TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Discuss a Transport Tycoon-like game being programmed by forum users.

Moderator: Transport Empire Moderators

User avatar
An00biS
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 27 Aug 2007 18:46
Location: mapy.cz/?query=rajhrad
Contact:

My testing

Post by An00biS » 13 Sep 2007 21:40

Hi.

1)
HP NX6310 notebook, Core2Duo 1.8Ghz, 1GB memory, Intel mobile 945GM express chipset integrated graphics, WinXP SP2 32-bit
Right after started(not much map visible) : 150FPS
After making the map visible and looking at the middle : 15FPS
While moving around the middle slowly: 15FPS
When looking at a map corner:
top corner 36fps
bottom corner 48fps
right corner 96fps
left corner 70fps
Minimum fps i got (moving the view as fast as possible): 5fps
Cpu load: one core 100%, the other about 10% (all the time) (even if i used -threads 2 parameter)

2)
Pentium4 1.6GHz, 1GB memory, nVidia 6600 LE, WinXP SP2 32-bit
after start: 285fps
whole map visible, looking at middle : 20fps
corners:
top 46fps
bottom 62fps
left 106fps
right 92fps
minimum: 5fps
cpu load: 100% all the time

-------
The window size was the default one in both tests.
On both computers, it was impossible to make whole map visible. Check the image to see the effect i was getting.
Attachments
Its impossible to see the whole map!
Its impossible to see the whole map!
gaps.png (40.35 KiB) Viewed 9665 times
[Update Aug 2013] FlexRails track buiding demo coming soon!

User avatar
uzurpator
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
Posts: 2134
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 12:21
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by uzurpator » 06 Nov 2007 19:45

New alpha for your testing pleasure.

Tell me - how is the button working and if there is a visible performance increase from previous version. And crashes ofcourse.

BTW - under M you will generate new terrain - which now will be non-square :D
Attachments
te-alpha-changes.rar
Download this and overwrite previous alpha if you have one or uncompress to the seme folder as statics
(1.25 MiB) Downloaded 240 times
te-alpha-statics.rar
If you have previous versions of the alpha, this file is not needed. Otherwise download and uncompress to the same folder as changes
(3.64 MiB) Downloaded 232 times
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.

User avatar
saint
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Dec 2005 23:01
Location: Australia

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by saint » 07 Nov 2007 10:09

Default window size and view, frame rate > 700 (according to terminal window). Near centre on full zoom gives a frame rate ~400. Showing the centre but fully zoomed out, frame rate ~130. Nearly maximised window (on a 1280x1024 screen) gives a frame rate ~100. I can't compare previous version performance since I never tested them. Button works fine (it "clicks" and animates although doesn't appear to do anything else).

Bugs:
See attachment - incorrect clipping of terrain when fully zoomed out.

System:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+
768MB RAM
GeForce 6800GS (128MB AGPx8 variety)

Anything I missed?
Attachments
TE.jpg
Yes, I know it's JPG but the choice was 33KB or 330KB
(32.22 KiB) Downloaded 241 times
This is my sig

User avatar
Arathorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6939
Joined: 30 Nov 2002 17:10

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by Arathorn » 09 Nov 2007 09:05

It appears to be painfully slow on my system, but the console says framerate is about 39. Also, could you increase mouse sensitivity? I have to lift the mouse a few times from my mousepad to get to the other side of the screen.

System:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (32 bit Windows XP)
1,5 GB RAM
ATI Radeon 9250 (yeah, that one sucks).

rabbit67890
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 72
Joined: 23 Sep 2007 09:57

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by rabbit67890 » 09 Nov 2007 22:24

[quote="Arathorn"]I have to lift the mouse a few times from my mousepad to get to the other side of the screen./quote]

i have to do that also

User avatar
An00biS
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 27 Aug 2007 18:46
Location: mapy.cz/?query=rajhrad
Contact:

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by An00biS » 12 Nov 2007 23:01

Works great. :]

Pentium4 1.6GHz, 1GB memory, nVidia 6600 LE, WinXP SP2 32-bit
avg 60 fps with the minimum zoom and a generated rectangular map, 70fps with original square map.

When I generate new map and scroll over an unseen area, the program pauses for a second. But if I go there again, it runs smoothly. I also encounter the terrain clipping problem saint talked about, but it's nothing compared to the gappy map in previous versions :]

BTW: I didn't find out how to use the landscaping button. Does it even do anything?
[Update Aug 2013] FlexRails track buiding demo coming soon!

User avatar
uzurpator
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
Posts: 2134
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 12:21
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by uzurpator » 14 Nov 2007 15:05

Arathorn, Rabbit:

Try to adjust your windows mouse sensitivity. I'll try to add some adjustability tho.

An00biS:

The pause you are experiencing is a build of that piece of map. Normal behaviour, albeit slow. I'll will redo that element later, now however the performance is imvho good.

There are no clipping issues. To save on tris not all patches are displayed. At the zoomlevel that is visible you'll be seing strategic map anyway :)

The button does not do anything, it's just a presentation how it can look/work
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.

User avatar
uzurpator
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
Posts: 2134
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 12:21
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by uzurpator » 29 Nov 2007 17:42

Alpha 57 (57 is svn commit) is avaliable here:

http://tempire.phoenixscripts.co.uk/loa ... -win32.rar (4.2 MB)

This version is mostly meant to present weather changes during the year, that is why the accelerated time is here.

Also with 'G' key you can change the grid translucency.

NOTE - the performance is poor due to rather not-optimal code. This will get fixed later.
Attachments
spring.jpg
(470.13 KiB) Downloaded 307 times
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.

RandomAlien
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 47
Joined: 22 Dec 2007 20:04

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by RandomAlien » 09 Jan 2008 00:32

uzurpator wrote:Alpha 57 (57 is svn commit) is avaliable here:

http://tempire.phoenixscripts.co.uk/loa ... -win32.rar (4.2 MB)

This version is mostly meant to present weather changes during the year, that is why the accelerated time is here.

Also with 'G' key you can change the grid translucency.

NOTE - the performance is poor due to rather not-optimal code. This will get fixed later.
Runs perfectly on my comp...

User avatar
Ne0Que
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 43
Joined: 07 Jan 2008 22:25
Location: Borger, the Netherlands

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by Ne0Que » 09 Jan 2008 06:27

Hi, great job..

Is there a way to run the engine in a full screen (or make the window bigger?)

Im trying to design a (possible!!) toolbar.

I only say possible!, just want to experiment my design skills on it, i'll take it a shot!
Stop those stupid shooting games, make peaceful games!

User avatar
Ne0Que
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 43
Joined: 07 Jan 2008 22:25
Location: Borger, the Netherlands

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by Ne0Que » 09 Jan 2008 21:11

Okay i figured out that when you press <+> (or equal) and <minus> (next to backspace!) the zoom goes very smoothly!! great job!
Stop those stupid shooting games, make peaceful games!

User avatar
uzurpator
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
Posts: 2134
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 12:21
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by uzurpator » 15 Mar 2008 21:48

Alpha 113 is avaliable here:

http://www.transportempire.com/loads/te ... -win32.zip (5.5 MB)

This version is a pre-release of vertex buffer based terrain rendering. On relatively new hardware it should be blazing fast :) Note, that the mouse cursor is not visible.

Keys:
M - make new map
G - show grid
LMB + drag - move terrain around
LMB + RMB + drag left/right - rotate map
Mousewheel - zoom in/out
ESC - exit
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Post by eis_os » 16 Mar 2008 09:09

Hmm, around ~1500 frames with different view angles zoom levels, when started it has 2300frames.
(VGA Card 8500GT)

Some notes: The vertex buffer won't be refreshed properly when a new map is generated, I have to move the map around to see the new result.

Is the whole landscape one big vertex buffer?
As soon as a human or computer ai player starts to change the landscape the frame rate my drop drastically...

Can you compile a version with a huge map buffer? Say 2048x2048 squares?

User avatar
saint
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Dec 2005 23:01
Location: Australia

Re: TE - Alpha testing (test TE, be HEEEEEWO!)

Post by saint » 16 Mar 2008 09:58

uzurpator wrote:On relatively new hardware it should be blazing fast :)
So it is. 2000+ framerate (fps?) at various zooms 8) (8800GT).
When toggling the grid, the speed drops off depending on zoom to perhaps a quarter though.
This is my sig

User avatar
uzurpator
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
Posts: 2134
Joined: 10 Jan 2003 12:21
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland

Re: TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Post by uzurpator » 17 Mar 2008 14:41

eis_os wrote:Some notes: The vertex buffer won't be refreshed properly when a new map is generated, I have to move the map around to see the new result.
Actually, they are, but in real game it will not be visible. they intent here is to save on bandwidth and send only some chunks of data to the client. Obviously the buffer is updated when data arrives in.
Is the whole landscape one big vertex buffer?
It is subdivided into 33x33 vertex chunks (but the size itsself is configurable).
Can you compile a version with a huge map buffer? Say 2048x2048 squares?
Well, I'll cook something in the evening.
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.

User avatar
charlieg
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 323
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 14:07
Contact:

Re: TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Post by charlieg » 17 Mar 2008 18:51

I can't run ./configure successfully. Are you sure this check is correct?

Code: Select all

checking for main in -lboost_thread... no
configure: error: Boost_thread not found, install Boost_thread first.
I have every boost devel package on fedora installed (there's only two of them, boost-devel and boost-static-devel).
Open source tycoon games
--
Free Gamer - open source and Free Software games
FreeGameDev forums - open source game development community

User avatar
NukeBuster
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 222
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 18:16
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Post by NukeBuster » 17 Mar 2008 19:20

charlieg wrote:I can't run ./configure successfully. Are you sure this check is correct?

Code: Select all

checking for main in -lboost_thread... no
configure: error: Boost_thread not found, install Boost_thread first.
I have every boost devel package on fedora installed (there's only two of them, boost-devel and boost-static-devel).

You should have posted this in the other thread. But I will look into it and give you an answer in that topic.
NukeBuster

Transport Empire: The Transport Empire Linux effort
Join the Transport Empire IRC channel: [url]irc://irc.oftc.net/transportempire[/url] !

OpenTTD patch(es): Password at join

User avatar
Ne0Que
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 43
Joined: 07 Jan 2008 22:25
Location: Borger, the Netherlands

Re: TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Post by Ne0Que » 19 Mar 2008 09:31

Great to see some performance!!
Stop those stupid shooting games, make peaceful games!

User avatar
ostlandr
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 882
Joined: 12 May 2007 01:09
Location: Northeastern USA

Re: TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Post by ostlandr » 07 Apr 2008 04:07

Kind of jumping into this here. . .

Downloaded Alpha 4. On my machine (Compaq Presario SR5130NX, AMD Athlon dual-core 3800+, Nvidia GeForce 6150SE, 1MB system ram, Vista Home Premium: Frame rate was 219 fps + -
Downloaded the changes, and frame rate dropped to 19 FPS + - . The M button did generate new maps. When I opened Task Manager to check the CPU usage, frame rate dropped to 6 FPS (was fighting with task manager for resources) and cpu usage was 84% or so.

FYI couldn't get the mouse out of the window to try to maximize the window.
Who is John Galt?

User avatar
Ne0Que
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 43
Joined: 07 Jan 2008 22:25
Location: Borger, the Netherlands

Re: TE - Alpha testing r113 posted

Post by Ne0Que » 07 Apr 2008 06:17

no wonder with 1 mb ram :P
Stop those stupid shooting games, make peaceful games!

Post Reply

Return to “General Transport Empire Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest