I've been playing with LEGO again...

This is the place to talk about anything not related to Transport Tycoon itself.
User avatar
AndersI
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1732
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 20:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by AndersI »

Yeah, I think it's pretty obvious :cry: LEGO are getting good at this - if you don't have exactly the right pieces, it's more or less impossible to follow the style of a set. Could also be I'm a lousy builder, of course :)

User avatar
Drury
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2154
Joined: 09 Dec 2008 16:20
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Drury »

I have some photos of some sort of big american steam locomotive, and fairlie locomotive, both made of some sort of Duplo blocks (not mine, but it took me less than one hour). And they both look very good, since there were some special locomotive blocks :D

But unfortunately, those photos are stored on my MicroSD, and I don't have MicroSD slot on my computer :x
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by George »

Inspired by this http://creator.lego.com/de-de/Products/ ... /6753.aspx
Image
I did my smaller version, that is a bit longer :D
Image
Last edited by George on 08 Mar 2011 08:40, edited 1 time in total.
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
AndersI
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1732
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 20:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by AndersI »

That's a nice one! Only the wheels on the trailer looks a bit out of place (too small, grey).

User avatar
Wile E. Coyote
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8514
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 22:14
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Wile E. Coyote »

Here is a small part of my son's collection:
Attachments
12122010148.jpg
12122010148.jpg (103.13 KiB) Viewed 5062 times
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!

User avatar
Chris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 05 Oct 2009 16:36
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Chris »

Wile E. Coyote wrote:Here is a small part of my son's collection:
Your son's, or your own? :wink:
Screenshots

Formerly Class 165

User avatar
Wile E. Coyote
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8514
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 22:14
Skype: wile.e.coyote2
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Wile E. Coyote »

My son's. Unfortunately, my LEGO bricks disappeared during numerous movings... :(

But of course, we are playing together. :)
Serbian rail set with Serbian scenario (ECS, PBI, FIRS and Tourist set compatible) Website | Topic and download | Latest version: 03.06.2015.
Serbian tram set Tracking table | TTD Patch tram set Latest version: 17.06.2015. | Open TTD Remix Latest version: 11.07.2015.
WIN-DOS GRF Converter Topic and download | Version 0.2.1: 09.01.2005.


Runner-up in "Best avatar Forums award" for years 2006 and 2010!

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by George »

And for this
Image
I also have the answer :mrgreen:
Image
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
AndersI
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1732
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 20:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by AndersI »

Minor update on the pinball machine. I now have a spinner that actually starts spinning when hit by the ball. The beginnings of a mechanism for releasing the balls when a coin is entered is also in place, although the computer problem is still not solved - I'm already using all three inputs and outputs on the RCX programmable brick and need more for the coin operation :-(
Attachments
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg (99.65 KiB) Viewed 4953 times

User avatar
Lordmwa
President
President
Posts: 896
Joined: 20 May 2006 19:30
Location: West Sussex, England

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Lordmwa »

I think the only way round that is to get another one :P

I seem to remeber the software supports multiple units does it not?
The TT forums trivia tournament! Come along and join in the fun
http://www.funtrivia.com/private/main.cfm?tid=90722

User avatar
Drury
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2154
Joined: 09 Dec 2008 16:20
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Drury »

Yes, it does, and RCX's can even communicate with each other.
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury

User avatar
rdrdrdrd
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1423
Joined: 09 Mar 2008 15:38
Location: Virginia

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by rdrdrdrd »

check out the mindstorms book, A LOT of multi sensor options if you use NQC, like 1 touch sensor and 1 light sensor combined can produce some interesting combos :)
May the force be with you.
For little boys, three things reign as supreme attention-keepers: tanks, heavy construction equipment, and trains, we all know why where here.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Image

User avatar
Elcamo
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 264
Joined: 21 Feb 2011 04:45
Location: Massachusetts

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Elcamo »

wicked cool, in my school we can take a robotics class were we build all kinds of lego robots, like cars, tanks, ect. I wish that the mindstorms stuff wasn't so expensive, if it was cheaper I would snatch it up in a heartbeat, it's a blast programming and building working machines.

User avatar
AndersI
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1732
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 20:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by AndersI »

rdrdrdrd wrote: 1 touch sensor and 1 light sensor combined can produce some interesting combos :)
Yes, this part will work, I think. The problem is I need to drive a motor, and I don't want to remove the light bricks. The current plan is using a diode to share one output both for a light brick and a motor (the light will light up whichever direction the current is flowing, while the motor will only run in one direction). Unfortunately, this can't be done in a 'pure' LEGO way...

User avatar
SquireJames
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1869
Joined: 07 Aug 2004 11:56
Skype: squirejames5
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by SquireJames »

I just read that two new sets, "Heroica" and "Alien Conquest" are basically old school D&D (Simplified obviously) and X-Com. Frigging awesome! :)

I would have killed for X-Com Lego as a kid. I already used to use Aquazone sets to make Terror from the Deep vehicles :)
Image

User avatar
Drury
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2154
Joined: 09 Dec 2008 16:20
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Drury »



There is also sequel, The Destroyer 3, but I find this video more "entertaining" :D
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury

User avatar
John
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3402
Joined: 05 May 2003 18:44
Location: Cotswolds, UK
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by John »

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-13029830


AndersI, I think you need to up your game a bit :P

User avatar
AndersI
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1732
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 20:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by AndersI »

Yeah, well...

The 'highest LEGO tower in the world' is a LEGO sponsored thing, walking around the globe, each new place gets the new record (unless something unexpected happens).

It's not very interesting (to me), there's no creativity in it, just building according to plans.

User avatar
Drury
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2154
Joined: 09 Dec 2008 16:20
Skype: yes
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: I've been playing with LEGO again...

Post by Drury »

That thing has to be quite heavy... How come base blocks don't break?
Image

Only dumb people quote themselves, and only the truest retards put such quotes in their forum signatures
-Drury


Post Reply

Return to “Off-Topic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests