Can't get Simutrns to start (Linux)

Discuss the free TT-like game Simutrans.
Post Reply
User avatar
eekee
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 94
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 19:45
Location: Cyberspace

Can't get Simutrns to start (Linux)

Post by eekee » 27 Sep 2010 14:42

How do you run the game? I'm running it from the source dir (as ./sim) with a -objects option indicating the pak64 folder (../paks/pak).

Output is:

Code: Select all

Screen Flags: requested=10, actual=10
Error: Cannot open 'font/prop.fnt'
Reading low level config data ...
Preparing display ...
Init done.
FATAL ERROR: simmain::main()
Unable to load any language files
*** PLEASE INSTALL PROPER BASE FILES ***

Aborting program execution ...

Please report all fatal errors to
team@64.simutrans.com
FATAL ERROR: simmain::main()
Unable to load any language files
*** PLEASE INSTALL PROPER BASE FILES ***

Reading compatibility sound data ...
run_sim: exit 1
13259: signal: sys: abort
Note this is built from source. I'm using 64-bit linux, I have multilib but not enough 32-bit libs for the binary simutrans to run.
Extreme network builder. screenshot thread

User avatar
prissi
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 645
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 19:46
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Can't get Simutrns to start (Linux)

Post by prissi » 28 Sep 2010 02:18

The source does not come with translation. Moreover, the paks/pak folder must be in the simutrans executable directory, where also the text, conf, font, folders are located. If you start simutrans from a different folder, your must first cd into this folder and start with option "-use_dir"

You need the following layout:
conf/
paks/pak/(if you want to do it this way)
fonts/
text/ (with entires from translator or from stable binary download)
sim (the executable)

You could also run "sh distribute.sh" after building simutrans. This will also downloa the translationsand copy the executable into the right folder.
I like to look at great maps and see how things flow. A little like a finished model railway, but it is evolving and actually never finished. http://www.simutrans.com

User avatar
eekee
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 94
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 19:45
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Can't get Simutrns to start (Linux)

Post by eekee » 30 Sep 2010 21:19

Thanks, that's helped a bit, but this is a mess. With pak64 in paks/pak and sim started with ./sim -objects paks/pak startup fails with "Can't read cityrules.tab". -use_dir seems to do nothing, at least for this problem. Symlinking paks/pak into the dir containing sim seems to be the only way. I also had to copy skin/ from the binary download, and now it starts. :tongue: There is no distribute.sh, by the way.
Extreme network builder. screenshot thread

Dwachs
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 46
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 07:28

Re: Can't get Simutrns to start (Linux)

Post by Dwachs » 01 Oct 2010 06:52

It may sound stupid, but have you tried

Code: Select all

./sim -objects paks/pak/
ie with trailing '/' ?

User avatar
eekee
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 94
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 19:45
Location: Cyberspace

Re: Can't get Simutrns to start (Linux)

Post by eekee » 02 Oct 2010 00:12

Dwachs wrote:It may sound stupid, but have you tried

Code: Select all

./sim -objects paks/pak/
ie with trailing '/' ?
Now I have, and it works. :D
Extreme network builder. screenshot thread

Post Reply

Return to “Simutrans”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest