using pak files

Discuss the free TT-like game Simutrans.
jgf
Engineer
Engineer

using pak files

Post by jgf »

How do I use alterante pak files? I'm running the simu_full install with 128 graphics and have numerous pakfiles downloaded but none contain any instructions.

In the case of single, or a few, new buildings, do I just drop these files into the existing directory? or create a new directory for them? Some d/l's contain complete new industries, will these integrate automatically into my current install. Will save games be invalidated or will just something new appear?

(Obviously I'm new to Simutrains, been playing TTDx and OTTD for ten years though.)
Raven
Director
Director

Post by Raven »

a pak file is a full object by itself, it contains one or more vehicles, buildings, industries, signals...

You should take a look at pak128/ folder into simutrans folder. There you'll see a lot of pak files. When starting the program, Simutrans will look into this folder and will load every loadable pak that is in there (also the sounds and translations).

So, if you want to include some addons into standard pak128, extract the .pak files into this folder. Next time simutrans runs, it'll load these paks and they'll be into your game.

Your savegames won't be broken if you just add new paks. Deleting objects and making savegames run is a bit (not much more) tricky.

Hope it helped

Regards

Raven
6th Member of the Reciox - The Inner Circle

pak96 Simutrans Depot
http://www.raven.simutrans.com
jgf
Engineer
Engineer

Post by jgf »

Thanks. In the case of a new train set, I assume only one can be in the directory at a time (such as a US train set or a European train set)?

Are there situations where I would need a separate directory for new pak files? would this be selectable from within the game or be a case of back-up and rename directories before launching?