Simutrans goes TTD

Discuss the free TT-like game Simutrans.
User avatar
prissi
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 647
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 19:46
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Simutrans goes TTD

Post by prissi »

Since some people complained about simutrans graphics, too high hill and not crossconnected factories, I am compiling a version which should get rid of these problems. Since this is almost exclusively using the original grphics from TTD, I can make all source files for modder available.

I am just ironing out a few bug and try to get vehicle statistics for all vehicles in questions. Perhaps, does somebody have a sheet with these data?
Attachments
Not a mockup! Light rail does not exclude cars in Simutrans. Also KI works.
Not a mockup! Light rail does not exclude cars in Simutrans. Also KI works.
scr.png (304.74 KiB) Viewed 24753 times

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir »

HOLY s*** IN A HANDBASKET!

That is so damn cool!

/me hugs prissi
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3906
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Wow! Looks awesome man!

If you want to use any of my graphics, feel free to, the Arctic Renewal Set would look great in Simutrans ;)

User avatar
thepizzaking
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 198
Joined: 08 Aug 2005 07:47
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contact:

That is so cool

Post by thepizzaking »

I didn't play simutrans much because it was really weird looking, maybe this would make me play it more
I'm A Cobra (or so the rumours go) :)
Get OpenTTD, It's awesome!!

User avatar
WWTBAM
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3682
Joined: 02 Apr 2005 07:01
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
Contact:

Post by WWTBAM »

looks good and ill play it more since im used to ttd interface and graphics and i didnt download it i found it on a software cd
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20663
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff »

Nice touch :)
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 14278
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII »

WTF :shock:
awesome :!:
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno »

Very nice. I also hope you'll use the TTD interface, because when you're used to TTD the Simutrans interface is a bit hard to understand IMO.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os »

And even busstops are in :] I guess I will try SimuTT ...
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem »

Though a step in the right direction with scale, your just going around, and taking someones pixel art to fix a problem many have complained about, instead of presenting original work to fix the problem..

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24851
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge »

Looks very nice indeed. :)

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

Wow. Just wow.

*faints

For Vehicle Statistics, look at http://www.transporttycoon.net/vehicles or http://www.bornacorn.com/ttdveh.shtml

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir »

Perhaps a rename to Simutrans Tycoon Deluxe? Oh wait no, that shortens down to STD...

:lol:
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

Horse
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 325
Joined: 10 Sep 2004 20:25

Post by Horse »

WOW that will be great.

The Graphics of TTD with the features of Simutrans.
That will be a super game.

Is there a place on the web given more info about that.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan »

And by that I assume you mean "someplace other than the SimuTTD thread"?
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
prissi
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 647
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 19:46
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by prissi »

Well, the graphics are there. But currently simutrans has now a full timeline for streets, car, bridges and buildings, which requires some overwork. Also I want to make a pak without using any copyrighted original graphics, just using things I have permit to use.

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem »

Well, i don't think it would be to hard to whip up some landscape tiles with not so much shading ala Free Train style?

User avatar
prissi
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 647
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 19:46
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by prissi »

Well, I have of course the original 8 Bit Simutrans tiles ... I can promise though a new binary and some adapted graphics.

In principle, there is the new japan grass, japan trees, total town replacement set and new stations, and also even (to a lesser extend) new cars. It will just require some more work.

However, since I have to do a lot of teaching [semster started], such a new graphics is on the backburner in the moment.

User avatar
Petaja
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 181
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 16:40
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by Petaja »

Is there any place to get information how to work with this?

I mean, where to unrar simuTTD.exe? I put it to the same place as simutrans.exe. Is that right place? When I double click the icon, program starts like original, but then nothing happens, it won't start.
Where did I go wrong??

User avatar
prissi
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 647
Joined: 15 Nov 2004 19:46
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by prissi »

Put both (graphics and program) in a new directory and start simuttd.exe

Post Reply

Return to “Simutrans”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests