Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:46 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 28
Hey guys,

Been tinkering away on my little toy...
viewtopic.php?t=54638

Here is version 0.2, not too much to see yet, but the main engine behind the scenes is really tight, efficient and designed with the future in mind

- Now renders in DirectX instead of GDI
- Killed All bugs so everything is 100% stable (ie. Moving a window past the screen edge crashed, mouse pointer didnt clip on edge of screen)
- Improved Window/Mouse functionality and how it integrates with Windows
- Behind the scenes stuff mainly, just to get it really optimized for speed

Next part Im working on will be the real guts, the Mapping system, Tile Heights, Vertical faces, sprites, big maps. I got it all blueprinted, and hope to have a prototype ready by September.

Download 0.2 by the link below...
http://anotherprophecy.com/system/scrip ... %200.2.zip


Image
Appreciate Feedback - Motivates me to work so I can show off new features :P

_________________
Imagehttp://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=55628


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 1:58 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
Fantastic work :bow:

Downloading now!

With your plans for the map array, seen as you mentioned "Big Maps" are you going to permit very large maps of 1000's by 1000's of tiles al la OTTD? Or just double or triple size? I always found the RCT engine very limiting in map sizes (as with all the CS games)

EDIT: You may want to fix the link; it only downloads "IsoMatrix", with no suffix, i had to manually rename it to a zip file

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6345
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Question, why? Don't fix something that ain't broke, and RCT was one of the least broken games of its years.

Apart from RCT:3. Don't get me started on that one.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Location, Location
Jolteon wrote:
Question, why? Don't fix something that ain't broke, and RCT was one of the least broken games of its years.


Why not? The same reason TTDPatch and OTTD got made, i guess - add more features, fix any bugs and just to explore your coding skills :)

Will take a look at this, it looks interesting :)

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:24 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Jolteon wrote:
Question, why? Don't fix something that ain't broke, and RCT was one of the least broken games of its years.


So was TT. He isn't fixing anything, and he doesn't say anything is broken. And *because* RCT is a damn epic game (apart from RCT3, which was epic fail), I'm really looking forward to a project which expands the fun I had in RCT, similar to how OpenTTD expands the fun from TT, even though it wasn't broken.



So, good job. Even though a chuck of tiles is rather boring to look at, I know code-wise it isn't that simple :P Keep it up and keep us informed :)

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5619
Location: Atlantic Ocean
This is impressive. Do go on.

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 3:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Jolteon wrote:
Question, why? Don't fix something that ain't broke, and RCT was one of the least broken games of its years.

It may not be broken, but there are certainly points that can be improved.

Very impressive btw, I have just one small comment though: is it at all possible for you to also make it run under Linux and possibly Mac? I would certainly love to be able to play RCT on Linux once I get around to reinstalling that again :P

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:41 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4667
Location: home
I'd love a Linux version too, but the other topic says: "It renders solely using Windows GDI, no SDL, no DirectX, no OpenGL". ( viewtopic.php?p=947264#p947264 )
So I guess we have to wait until MS ports his GDI to Linux :p

It's a pity you're not using C or C++, the BASIC may be portable, the inline ASM is going to be a nightmare.

Any chance of releasing source code?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5619
Location: Atlantic Ocean
XeryusTC wrote:
and possibly Mac?


This. I only own Macs.

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:07 pm
Posts: 7822
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
Locomotion is using the same (or a modified version) of this engine. Maybe an idea? :)

_________________
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of:
LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:44 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 28
Thanks for the feedback. :) Appreciate it.

At this moment, Im making good progress on the mapping system, but juggling personal life requirements around it, so I dont get much time in the day to implement, but rather sit at work pondering how to solve the next issue in the engine, lol.

This isn't going to be a remake of Rollercoaster Tycoon, I dont want to be sued, and the RCT name still makes $$$ so someone will be pissed if I did. What this project is aiming to do is implement a engine design that mimics RCT 1/2 and Locomotion, during the trial I will use RCT graphics to do testing/demos, but making a RCT clone is too risky legally. One day RCT may fissle out enough that Atari dont give a crap about the franchise anymore but with talk of RCT 4 I dont think thats likely. RCT 2 isnt broke either in my opinion as discussed by some, but I would like some added features into the game, how about a terrain tool to make mountains (was in RCT 1 but taken out of RCT 2), bigger maps and allowing more peeps, day/night time and lighting effects in the world, there just a few things I can think of.

Once I have a solid game engine, I may start to consider game ideas, something in the midst of Cities in Motion/Transport Giant / Industry Giant 2 / Transport Tycoon, or maybe something unique, like a Mall Tycoon in isometric view. Don't know for sure, but that's not where I'm focused on at the moment.

The engine is coded in Visual Basic, and at this stage Im keeping it closed source, because its my personal hobby. Thus, Mac and Linux wont be supported any time soon, but I want to port it to C++ one day, but because my strength is in VB, and because it allows me to quickly develop, I think its a good platform to build a solid prototype. At this stage, performance isnt a bottleneck.

_________________
Imagehttp://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=55628


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6345
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
timfrombriz wrote:
during the trial I will use RCT graphics to do testing/demos,

You do realise Atari will own the rights to RCT, and all materials within, right? Meaning those textures/graphics are more than likely copyrighted. You should probably try throwing together some quick textures, for the sake of real immunity from Atari/Sawyer.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:07 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
Jolteon wrote:
timfrombriz wrote:
during the trial I will use RCT graphics to do testing/demos,

You should probably try throwing together some quick textures, for the sake of real immunity from Atari/Sawyer.

Or search around the RCT sites out there and use graphics that have been released openly to the public domain. Fortunately, with RCT been such a popular game, there's pretty much a sprite replacement for all elements out there if you search around :mrgreen:

Only issue would be continuity of quality and style using public domain sprites. So maybe making your own or finding a permanent artist to assist you would be better (Afterall, CS did this with TTO/TTD) as then you get the continuity and hopefully, close working relationship, that will bring your engine forward

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2617
Location: Kent
You could also do what Openttd did in its early years (I think) which is require you to import the graphics from the original purchased game files.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:21 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:51 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Long Eaton, Nottinghamshire. UK
That is true; at least that way if any legal issues arise it falls on the user to explain why they don't own a purchased copy of RCT as you haven't distributed anything that's copyrighted

_________________
High-Functioning Autistic & Proud... National Autistic Society * Asperger Foundation
My (O)TTD Work...BIGGER DEPOTS (REL.) & SERVICING-STATIONS (WIP) * Advanced DEPOT DESIGNS * SCREENSHOTS
Image
I now work for DE PHOTO - CLICK TO BOOK US TO SHOOT YOUR EVENT! We Shoot Kids with Canons!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 1:51 am
Posts: 5481
Location: East Coast MainLine
timfrombriz wrote:

Once I have a solid game engine, I may start to consider game ideas, something in the midst of Cities in Motion/Transport Giant / Industry Giant 2 / Transport Tycoon, or maybe something unique, like a Mall Tycoon in isometric view. Don't know for sure, but that's not where I'm focused on at the moment.


I would genuinely love to see a good quality property development game in isometric view. Or some sort of retail tycoon game, where you manage a chain of hypermarkets or similar.

_________________
Soccer Mad Boffins
Watch my YouTube Channel


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:43 am
Posts: 1808
Location: Spain
Looks nice.

The processor usage is over 50% on my Pentium 4.
Locomotion had the same problem, It takes a lot of processing cycles on my CPU.

_________________
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 11:21 am
Posts: 2406
Location: +31299......
maquinista wrote:
Pentium 4.

_________________
Image

"Your arguments are totally nothing.. They have so little meaning that its kind of funny you took the time to write them"
"your pixels aren't good enough to talk to me.. sorry"
"Random does not mean fair, and past results do not influence future occurrences." - Corbenn


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:11 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 9:30 am
Posts: 350
It should be a great encouragement for me to continue developing add-on objects for lomo as I see the hope for an open-source clone of lomo. Keep going on, and I should give donation if it comes true :wink:

_________________
Visit Nanyue Express for my railway car drawings


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:43 am
Posts: 1808
Location: Spain
Daan Timmer wrote:
maquinista wrote:
Pentium 4.

I am not an expert about PC hardware. I know that It runs at 3Ghz and It has 1 Gb of RAM. The OS is Windows XP.

_________________
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.