 08 Apr 2005 19:52

I think it'd have to be option 1. Otherwise, if you have a piece of track that you can't make a loop like that on, you can't use it, as the tram will get stuck.

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os » 08 Apr 2005 19:56

But it could make things easier with type 3 :)
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image

ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3608
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Post by ChrisCF » 08 Apr 2005 22:20

Phew. What a long thread. ;-)

It seems that nobody has considered what I thought might have been obvious - how to connect this up to other tracks? Remember that trams run on tracks, not roads. Just that sometimes those tracks happen to be built into roads. This is vaguely important, since a number of tram systems run on disused railway track which is still connected to the network. In fact, I believe that more than one stop on the Croydon system is actually on railway tracks at railway stations which can be used by actual trains.

Does this aspect even bear thinking about?

User avatar
Siema
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 176
Joined: 24 Oct 2004 23:36
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Post by Siema » 08 Apr 2005 23:23

eis_os wrote:But it could make things easier with type 3
And it is very realistic.
ChrisCF wrote:how to connect this up to other tracks?
I think there is no need to connect it to other tracks. Tram networks (especially old ones) are independent even if trams use normal gauge.
ChrisCF wrote:Remember that trams run on tracks, not roads.
Usually yes. Suggestion to build trams on roads is due to small amount of place in TTD cities. But we must remember that we are still subject to the Patch possibilities. And yes, it is somewhat strange that this discussion developed so much even if we know that trams and trolleys are not possible yet or not possible generally.

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os » 09 Apr 2005 08:07

The only possible way todo is to have them as new road vehicle type,
otherwise stuff like the collision detection would need to be rewritten.

But Tram tracks wouldn't be limited to roads...
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image

Flamelord
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 731
Joined: 24 Mar 2005 22:29
Location: Oregon

Post by Flamelord » 09 Apr 2005 17:37

Technically, the type 3 picture would be a pain to create, from what I've seen. If I'm imagining this correctly, the trams would be a type of road with rails built in. Therefore, that road chunk would be a T-junction going BOTH directions, making a complete circle at the end of the tracks, meaning that idiot trains COULD, in theory, circle there forever. But, if you create the junctions like that, only one option is available for trains to turn.

User avatar
Pnaky
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 260
Joined: 18 Nov 2004 21:31
Location: Czech Republic - Teplice - Jablonec n/N - Praha
Contact:

Post by Pnaky » 09 Apr 2005 17:55

I have one small question... How will been seem tram station??? On tho road and off road... Thanks... :o
It's very important for further work I think...

Marek is very talented!!!

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 09 Apr 2005 18:29

Personally I think, at this point further work should await coding of this feature in the patch. Graphics are nice, but without patch support they're entirely useless.

I won't have time to work on it, and I don't know if Oskar feels like it, but if you keep making graphics you run the risk of them being not in the way the feature would require them, when it is written. So I suggest you halt your work on this for now, until "someone" makes it actually work in the patch.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

User avatar
Pnaky
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 260
Joined: 18 Nov 2004 21:31
Location: Czech Republic - Teplice - Jablonec n/N - Praha
Contact:

Post by Pnaky » 09 Apr 2005 19:35

Oh no... It is not really!!! We are want work on graphics for your moral support...
I please you... You will work on this thing far...

Flamelord
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 731
Joined: 24 Mar 2005 22:29
Location: Oregon

Post by Flamelord » 09 Apr 2005 20:24

In theory, they could make all road look like tram tracks, then just run tram-looking vehicles on them! But then there'd be no non-tram road. That's if we don't wait for further coding.

User avatar
Wile E. Coyote
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8514
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 22:14
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Post by Wile E. Coyote » 14 Apr 2005 06:29

Pedro_Zawislak wrote:Tram turn :Marek's calculation (graphic designer of Tycoonez.com:munity)

In first possibility trams are "breaking". Only in second or third option all is OK
But you have two ways turn-around. I think it'd be better if it will be one way on turn-around.
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!

Hitperson
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 348
Joined: 09 May 2005 07:25

Post by Hitperson » 18 May 2005 11:06

good idea lads but would you be able to get them on concrete like at Blackpool and Blackpool trams would be nice

P.S Pedro I like you cool diagrams with the smilly faces on

Post Reply

Return to “Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests